We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - nice town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed here for a week on a business trip. My room was good, a decent size with a comfortable bed, and all very clean, the staff were friendly, the food was good, maybe a bit expensive.. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purton_Stoke_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay including your guest room, our staff service and the food from the Bridgewater Grill restaurant. We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 624 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed in one of the two-room Creekside suites at the Golden Hotel for 4 nights, and were very pleased with our room, the hotel's restaurant, and the very friendly, professional service offered by the hotel's staff and management. The suite was newly and attractively redecorated (from what I understand, the entire hotel has been renovated and/or redecorated), very spacious and comfortable; the "living" room included a gas fireplace, a large TV, a leather couch and two comfortable chairs, a large desk and chair, and a long granite counter with a sink, small refrigerator, coffee service, and microwave. The bedroom and bathroom were large. The bed and bedding were very comfortable, and we slept well. The suite was spotlessly clean, and the windows offered pretty views. There is some street noise, as the hotel is just 4 stories tall, but nothing that we noticed (with the exception of a police or fire siren) after the first night.

The hotel's location can't be beat, if you have business or plans in Golden or at the Colorado School of Mines. Historic Golden is just outside the door, as is a 1.6 mile paved walkway along Clear Creek; the CSM is a short, pretty walk away.

The hotel's staff and management, and the Bridgewater Grill's staff, were very friendly and attentive. We had breakfast in the grill each day, and the food was hot, tasty, and just as ordered each time.

We have plans to return to Golden, and will look forward to returning to the Golden Hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmallWorldAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel, we are thrilled with your wonderful remarks and your 5 star rating! It is great to hear that you enjoyed our renovation, location, staff, service and restaurant. I will be sure to share your comments with the all of our team members. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I did not stay at the Golden Hotel, but had the privilege to enjoy a dinner there on Saturday, November 9th. Our waitress was personable, friendly, but not overly intrusive - she provided excellent service. The meal was also great, and I just loved the ambiance of the restaurant and the beautiful decor of the hotel lobby. I wish I could come back to visit in the summer and eat outside; it appeared as if they had outdoor seating for the warmer months. A wedding was in progress in another part of the hotel, and it was a beautiful location for a reception. If I am ever in Golden again, I will definitely be coming back to the Golden Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank SvenskaSvea1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed in a corner room (#210) overlooking the main street downtown during our honeymoon and had a really nice stay! The accommodations weren't overly fancy, but our room was extremely clean with nice linens and a super comfortable bed, everything you could want from a hotel room. The hotel is within walking distance to everything downtown and to Coors for a brewery tour and there is ample free parking. The staff was all extremely friendly and eager to give recommendations. Overall, a fantastic stay in Golden!

Room Tip: If you aren't a sound sleeper, I would ask for an interior room, since there was quite a bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLikeaLocalVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a cute city and the hotel is right downtown within easy walking distance of almost anything you want to do. This is an old building that has been renovated. The lobby is beautiful and quaint. Our room was on the third floor and was very large. We overlooked the parking lot so I can't say our room had a nice view. It was clean and there was plenty of room for the 3 of us even with the sofa bed open.. Our only complaint was that the room was very hot and we were never comfortable that night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Golden Hotel, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, as we strive to exceed guest expectations. I would like to apologize that there was an opportunity in regards to the temperature of your guest room. Our front desk is staffed 24 hours a day so that someone is always available for assistance when needed. Thank you as well for commenting on our building; although we were built in 2000 we are proud that our building fits so well in this historic mountain town. We appreciate that you took the time to comment on your recent stay and we hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Golden, Colorado!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Wonderful accommodations. The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. We had a great view of the patio and the river out back. Unfortunately we were there during the flooring and the weather was a bit rough. The location is great, within walking distance to food and shops. We would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRNA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

From the glow of the fireplace to the chocolate chip cookies, this hotel has all the charm that you'd expect in a town like Golden. Walking distance to restaurants and shops with a beautiful view from the patio. The hotel was also set up well for meetings.

Room Tip: Try for a mountain view room as the street side can get a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lincolngurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
1,157 reviews
3.4 mi away
Denver Marriott West
Denver Marriott West
#8 of 18 in Golden
412 reviews
14.8 mi away
Eldora Lodge
Eldora Lodge
#3 of 18 in Golden
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
0.4 mi away
The Silk Pincushion
The Silk Pincushion
#13 of 18 in Golden
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel

Address: 800 11th St, Golden, CO 80401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Golden
#1 Romantic Hotel in Golden
#1 Business Hotel in Golden
Price Range: $154 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Golden Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of historic downtown Golden overlooking the foothills of the Rocky Mountains and breathtaking Clear Creek. Just 12 miles west of Denver, The Golden Hotel offers guests with upscale amenities, superior service and an impressive list of green initiatives including two Tesla charging stations. The Golden Hotel features over 6,500 square feet of meeting and event space as well as their popular in-house restaurant, the Bridgewater Grill with Creekside dining and a lively lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing