We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel stay in a long time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel stay in a long time”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We couldn't have been happier with this place. We're a young couple that loves the outdoors and the city. We were less than 30 minutes from great hiking and downtown Denver. Breakfasts here are great, they have good dinners too (pulled pork sandwiches). Gym is okay, not the best but not the worst either. Very clean spacious rooms also.

I can't rave enough about the staff, I've never had such a friendly and helpful staff all around. This really made the trip for us. If you're looking for a great location, a comfortable rest, great food, and a fantastic staff, stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denlg, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver West/Golden, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff provided you and your family with the service standards behind the Marriott name. We always value and appreciate guest feedback and I will make sure to share your comments with our team, they will be very excited to hear. We llok forward to serving your travel needs again on your next trip to Golden, CO!

Anna Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    54
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
92
35
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
337 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This Residence Inn is close to the freeway but the location is not that good. A giant retaining wall abuts the rear portion of the property. Place is kept really cold, room had A/C on 60 when we entered and had to turn on heat even though this was the summer. Breakfast room is quite cold too.

I'd have to say this was among the least memorable Residence Inns I stayed at. They gave us the handicapped room, I presume nothing else was available.

If you're staying for business and need points, it'll give you that but it's just a no frills property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denlg, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver West/Golden, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay, we appreciate your feedback. I am sorry that your experience was not memorable in a positive way, we strive to ensure our guests are more than satisfied with their stay and the services we provide. I have mentioned your comments about our rooms and public area temperatures and we will work to ensure all areas are set to the proper temperature. We hope you will give us another opportunuity to serve your travel needs in the future.

Anna Long
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Party: Family of four with two small children. We stayed a week while visiting family.
This hotel is typical of Residence Inn properties. It was fairly clean and up to date.
We stayed in a corner room, which was a larger studio suite. There was some separation between the sofa sleeper and the queen bed, but not a lot. If this is important to you, get a one-bedroom suite. The kitchen was large, and had an oven, which is a plus for rewarming foods that don't come out of the microwave that well (e.g. pizza). The breakfast was mediocre, but comparable to other chains like Homewood Suites.
One negative -- the hotel is close to the highway, and there is some noise at night, but it is not terrible. The hotel is a mile or two from the Colorado Mills shopping Mall where there are many restaurant and shopping options.

Service was good. Staff were friendly and helpful. USA Today and Denver post were available every day in the lobby.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger. Rooms on south side are further from highway and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PacificFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denlg, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver West/Golden, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor! We truly appreciate and value your feedback. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay and I am glad to hear that. I will be sure to share your review with our team and recognize them for their friendly service. We look forward to seeing you and your family again the next time you are in Golden, CO!

Anna Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a highly efficient motel of remarkably good value. The room was large with ample space. The bathroom was well fitted out with a good tub and shower. The bedroom had hangars which were easy to use and you could steal. There was free wiFi The breakfast was poor with little choice of bread by European standards. If you came down to breakfast early you were able to eat breakfast off china plates but later on it changed to paper cereal bowls, and plastic plates. I have never seen this before and have no idea what the management think they are playing at.
The staff on the few occasions when you saw any were always friendly, efficient and helpful.
The down side is that as I suppose is common with chain hotels is that it is completely soulless. After four nights we felt we were cogs in a machine rather than humans with feelings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denlg, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver West/Golden, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we value and appreciate feedback so we can better improve our services. I have used the comments you left for us as a training opportunity for our staff. At all times our breakfast buffet should have porcelin plates and plastic to offer our guests a choice. We strive to provide outstanding guest service and I am sorry you did not receive that during your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to serve your travel needs again on your next trip to Golden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed the one night at this Residence Inn in Golden and I was not impressed. For starters, the evening front desk clerk was rude and decided to park his car in one of the only parking spots out front, this was a convenience for him and not to his guest. If and elderly person or a
family with children came along, they could have used that spot. Second, ONE ice machine for 4 floors seems a bit ridiculous. When we inquired about this we were told we had an ice maker in the room. This turned out to be in our freezer...no ice and it takes several hours to make ice. Also, one toaster in the breakfast room for 4 floors of people. Not the best place I have stayed at.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank theluckeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denlg, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver West/Golden, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback about your stay with us. I am very sorry that we did not exceed your expectations while you were here. We take pride in our service and our product and strive to provide our guests with an enjoyable stay. I will share your comments with our team and use this as a training opportunity to improve our service. Thank you again for your feedback, I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve your travel needs the next time you are in Golden, CO.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Was visiting the Denver area for a concert at Red Rocks and had a great experience. The hotel was in close proximity to the venue. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. After checking they made a recommendation for a great restaurant and actually made reservations for us. The room was perfect for our family (2 adults and 4 kids). We had a 2 bedroom suite with a pullout couch and a small kitchen. The hotel also offered free breakfast which had a great variety and was delicious. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone to the Golden CO area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Travel009_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denlg, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver West/Golden, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for your review! I will share your valuable feedback with our team as they always appreciate hearing our guests were satisfied with their stay. We look forward to serving your travel needs again on your next trip to Golden, CO!

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our experience was consistent with many of the other 3-4 star reviews. The location is ok. It's not truly "Golden," but rather to the east of I-70. It's right off of 6th Ave, which made it easy to get around. The new light rail line (not yet operating in July 2012) is very nearby, which could be useful to some. It's also very close to the Colorado Mills shopping center, as well as other similar shopping places (e.g., Target, Walmart). The breakfast wasn't on-par with other Residence Inns (the eggs were kind of gross). Overall, if I needed to stay in this part of town again, I would probably look around for other options.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falconsview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denlg, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver West/Golden, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for your review, we value your feedback. I am sorry that our breakfast was not up to standard. As a Marriott hotel we take pride in our product and it is our goal to provide the best service and quality in all aspects of our hotel. The feedback you have provided will be reviewed with our team so we can continue improve. If you are in the Golden area again I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve your travel needs.

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Denver West/Golden
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denver West - Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
1,011 reviews
1.1 mi away
Denver Marriott West
Denver Marriott West
#5 of 18 in Golden
384 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Denver West/Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Denver West/Golden

Property: Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
Address: 14600 W 6th Ave, Golden, CO 80401-5357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Golden
#5 Business Hotel in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Denver West/Golden 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering convenience for business and leisure travelers, the pet-friendly Residence Inn Denver West Golden is just west of downtown Denver. Our suites have full kitchenettes and offer free Internet, a complimentary hot breakfast each morning and an evening social and BBQ on select days. Close to the Denver Federal Center and the National Renewable Energy Lab (NREL), this hotel can host meetings for groups of up to 30 people. For relaxation, the Residence Inn Denver West Golden has a pool, Sport Court and fitness center. For sports fans, this hotel is perfectly situated to take in a Rockies game at Coors Field, a Broncos game at Mile High or a Nuggets game at Pepsi Center. A superior choice among extended stay Golden CO hotels, we can also serve as your home when relocating, skiing and visiting attractions such as the Coors Brewery, Colorado Mills Mall, Fossil Trace Golf Club and the Red Rocks offering top name concerts and hiking. Your Marriott awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Denver West/Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Denver West / Golden Hotel Golden
Residence Inn Golden
Golden Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing