We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Nearby Hotels
$159
TownePlace Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Denver West/Golden(Golden)(Great Value!)
$169
$152
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Denver Marriott West(Golden)(Great Value!)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Denver West/Golden(Golden)(Great Value!)
$159
$143
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$110
La Quinta
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eldora Lodge(Golden)(Great Value!)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (660)
Filter reviews
660 results
Traveler rating
451
155
36
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
155
36
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclear creekbridgewater grillwithin walking distancecreek sidecoors brewerycharming hotelperfect locationcolorado school of minesthe hotel staffthe main streetdowntown areaspacious roomgolden coloradowould definitely stay here againred rocksgreat place to staystaff was friendly
Filter
Updating list...
539 - 544 of 660 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We recently were evacuated from a wildfire in Black Forest, Colorado. I have a german shepherd dog with a bad lung and she is sensitive to smoky air, so I wanted her as far away from the fire as possible. Our son is a student at the School of Mines in Golden, so that was a natural destination for me to try.
When I called I spoke with Bret, who was extremely accommodating and found us a room, even though it seemed at first there wasn't one available. He asked my dog's name, and was very helpful.
When my dog and I arrived, her name was on the chalkboard, and they had a goodie bag for her. She's a rural dog who has never stayed in a hotel before, so this was kind of fun for us. I had a welcome letter from Bret, and was offered a freshly baked cookie.
The room was very large. And clean! Every staff member I came in contact with was wonderful. Our evacuation lasted longer than anticipated and I was luckily able to extend our stay to three nights. It was a good feeling to know we were in air conditioned comfort with clean air during our stressful time.
Kudos to the management of The Golden Hotel and thank you to the wonderful staff!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My Wife and I recently traveled to Golden for a family reunion. We were so impressed with the hotel and its ambiance that we can't wait to go back and have another relaxing weekend. Even more impressive though, than their size able rooms and the breathtaking views is their staff. They make you feel so at home and welcome. Sandi and Bret helped accommodate some of our family that needed handicap accessibility, get extra chairs for our room so we can gather and many more things. Words can't express how appreciative my family was for having such great people help us and always with a smile on their face. Keep up the good work their!! We can't wait to go back.

David

Room Tip: Try to get a river side room
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidnolanb2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Hotel due to its proximity to Red Rocks Amphitheater (20 minutes). Upon check in we were immediately disappointed because while our room rate was for a standard room ($179.00 per night) we were told the hotel was sold out and that all that was left were ADA rooms. We are blessed to not require one but accepted this due to our late arrival (10:30 pm). Had we known this was the case in advance we would have sought other lodging. My travel partner is over 6 feet tall and the shower was designed for a person bathing in a seated position. In addition we were surprised at the quality of several aspects of the room. The furniture quality was on the cheap side, there was not seat in the room other than the desk chair (this may have been an ADA requirement) the lighting options were limited (desk lamps that didn't throw much pleasing light) and the paint on the walls was applied in a sloppy way. You could see where the contractors or maintenance folks were painting trim of a door for example, got that color on the wall and simply moved on. Of the 3 hotels we stayed in during our CO vacation this room was the most disappointing. On a lighter note, and pulling the rating up for us were a few positive highlights including; awesome chocolate chip cookies upon arrival, very close and accessible parking near an elevator with easy room access and a friendly front desk.

Room Tip: Insist on a Standard Room unless you require an ADA room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caseymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We traveled to Colorado to see a couple of shows at Red Rocks and did not want to stay in downtown Denver. The location of the Golden Hotel was ideal for easy access to Red Rocks. The staff at the front desk suggested taking a cab out to the venue (just over $20 one way) and also told us that cabs would be plentiful for a ride back (which they were). While many other concert goers were stuck in concert traffic, the cabs are waved through to convenient drop off locations and also know how best to exit the venue.

All of the staff at the Golden Hotel were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was overbooked on king rooms when we arrived, so we were upgraded to a king suite (which was huge!) and we will book that suite next time we go.

The Golden Hotel is located right on Clear Creek and the walking trail along the creek was great. We also enjoyed a nice walk from the hotel to the Coors factory which is only about 5 blocks away. There are a number of great restaurants (try Indulge if you're in the area - we had lunch there twice!) and shops within walking distance from the hotel.

We will definitely stay at the Golden Hotel next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: ask for a creekside room
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Good view from room 405. The Clear Creek is flowing fast and full. The room is comfortable with a king size bed, frig, and coffee maker. We got the romance package. It came with chocolate covered strawberry, champagne, and breakfast. Thank you. Rita Bennett from Westminster, Colorado

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovetotravvel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews