We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Plusses: Easy access to freeway. Short drive to historic downtown Golden, with nice restaurants and riverwalk. Also near a bike trail (there's parking at the corner of 19th & 6th, next to Colorado School of Mining). Full kitchen/living room, separated by a door from the sleeping area. Couch, tables and chair provided plenty of sitting and work/storage areas.

Minuses: Air conditioning fans in living and sleeping areas blow directly down on the middle of the room, making it feel too cold even though the temp is right. Loud highway noise; we stayed on the freeway side, unfortunately. Breakfast was subpar: watery orange juice, thin oatmeal, and scrambled eggs that were delayed until the attendant finally got around to it. The side entrance had an overflowing trash bin and ashtray. Dogs are allowed in the suites (for a flat fee of $100!); the dog across the hall barked infrequently, and the owner had left the TV turned way up, maybe to keep the dog company. We were glad we weren't staying next to that room.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the freeway side. And if you're allergic to dogs, ask whether there are any in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twistin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver West/Golden, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We appreciate hearing our guests opinions on what we can do to improve. I will share your comments with our breakfast attendant and ensure that we are taking the necessary steps to improve our quality. I understand it can be very frustrating to be in a room next to a dog that is barking continuously. I hope we were able to failry compensate you for this inconvenience while you were here. We look forward to serving your travel needs on your next trip to Golden Colorado!

Anna Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    54
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
92
35
8
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I don't always love to review hotels, partly b/c people's opinions can vary so much b/c some people are pickier than others, however, lately, since I use this site for planning my vacations, I guess it doesn't hurt to give my opinions.

Overall, I really enjoyed this hotel...the location is wonderful, just outside Denver, kind of a good point to tour the general area, close enough to the mountains, but yet close enough to the city without the real busyness of being downtown. The first night we arrived we had a great manager's reception, and breakfast was also very well done, the only downside was that the food wasn't always kept stocked too well.

The room was nice, and clean, and things seem to be generally well taken care of.

I will agree with the last writer, and also say the entire time we were here in early June, the hot tub was out of order, and also was the ice machine. The pool was very nice, however each day it got hotter and hotter until our last night it was like a hot tub and not very refreshing. The only thing I thought of as a little strange was one afternoon the pool was being used by a lady from outside teaching non hotel residents swimming lessons. We kind of felt a little restricted. Pools should be reserved for hotel guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver West/Golden, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your review! We know it takes time to sit down and do it and I want you to know how much we appreciate your feedback. I undersatnd your frustrations with the pool and hot tub during your stay. We have been able to get all of the issues addressed from a maintenance stand point. We have had other guests also comment on the lessons that are given in our pool weekly by an outside vendor and we are re-considering our path on this. Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing, our goal for continuous improvement is only possible with feedback from our valued guests.

Anna Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel delivered on everything asked for and more. I was there on business for a week and sandwiched my work in between two weekends and brought my family of 5. They were able to get us into a 1 bedroom instead of a studio which made all the difference for an 8 night stay. The breakfast was adequate for the week while we explored local joints on the weekend. The staff is very friendly and attentive, especially the GM Anna. It is a great location as you can get downtown Denver within 15 minutes but it's also a great jumping point to the mountains as you are on the edge of town. Very easy access to Red Rocks (10 minutes), Golden (5 minutes) and Boulder (30 minutes.) the only part I found frustrating the whole week was that private swim lessons were being held in the pool on Wednesday night from 5-6 which meant that my kids couldn't swim without having to dodge a handful of local kids (not hotel guests) swimming laps.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver West/Golden, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us! I am glad we were able to accommodate you and your family's needs! I will share your kind comments with our team, we are always excited to celebrate when we have exceeded our guests expectations! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Golden Colorado!

Anna Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, TX
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Breakfast was modest. Room service late, hot tub broken, ice machine broken! Seems like broken items would be repaired quickly!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamWilsoniii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denlg, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver West/Golden, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that we did not provide you with the services and amenities that the Marriott name stands for. Unfortunately our ice machine and hot tub were both out of service for 5 days, we most certainly did our best to fix both issues as quickly as we could. I understand it can be frustrating to have your room serviced later in the day, we often take time requests from guests that need service at a certain time. Please keep us in mind for your furture travels to Golden, we would like the opportunity again to provide you with the service and amenities that you deserve.

Anna Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

If you are not familiar with Denver this location is frustrating to find amidst highways, freeways, toll roads and malls. I got lost every time I left and returned to the hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful and the room was very well equipped with kitchen and living room. Unfortunately my room smelled of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaM886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denlg, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver West/Golden, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for your review, we always appreciate the feedback! I understand the hotel can be somewhat difficult to find if you are not familiar with the area. We try to offer an array of maps to our guests to help with directions to and from the hotel from various locations. I am glad the rest of your visit to our hotel was enjoyable. We look forward to meeting your travel needs again on your next trip to Golden, CO.

Anna Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in May. This hotel has a great location right across from the Colorado Mills Shopping Mall. Also, provides easy access to downtown Denver and was just over an hour to Colorado Springs. My kids enjoyed swimming in the pool and playing basketball. The room was very nice and clean. The breakfast was okay but a little cold when we came down which was 30 minutes before the breakfast time ended. We did attend one of the evening receptions and the food was great! We will definitely stay here again if we're in the Denver/Golden area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdtraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denlg, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver West/Golden, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
We appreciate you the taking time to review us! I am glad to hear you and your family enjoyed the facilities at our hotel. I am sorry the breakfast food was cold, we will review with our staff the breakfast standards so we can ensure every guest is receiving the quality they deserve. Many of our guests do like our location because we are central to many different cities and attractions. And the view is beautiful too! We look forward to seeing you and your family the next time you are in Golden!

Anna Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here when we went to graduation and the rooms were a great place for us to gather and relax. My only complaint was they didn't have enough towels in the room. The breakfast were great and we enjoyed our time at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andipan39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denlg, General Manager at Residence Inn Denver West/Golden, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We appreciate and value your feedback. We strive for perfection and we are always looking for ways to improve. Your suggestion of putting more towels in the rooms is a great idea that we will look further in to. We hope to see you on your next trip to Golden Colorado!

Anna Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
3.7 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
1,061 reviews
1.1 mi away
Denver Marriott West
Denver Marriott West
#5 of 18 in Golden
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Denver West/Golden
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denver West - Golden
3.9 mi away
The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Denver West/Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Denver West/Golden

Property: Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
Address: 14600 W 6th Ave, Golden, CO 80401-5357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Golden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Golden
#5 Business Hotel in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Denver West/Golden 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering convenience for business and leisure travelers, the pet-friendly Residence Inn Denver West Golden is just west of downtown Denver. Our suites have full kitchenettes and offer free Internet, a complimentary hot breakfast each morning and an evening social and BBQ on select days. Close to the Denver Federal Center and the National Renewable Energy Lab (NREL), this hotel can host meetings for groups of up to 30 people. For relaxation, the Residence Inn Denver West Golden has a pool, Sport Court and fitness center. For sports fans, this hotel is perfectly situated to take in a Rockies game at Coors Field, a Broncos game at Mile High or a Nuggets game at Pepsi Center. A superior choice among extended stay Golden CO hotels, we can also serve as your home when relocating, skiing and visiting attractions such as the Coors Brewery, Colorado Mills Mall, Fossil Trace Golf Club and the Red Rocks offering top name concerts and hiking. Your Marriott awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Denver West/Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Denver West / Golden Hotel Golden
Residence Inn Golden
Golden Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing