We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birds and Wildlife - how beautiful!”

Golden Gate Canyon State Park
Ranked #7 of 56 things to do in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This area is particularly good for snowshoers.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
143 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Birds and Wildlife - how beautiful!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

You might think you'll never get there from Hwy 93, but just hang on. When you do, you'll have plenty to see!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank carooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    58
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
146 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Such a lovely place, we always go in the fall to see the colors.”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I love driving up into the canyon, nice visitor center, I just wish sometime I would see the wildlife!!! I always feed the fish though at the visitor center. The colors are so pretty in the fall. I don't know about a fee, for some of the access I think yes. But not just to get to the visitor center.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We got a park pass!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We loved it so much that we decided to get an annual park pass! There are many trails to choose from moderate to extreme. I have seen many benches and picnic tables to enjoy as you take a break or have lunch.
They even have an area to ice skate in the winter!
The visitor center has much to see and helpful employees.
My son enjoyed feeding the fish.
A young man came in all scratched up from a fall and they took very good care of him!
I still have much exploring to do, but love what I've seen so far.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelBelle86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful area close to Denver”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

You don't have to venture very far from Denver to enjoy the scenery the park has to offer. Great place to camp, hike, bike, relax, take a drive, or just get away from it all. Absolutely beautiful!

Helpful?
1 Thank ilovefootball84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Wilderness Next to Denver”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This is a wonderfully maintained park with tons of opportunity for solitude while hiking or backcountry camping. All skill levels can find wonderful things to do here. Camping, fishing, hiking, nature watching, aspens, cookouts, scenic drives. The rangers are knowledgable and friendly. I have been here over a dozen times and it is consistent. A total win.

Helpful?
1 Thank LM4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Gate Canyon State Park also viewed

 

Been to Golden Gate Canyon State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing