We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're in Golden, you must go!”
Review of Coors Brewery

Coors Brewery
Ranked #1 of 6 Food & Drink in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world's largest single-site brewery offers guided tours and beer-tasting.
Vermont
Level Contributor
198 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“If you're in Golden, you must go!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

If you're in Golden, a free tour of one of the largest breweries in the US is a must! There's a lot of history behind the beer, and it was interesting to see the art of beer making on such a large scale. Prior to Golden, we had visited 15 or so breweries in Colorado and New Mexico, and Coors certainly was original and fun. You get an audio-recorded tour to listen to and a sample midway through. At the end, you get three 10-ounce pours for free! It's a great opportunity to try Colorado Native or Batch 19. Even if you don't loves Coors beers, they make a ton of other beer, like Blue Moon, Killian's, etc. It's within walking distance to downtown and there's also a free shuttle from a remote parking lot. I've also heard that locals can go daily and skip the tour for their "three free!"

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelLikeaLocalVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    434
    152
    37
    29
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another Great free tour near Denver”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Miller/Coors does a great job with this tour. First, you get a quick bus tour of beautiful Golden and then you get to spend some time in a small but well done museum. The tour guides are great and they really teach you a lot about how beer is made. Of course, I would be remiss if I did not mention the samples of some great tasting beer. If you bring the kids along, they have free soda tasting as well.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank New2Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Learned alot, tasted alot”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Now I finally know what barley, malt, and hops are all about and enjoyed learning about the history and scale of this iconic brewery. The tour felt a little disjointed, but our guide explained that the processing steps we'd see would not be in chronological order--they do a lot to still help you understand. There's a half-way tap stop for a quick sip. My husband doesn't drink so was pleased to be offered unlimited non-alcoholic beer in the tasting room. Loved learning about the freshness and cold processing--and tasting the difference. Enlightening to see the many products associated with Coors, including Blue Moon. Gift shop would be the bomb for anyone seeking beer-themed shirts, hoodies, and sweats of all kinds. Check in advance of wheelchair access is a concern. There are many stair steps while navigating the tour.
PS Not sure if the photos-at-the-door are a security measure of just a way to get the tourists to buy their photo. If the latter, they could sure do away with it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sisterchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun place”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

It's a great tour, fun for the whole family. But, maybe you just want to see what they have on tap? Ask for the short tour (at least 5 years ago it worked) and you can go sample what the brewery has been working on.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaybobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great brewery tour”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I've been on a few brewery tours and I must say, Coors was one of my favorite. It's very informative, and you get quite a few free beers at the end. Definitely worth the trip.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KimKimmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coors Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing