We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average”

Blue Canyon Bar & Grill
Ranked #36 of 149 Restaurants in Golden
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
167 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Below average”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Service was slow, although the server was very friendly. They mixed up my order and offered to correct the mistake. But given the time it took to get the original order, I passed on the offer. Most importantly, the food quality was average at best.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    36
    16
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
504 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Terrible service, average food”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We waited a full hour before we were even able to get someone to take our lunch order. It was not a peak time, nor was the restaurant crowded. The wait staff is unconcerned and lazy, and seems to ignore the fact that people don't want to spend the entire day there. The food was average tourist fare, and definitely not worth that or any length of wait. The only reason we stopped there is that we had tried most other venues in Golden. I ordered the "Ahi Tuna sandwich", which was to have been only "seared" as the menu and convention call for. Instead, it was terribly over-cooked, over-seasoned, and over-priced. My husband's veggie burger was average and unremarkable. The bill for the two sandwiches and an iced tea with tip came to over $30--a big mistake. We will never make the mistake of going there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummmmmmmmm”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stopped in because I saw a sign advertising "best burger in Golden". Sure enough. The plain ol cheeseburger is awesome. Try the green chile burger for something extra good and the sweet potato fries are delicious as well. This is our local favorite.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 520shari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great soup, burgers, nachos; welcoming atmosphere, friendly patrons”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Daily soups are worth the stop. I had the tortilla chicken and wished I could have had seconds. My daughter agrees. Her husband commends the burgers. Their teenaged son who can demolish food barely put a dent in Blue Canyon's mountain of nachos. Hint: plan on sharing if you order the nachos or taking a box home; they are too good to waste.
Prices are moderate for the quality of the food.
The only drawback is a single shared restroom; hardly adequate for a place that seats about sixty and sells beer. Public restrooms are a short walk away.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food is only average quality.”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I've eaten here three times and haven't been impressed on any visit. They try hard but miss the mark every time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank majjones74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Canyon Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Blue Canyon Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing