We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nive room, lousy view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Michigan
Level Contributor
131 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nive room, lousy view”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Hotel was helpful and allowed very early check in, but for $150 a night it seems that one would get a better view than a funeral home. Room was very clean, updated but the bath was very small. Sink, toilet and shower all behind one door, so when spouse was applying makeup and doing up hair had no access to anything else. Kind of old timey. Great location close to everything. Bed did seem ultra firm.

Room Tip: Ask for creek side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    125
    29
    9
    5
See reviews for
165
159
18
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Golden Hotel while attending a meeting for SHELTERBOX, a disaster relief project sponsored by Rotary. I was lucky enough to be free to enjoy Golden while my husband attended business meetings. I started my day with a great breakfast in the hotel dining room which looks out to the bubbling mountain stream and views of the surrounding mountains. The lobby had a roaring fire and was warmly decorated. I returned to my spacious room, worked out at the fitness center, and after getting some great advice from the concierge, I headed out down the street to explore all the cute shops and sample a restaurant all in walking distance. I returned to my room to take a nap in a huge comfortable bed and was revived and rested when my exhausted husband returned from the meeting. Needless to say, the Golden Hotel is on my list of wonderful places to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had a meeting in Colorado School of Mines and we wanted to stay very close to this. Hence, we booked 2 rooms for one night in this hotel first week of december. The hotel decor is more of artistic and contemprorary look. The hotel staff are excellent and willing to extra mile to make the stay comfortable. In fact next day after we had checked out they opened their borad room so that we can offer prayers. The room is of reasonable size with all the amenities including fridge and microwave. The only downside is that being a 3 star hotel it is bit pricey. Also, there are no fast food restaurant nearby.

Room Tip: Room View is not much of an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sekerdey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I attended a 4 day conference at the Golden last week and my wife accompanied me. The room was nice a nice size with a large desk/work area. There was also a wet bar and small fridge. The decor was up to date and relaxing. The bed was very comfortable with high quality linens.

We ordered room service and had the strip steak dinner and steakhouse burger. Both were good but I really recommend the steakhouse burger! Also try their house potato chips.

The hotel catered breakfast, lunch and snacks each day at our conference and the overall quality and variety was excellent. I especially liked the chef's green chili served with breakfast. It was mild but full of flavor. I think I saw a couple of awards in the lobby that he won in local chili competitions.

The lounge was a great place to hang out in the evenings. On Thursday night there was a live jazz combo which I really enjoyed.

The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Golden and overlooks a creek and park with a jogging trail. There are numerous restaurants and shops extending for several blocks and all within walking distance.

Every interaction that I had with the staff was impressive. Everyone was responsive and friendly and seemed glad to have us there.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PRButterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at the Golden Hotel last week. The service was excellent and the room was perfect. A considerable amount of "attention to detail" is apparant everywhere. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Although i did not visit the restaurant, the menu looked delicious. I ran into a banquet server (wish I could remember her name) while searching where a coffee house may be. although she did not know, she made sure I got my information.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennisyellowstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegoldenhotel, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Golden Hotel. It was our pleasure to serve you during your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Most don't go to golden, other than take the Coors tour ( which is good!), but the golden hotel is a gem. Fresh baked cookies, fireplace and a welcome tote Dog guests greet you in the cheery lobby. Most rooms are large and wifi is fast and free. Immaculately clean rooms, well fitted. The workout space is small, but the equipment is first rate and in good condition. And, the town is lovely, full of charm. It was too cold to enjoy a drink outside, but clearly in the summer it must be lovely.
I found the breakfast at the hotel okay, but on 12 th street is the diner that is awesome.

All in all a great stay the raves are right on.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank FLA_Islandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegoldenhotel, General Manager at The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Golden Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future as you discover all there is to see and do in our beautiful, historic downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The 5-day stay mid March 2012 at Golden Hotel was everything we could hope. Our large, very clean, comfortable room looked out onto Washington Blvd. We were there for the wedding of our son and his bride Elisabeth.

The wedding took place on the hotel's outside premises adjacent to Clear Creek where we enjoyed a view of the mountains as a backstage for the 6 pm outdoor wedding that unusually warm St. Patrick's evening.

Wedding reception was on 1st floor of hotel with a delicious dinner of ample portions. (We recommend the fish and rice!) Waitstaff were friendly & efficient.The wedding planner provided the warm ambience with dinner music and dancing music thereafter.

The bridal suite was huge and most exquisite. The 2nd floor looks out onto the 1st floor lobby where you found the fireplace, reading material, comfy seating, and public-use computer available 24 hrs. Exercise room on our floor was clean, clean, clean. Public bathroom on main floor clean, clean, clean.

Parking is easy to get to from 1st floor side door of hotel and also by elevator below. The restaurant on the 1st floor provided a great Sunday noon meal and scrumptious homemade desserts that evening.

Great small-town vacation spot in the foothills west of Denver, CO. Note: Concierge/doorman was most helpful. That goes for the lobby desk staff as well.

Room Tip: Our quiet corner room was on 4th or 5th floor overlooking Washington Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyvonneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Denver West/Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
0.4 mi away
The Silk Pincushion
The Silk Pincushion
#13 of 18 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denver West - Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel

Property: The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Address: 800 11th St, Golden, CO 80401-1104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Golden
#1 Family Hotel in Golden
#1 Business Hotel in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Golden Hotel is located in the heart of historic downtown Golden overlooking the foothills of the Rocky Mountains. Featuring over 6,500 square feet of meeting and event space, an in-house restaurant and lounge with creekside dining, this solar powered hotel offers guest amenities such as five star bedding and plush robes, flat panel televisions with HD programing and complimentary high speed internet access. 12 miles west of Denver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing