We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel...But...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, NV
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel...But...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Overall, the hotel is very nice. Everything about the room is what you would normally expect from RI. I like the full size refrigerator, comfortable bed and sofa for relaxing. The location of this property is located on the wrong side of the 6 freeway. I was walking around the area most of the time and it was very inconvenient. There is no place close by to walk to eat. The layout of the hotel is somewhat confusing, and the parking lot is equally so.

My main gripe about this hotel is that for the 5 days that I was here (M-F), the evening social was only on Mondays and Tuesdays. Every other Residence Inn said that I've been in had at least 3 nights, but most have 4 nights. I asked the front desk on the Friday that I was leaving, and she said that they only had the evening social because of the rates that people paid. Had I known this, I would have stayed at another Marriott property because at RI you only get 5 points per dollar spent, at other Marriott properties, you get 10 points per dollar spent. I usually choose RI because the rooms are bigger, the breakfasts, and the evening socials. If more Residence Inns are like this, I'll rethink my strategy, maybe I'll stay at Homewood Suites more often. Now I'll have to start calling the RI to see how many nights of evening social they have.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenadamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse L, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver West/Golden, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi There!
I just wanted to take a moment and thank you for staying with us. I’m sorry that during your stay there were some areas of concern; in particular the number of points you earn, the number of nights we offer social and the location of the property. While I’m not able to change the location of the property, I will make the suggestion to Marriott that we consider increasing the number of points offered per dollar spent, and I’ll take into consideration offering more nights of social hour per week as we begin doing our 2014 business plans. I appreciate your feedback and value your business.
~Safe Travels,
Jesse Loose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    53
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
91
35
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were surprised about the great location. Greeted by very helpful and courteous staff that gave us fantastic tips on places to go and restaurants in the area. We were planning on making our meals but ended up eating out the whole time. The only issue I would have is that our room was not made up until later in the afternoon. This was only a problem because we came back to nap in the afternoons. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank would be j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse L, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver West/Golden, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi There!
I just wanted to take a moment and thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We’re very lucky to have some great restaurants in the area, and some fantastic staff who knows where they are! I'm gald you enjoyed your three night stay with us and I hope our paths cross again!
~Safe Travels,
Jesse Loose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our family of 3 adults stayed for 6 days. The location for our activities was very good due to easy access to highways, [& light rail, though we didn't use it] yet very quiet in the neighborhood. The staff was outstanding in their pleasantness & attention to duties-including front desk, breakfast area, housekeeping personnel. Check-in was past midnight due to messed up airline travel & when I mentioned being hungry was offered cereal & milk-hit the spot for sure! We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit on the 2nd floor which made for a very comfortable stay. The elevator was quick. There was adequate parking even when we came back late in evening. Breakfast provided a good range of choices & was kept stocked even when many people were coming & going. A small restaurant/deli [Bono's] was a short walk with good food for 1 of us who stayed behind one day. Truly could not ask for a better place to stay at a fair price for what we received.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkeye1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse L, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver West/Golden, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi There!
I just wanted to take a moment and thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. I love reading reviews like this... it makes me so proud of my associates and the property. I appreciate your sharing it with the world! We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and made our home, your home away from home!

~Safe Travels,
Jesse Loose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed with our 2 young boys 9 and 12 along with our 15 old niece at this property for 7 nights and could not have been more please with our stay. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The location was just of 6th Avenue and the Colorado Mills Mall is just down the street. Close to the mountains and a straight shot to downtown on 6th Avenue. We were in Denver for my oldest daughter's wedding along with several other people that also stayed at this property. I would highly recommend this property if visiting Denver.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssnow719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse L, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver West/Golden, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi There!

I just wanted to take a moment and thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. What a nice review to read! We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope our paths cross again!

~Safe Travels,
Jesse Loose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I liked the area, overall It was ok, not all of the rooms came with an oven. There was a different rate for the rooms with ovens. The cook top was ok for our over night stay. The staff was helpful and people were friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse L, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver West/Golden, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi There! I just wanted to take a moment and thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. You are absolutely correct; we do have a limited number of rooms with ovens, which are availble at a slightly higher rate. They work great for people staying over a very long term. If not though, all of our rooms come with a full refrigerator, two counter-top burners, microwave and dishwasher. I hope our paths cross again!

~Safe Travels,
Jesse Loose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stay at a lot of Marriott properties. Staying at a Residence Inn is always a treat and this one upholds that experience. Great happy hour, super breakfast, spacious room, very nice interior pool and hot tub. The room layout, as with all Residence Inns, has a separate dressing area from the shower which we always enjoy.
This property is located right off US 6, just east of I-70 so it is convenient to accessing downtown Denver and as a stopover on your way back to the airport via I-70.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bschott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse L, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver West/Golden, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi There! I just wanted to take a moment and thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We're in agreement on Residence Inn's, it's a great brand, but I'm a little partial. ;-) I hope our paths cross again!

~Safe Travels,
Jesse Loose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

After visiting Disneyland and California, we accompanied our daughter to Denver where she was to enrol for a 5-month discipleship training school. Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, and enjoyed the entire stay. The 2 bedroomed suite was very spacious and had everything we needed for our family of 4 adults. The staff were all very helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. We had originally booked 4 nights, but asked for an extra night after check-in, and it was arranged immediately. We loved the breakfasts! This hotel was a perfect base for exploring the Denver area, and as we wanted to shop before our return home, it is a stone's throw from the Colorado Mills Shopping Centre. Coming from Australia, we had never stayed in a Residence Inn before, but shall certainly make sure we do again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathyg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse L, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver West/Golden, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi There! I just wanted to take a moment and thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. Also, I'm so glad that your first experiance at a Residence Inn was so positive. I hope our paths cross again!

~Safe Travels,
Jesse Loose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Denver West/Golden
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denver West - Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
1.1 mi away
Denver Marriott West
Denver Marriott West
#6 of 18 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Denver West/Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Denver West/Golden

Property: Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
Address: 14600 W 6th Ave, Golden, CO 80401-5357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Golden
#5 Business Hotel in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Denver West/Golden 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering convenience for business and leisure travelers, the pet-friendly Residence Inn Denver West Golden is just west of downtown Denver. Our suites have full kitchenettes and offer free Internet, a complimentary hot breakfast each morning and an evening social and BBQ on select days. Close to the Denver Federal Center and the National Renewable Energy Lab (NREL), this hotel can host meetings for groups of up to 30 people. For relaxation, the Residence Inn Denver West Golden has a pool, Sport Court and fitness center. For sports fans, this hotel is perfectly situated to take in a Rockies game at Coors Field, a Broncos game at Mile High or a Nuggets game at Pepsi Center. A superior choice among extended stay Golden CO hotels, we can also serve as your home when relocating, skiing and visiting attractions such as the Coors Brewery, Colorado Mills Mall, Fossil Trace Golf Club and the Red Rocks offering top name concerts and hiking. Your Marriott awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Denver West/Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Denver West / Golden Hotel Golden
Residence Inn Golden
Golden Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing