We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really liked the Golden Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
DEARBORN, MICHIGAN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We really liked the Golden Hotel!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We recently stayed at the Golden Hotel for one night on our way up into the mountains. Our flight arrived into DIA at 10 and after sightseeing a little we arrived at the hotel around 1 hoping to check in early. Lucky for us our room was ready and the super nice desk clerk Nick, checked us in! We wandered a bit around town and did the Coors tour just a few blocks away. Our room was very nice and as we had booked a larger one, we had plenty of space. We had dinner in the hotel that evening and they had live music outside on the patio to enjoy after. The food was great and service was too! They do have tables outside on a deck, but they were full when we arrived. I guess they do live music every Thursday in the summer and it is a wonderful venue with the river and the walk right there. In the morning we ordered room service for breakfast and was amazed at how fast our food arrived! All in all, I kind of wished we had booked an extra night or two into this hotel. There is a lot to do in the area and we will stay here the next time we visit Colorado!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    130
    30
    9
    5
See reviews for
167
162
19
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stopped in for just one night as a last minute weekend getaway. The hotel was in an excellent location right near many shops and restaurants, as well as just a few blocks from the Coors brewery, and seconds away from a beautiful walk along the river. Our room was quiet and clean. We got the Deluxe King, the bed was huge and about the most comfortable thing I've ever slept on. The food at the restaurant downstairs was good and reasonably priced. We received excellent customer service at both the restaurant and the front desk. The real treat of the trip was a free bottle of champagne, which we received once the front desk learned it was our anniversary. I have never had any other hotel provide such a kind gesture. If we ever return to Golden, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My grandson and I just spent 2 nights at The Golden Hotel and it was perfect! Great room, very clean, quiet, excellent front desk service and awesome views of table top mountain. We experienced some problems with our TV one night and there was a baseball game coming on that my grandson wanted to see. I called the front desk and there were problems with stations due to a thunderstorm in the area. However, the maintenance person came to the room and he checked to be sure the storm was the problem, left and called to say he was working on it, came back to the room to see if it was working (and it was), called later to be sure everything was ok. Really?? Who does that?? That is incredible customer service and my grandson was thrilled he could watch the game. Don't hesitate to stay at this hotel, it's in a perfect location, wonderful little town and the people at this hotel really want you to be happy with your room and stay with them. P.S. The food at the hotel grille is also very good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains, especially the ones facing table top mountain are great but any view fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerfromMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus. Ohio
Level Contributor
326 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Last year, our group stayed at the Westin Westminster. This place is a step down in physical terms, but the staff are so helpful and friendly that I actually felt far more welcomed and at home here. The room was reasonably comfortable [down pillows would be a GREAT addition...], the restaurant served some excellent meals, and the location--right on Clear Creek at the start of downtown Golden--can't be beat.

I'd ask for a room overlooking the creek and facing the foothills [which essentially is the back side of the hotel].

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear overlooking the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peebs777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida
Level Contributor
575 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I do not usually choose Choice Hotels. In Golden we selected the Golden Hotel. The price was pretty steep but I guess you are paying for the location. Downtown on the river. The hotel is older but in good condition. The desk service was excellent. Overall a good night sleep. On our last day we did not have any hot water. This was a surprise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Golden Hotel. We are so pleased to know you enjoyed our location and that our front desk provided excellent service. We strive to go above and beyond to exceed guest expectations. I would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the issues we were experiencing with our hot water. It was an unexpected maintenance issue that fortunately we were able to immediately alleviate. We hope to see you again and thank you for the feedback you provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Wish we could have enjoyed the hotel for a longer stay. Our room overlooked a river and park area. It was nice to be able to open the window and enjoy the view and cooler weather. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LD T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Forest, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We recently were evacuated from a wildfire in Black Forest, Colorado. I have a german shepherd dog with a bad lung and she is sensitive to smoky air, so I wanted her as far away from the fire as possible. Our son is a student at the School of Mines in Golden, so that was a natural destination for me to try.
When I called I spoke with Bret, who was extremely accommodating and found us a room, even though it seemed at first there wasn't one available. He asked my dog's name, and was very helpful.
When my dog and I arrived, her name was on the chalkboard, and they had a goodie bag for her. She's a rural dog who has never stayed in a hotel before, so this was kind of fun for us. I had a welcome letter from Bret, and was offered a freshly baked cookie.
The room was very large. And clean! Every staff member I came in contact with was wonderful. Our evacuation lasted longer than anticipated and I was luckily able to extend our stay to three nights. It was a good feeling to know we were in air conditioned comfort with clean air during our stressful time.
Kudos to the management of The Golden Hotel and thank you to the wonderful staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
1,012 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
14.8 mi away
Eldora Lodge
Eldora Lodge
#3 of 18 in Golden
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Denver Marriott West
Denver Marriott West
#6 of 18 in Golden
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Silk Pincushion
The Silk Pincushion
#13 of 18 in Golden
35 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denver West - Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel

Property: The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Address: 800 11th St, Golden, CO 80401-1104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Golden
#1 Family Hotel in Golden
#1 Romantic Hotel in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Golden Hotel is located in the heart of historic downtown Golden overlooking the foothills of the Rocky Mountains. Featuring over 6,500 square feet of meeting and event space, an in-house restaurant and lounge with creekside dining, this solar powered hotel offers guest amenities such as five star bedding and plush robes, flat panel televisions with HD programing and complimentary high speed internet access. 12 miles west of Denver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing