We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great overall value and check-in time way too late”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glenwood Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
River Ridge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Not a great overall value and check-in time way too late”
Reviewed July 9, 2010

My advice for people who want to swim in the absolutely wonderful pool at Glenwood is to swim there and stay elsewhere. The pool is huge, clean and awesome! The Lodge, which is conveniently located across the street from the pool, is an okay "Holiday Inn Express" - type hotel except with unusually cramped rooms. In my opinion it is a poor overall value for the following reasons: (1) Check in is way too late. Our primary reason for staying at the Lodge was so we could take advantage of the convenient across-the-street-from-the-pool location in terms of being able to change/shower in our room and not use the locker rooms. Unfortunately, when we tried to check in at 3:00 we were informed that they "begin check-in at 4:00 p.m." We ended up being able to check in before 4:00 but this is not guaranteed. If checking in at a reasonable time for an afternoon swim is important to you (as it was to us) then be aware that you may have to use the locker rooms like everyone else and still have to come back from your relaxing swim and deal with your luggage! Instead you could stay down the street for less than half the price (probably check in earlier than 4:00 too) and just pay the $16 or $18 admission to use the pool. Next time I think we will do exactly that! (2) Our room was incredibly small. We had requested a king size bed but it was going to be more expensive (the rate for two queen size beds was already about $250 including tax). We decided to settle for the two queens but upon check-in we discovered that they were crammed into the room in such a way that you could only get out of the beds on one side (the other side of the beds were almost directly up agains the walls of the room). This was a little bit of a problem for us since we also needed to squeeze in a small air mattress and sleeping bag for our three year old daughter who we are afraid may fall out of a regular bed. We ended up piling all our luggage on one bed and sleeping in the other and that way we had enough floor space for her air mattress. The room was otherwise clean and adequate; it just wasn't what we'd consider a good value for $250 per night. (3) The breakfast is perfectly fine and it is served across the street from the Lodge near the beautiful pool. It is along the lines of what you would expect at a budget hotel: grab a paper bowl and get in line for your cereal and banana, etc. (4) They have free wireless internet but when we tried to use it we discovered that it was so slow we gave up.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeckyandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    284
    94
    47
    31
See reviews for
449
372
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

After making a reservation by phone for a "deluxe family suite" that would comfortable sleep 6 people, I was terribly annoyed by the reality of the room size. Six people could fit in that room only if at least 2 of the people were very young and small. The price of the room was nearly 300 dollars, and I had to get another room to accommodate our group in the end. We spent almost 500 dollars there in one night. Totally not worth that kind of money.

The spa is a long way from the hotel, and can only be reached by walking around the enormous swimming pool fence. Breakfast was also served in an inconvenient location in a building that required a stroll around that pool again. All in all, I felt that I did not receive proper information. I was lead to believe that the spa was in the hotel, and that a deluxe room would accommodate my family's needs. I would never stay here again. Besides, the swimming pool is open to the public, and was insanely crowded. We didn't even go because of the crowds. I don't know why we paid such an outrageous price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holley60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge is located across from the pool. The location is convenient, but the price is not worth the stay. We stayed the first two nights at a Holiday Inn Express which offered just as good of breakfast and was only a few blocks down the road.

I thought that staying at the Lodge would help us avoid long lines at the Hot Springs Pool - it did not. The front desk of the Lobby issued pool and breakfast tickets (included in the price of the hotel) which required (for some reason) for us to stand in line with everyone else that was purchasing tickets.

The hotel was nice, but not worth the cost. Staying somewhere else and buying your own pool tickets will save you money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strudeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2010

I stayed at the Lodge for two nights. The room was good size, with good beds. Our room had a small balcony (only the rooms at the front of the hotel have them) which was really nice, even though Interstate 70 and the train tracks are just on the other side of the pool. The lodge is a two minute walk to the hot springs pool (unlimited pool access was included in the price) and a very short walk across the bridge over the Colorado River and the highway puts you in 'downtown' Glenwood where there are some good restaurants and shops in the historic district. The lobby of the hotel is western elegant, very nice. Our only complaint was the mediocre continental breakfast at the Grill, but you can buy a regular breakfast there for very little.
All and all, the stay was a good one.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freestylerColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This motel really needs improvement. Not what I expected based on pricing structure and its location and affiliation to the hot springs pool. Very economy-like feel. I would recommend keep driving, stay somewhere nicer and get a day pass for the pool if that's what your intentions are.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colorado_guy_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Average hotel with free and easy access to the hot spring pool, which almost made it worth the high price. Continental breakfast was minimal and not appetizing.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citizen147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

The location is great. This is not a $207.00 a night hotel -No refridgerater, no flat screen TV, No wireless internet in room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
880 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
687 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
321 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge

Property: Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge
Address: 415 E 6th Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#5 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#6 Business Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge completed a multi-million dollar renovation at the end of 2011, transforming 107 guestrooms into one of the top hotels in the Roaring Fork Valley. Enjoy the world's largest hot springs pool and Colorado's premier mineral springs resort. Guestroom rates include unlimited access to the hot springs pool and daily full hot breakfast. The lodge offers complimentary wi-fi internet access and secure gated parking. Our award winning Spa of the Rockies boasts a full service menu of facial and body treatments, massages, manicures and pedicures. The Poolside Grill, Athletic Club, and Sports Shop are additional amenities for our guests to enjoy. This history filled site was revered by the Ute Indians as a sacred place of healing. Today, guests from around the world visit Glenwood's favorite place for fun and healing! Come visit us at Colorado's premier mineral springs resort.This year, Glenwood Hot Springs celebrates 125 years! To mark this milestone occasion, the resort will be hosting a variety of events and activities throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenwood Hot Springs Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hot Springs Lodge Glenwood Springs Co
Hot Springs Lodge And Pool
Glenwood Springs Hot Springs
Hot Springs Hotel And Pool
Hot Springs Pool Glenwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing