We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“One of the cheapest places” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Spruce Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Spruce Motel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the cheapest places”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Travelling the California Zephyr via Amtrak and decided to stop in Glenwood Springs since it's about a halfway point from California to Chicago. They do free amtrak pickup/drop off which was very helpful for us. I also noticed that you can do late check out for $10/hr, I was worried about the train being late (it was) but since check out was 11am and the train was supposed to come in a little after 12pm (it came at 1:50pm) it worked out okay.

Good location, we were able to walk to pretty much everything worth seeing in the area which was convenient. We got the "budget" room which was about $60/night with the tax. It was a ground floor room, pretty small (I would think someone in a wheelchair would have difficulty moving around) with a mini fridge, pretty standard motel room, clean. Only issues were that the hair dryer didn't work and started smoking and on our way out we noticed a bunch of ants in the bed. The hot tub seemed nice although we didn't use it and there was also a free breakfast we didn't get a chance to check out (we like to sleep in and it ended around 9am) Overall for the price it was fine for our needs and minus the ants it felt clean and safe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    42
    29
    11
    21
See reviews for
49
53
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Silver Spruce hotel in Glenwood Springs was really comfortable and a good value for the price (approx $100/night) for Labor Day weekend. It is in a good location near the hot springs, walking distance to several restaurants, and close to downtown. Our room, the honeymoon suite, had a fireplace, a comfortable queen bed, and a jetted tub. It's a little worn in decor, but that added to the charm in a strange way. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I hate to write bad things, but this is why we are on this site. The place is darling. It looks like you are in Germany. The family must be European that owns it. I noticed many people hanging out with their doors open - sitting in old recliners out front - which made me wonder of they live there or maybe it is a different culture thing.

Now to the bad part: BED BUGS. We were comfortably asleep (confy bed) when my husband woke me up at 5a (I am a 9a sleeper). He felt something crawling and bit his neck. We turned on the lights and there were about 15 little bugs - strange all around the head area?

As tired as I was, I couldn't go back to sleep in that bed. We both showered - went to the lobby and the older lady felt bad - I asked for a 50 percent refund and she gave it to me. Maybe it was that one room? Now I am freaked out about bed bugs.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Good location. Friendly people working to help you while you staying. Good rate.
This is only place I stay everytime when I go to Glenwood Springs. Many diffrent size of rooms are available for your needs. It is really good location for every where you wants to go from Glenwood Springs. Such as Shopping, Spa, Swimming Pool, Restaurants, Golf, Fishing, Rafting...... you name it!
Easy to excess HWY 70, Not that faraway to Aspen.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suites are large, bright and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hong P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My family and I were tent-camping south of Aspen at 9500+ elevation and both my son and wife became very ill with altitude sickness at 4:30am. We abandoned camp and drove "down the mountain" past Aspen to Glenwood Springs. With no reservation at 5:30am in the morning ( and no sleep due to rain and sickness) we arrived to find 4 other "first choice" hotels fully booked. The helpful Silver Spruce desk clerk allowed us to check-in at 6am (and stay for the next 24+ hours, other hotels wanted us to check out at 11am that same morning or pay for two nights! ) for $100 bucks we got the HONEYMOON ( Bay window) room (which is an end unit facing the highway). The room was clean but dated ( on par with an older RED ROOF ) and it did NOT ( surprisingly ) smell like smoke. I was not being very picky at 6am and I could have slept on a log at that point, but the beds were comfy and the room was comfortable too with a quiet AC unit.
The continental breakfast was simply OK. Thank you SILVER SPRUCE for saving our trip and saving me from having to pay for two nights hotel accommodation!

Room Tip: the Bay Window room was huge ( two queen beds ) with a fridge and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlacerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendricks, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and I got into Glenwood late and didn't have a reservation. Our first choice was full so we stopped at the Best Western, they wanted $165.00 but came down to $139.00 for a queen. We drove across the street to the Silver Spruce, Gail at the front desk was very helpful and had a ground floor king for $79.00. The room was clean, comfortable bed,and the grounds were well taken care of. A couple of good resturants close by. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badriver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have stayed here 2 times in years past, but it seems like things have gone a little downhill. The location is fantastic, and I like that pets are still allowed here. It's quaint and I love the landscaping/flowers everywhere. Breakfast was pretty good, though fresh fruit would have been nice.No shampoo/lotion in the bathroom any longer, lightbulbs out, I'm not convinced the sheets were freshly changed....

Room Tip: Ask not to be put in the ice machine rooms or the laundry room rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#6 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Glenwood Springs
Ramada Glenwood Springs
#22 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
3.0 of 5 stars 853 reviews
1.5 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Spruce Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Spruce Motel

Property: Silver Spruce Motel
Address: 162 West Sixth Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Spruce Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Silver Spruce Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Spruce Hotel Glenwood Springs
Silver Spruce Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing