We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Spruce Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Spruce Motel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Rooms were clean and spacious. Included: hair dryer, clothes rack, TV, Minifridge, microwave, bathtub, desk area plus extra small table and chairs, in addition to our two queen beds. Plenty of room for our family of four for the weekend. Staff were very friendly and responsive. Property is well-kept. Room is a bit overpriced in my opinion but that seems par for the course for Glenwood Springs. They have nice potted flowers on the property.

The included breakfast was nice but there was *nothing* but bread items *except* hard boiled eggs. I mean, NO fruit or yogurt or anything. They had make-your-own waffles, toast, bagels, biscuits and gravy, cereal, muffins etc. It was fresh and frequently re-stocked and there's plenty of dining space to eat. As health-conscious of a place as CO is and as active as folks are who visit the Glenwood Springs area, it would have been nice to see some healthier breakfast choices. But, I guess we can't complain about free breakfast. I just supplemented ours with fruit bought from the nearby Safeway. They also have hot chocolate and coffee in the lobby, as well as OJ for breakfast and fresh lemon-water, which was definitely appreciated.

The one drawback is that there is no pool on the property and while they advertised a hot tub (which we were looking forward to) it was not operable apparently since the early spring and we were not informed upon check in.

All in all, a good value, quiet, clean, comfortable beds, close to all the attractions (walking distance). We'll consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alishamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    45
    30
    12
    23
See reviews for
55
57
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here 3 years ago passing through and ended up staying a couple of days. Came back this year because it is within walking distance to the springs, Adventure Park and downtown. It was a bit overpriced this time. Could use some updating. Rooms are always clean. Breakfast was okay. Friendly staff. The owner personally thanked me for coming back. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RERJup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hills, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Silver Spruce Motel is clean, reasonably priced and quiet. We have stayed there several times and always had a great experience. We have found the staff to be courteous, friendly and helpful. Many tourist experiences are within walking distance. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripdentoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our 3rd time staying here. We have 2 teenage kids, and can get 3 beds for less than 2 at the regular chains. It is such a great relief to have the kids with their own beds, and no air mattress, or arguments about who sleeps on which. We get our own room, and a door !!
We had a full size fridge as well. Hotel is a little different than the norm, but it's always quiet, and we've never had any issues. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madjbamj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This motel is just ok. It is getting very close to being "seedy". It's fairly clean but very worn. The front desk staff is just about rude but not quite. A sign on the front desk says book on line for best rates, I booked on line and paid $10 more for my room than the others in my group who called (since I booked on line there was "nothing they could do about it"). They advertise free WiFi but will tell you at the front desk it doesn't work well, I found it so slow that the connections timed out before connecting. They have coffee makers in the room but they do not supply coffee because it is "available free in the lobby". Are you starting to get the picture? Find a better place, this place has seen better days.

Room Tip: Best tip I can give is stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
185 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Found Blue Spruce looking for inexpensive, highlyu rated accommodation. It was as advertised. Perhaps a bit quirky, but spotlessly clean, very nice beds, convenient location and next to a GREAT Mexican restaurant, Tequilas.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Motel is ok. Bed ok. Functional room. Great value for sure. Breakfast minimal, but free. Waffles. Biscuits snd gravy. Danish. Cereal. Coffee ok. Owner Polish. Fun guy. $55 early June. Cannot beat that. Take some walks along the Colorado. Enjoy the visit.
Gas prices ok. Better in Grand junction.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Walt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#6 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
1.5 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Spruce Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Spruce Motel

Property: Silver Spruce Motel
Address: 162 W 6th St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-2912
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Spruce Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Silver Spruce Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Spruce Hotel Glenwood Springs
Silver Spruce Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing