We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Must see..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout Mountain

Lookout Mountain
Book In Advance
$55*
and up
Denver Mountain Parks with Optional Denver City Tour
Ranked #1 of 57 things to do in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic mountain near Denver and home of the Buffalo Bill Cody gravesite and museum.
Lone Jack, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must see..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

All I can is wow.....it was breathtaking. Make sure to bring your camera. While there visit the Buffalo Bill Museum.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephens76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    156
    24
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must see!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Visited on our honey moon. We went once during the day and were fortunate to see wild elk. We went once at night to see the view of the city's silhouette. This was beautiful but ruined by punks going up there with arm loads of booze. Disrespectful. Also encountered drag racers. And graffiti as someone previously mentioned. I am still glad we went up there though.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“nice drive, lots of hiking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

There's a pit toilet at the car park. We only did a short hike but there were loads of other hikers further up the mountain (young and loud). Loved the wildflowers! Very wooded trail to keep out of sun when we were there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lilymae71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Drive outside Golden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Wonderful drive starting out near the Buffalo Herd Overlook. Once you reach the top, you can stop at the Lookout Mountain park and then head up to Buffalo Bill Museum and gaze down toward Golden and Denver.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank karynshufffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great History lesson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had a blast. My children did not want to go here at all. Once we went to Buffalo bills grave and muesem they thanked me for taking them, I would recommend to anybody. Just be careful of the tons of bicycle riders. The view from the top looking across Golden is nothing short of spectacular

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lstsundwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lookout Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Lookout Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing