We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay here again and again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Denver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Denver
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would stay here again and again”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Hotel Denver in Glenwood Springs is the updated version of a hotel in the old west, The rooms are quaint, but with all the modern touches. The pool package is a good one and the towels they let you borrow beat the ones included with the pool admission. We were at the Hotel for New Year's Eve and couldn't have been happier. The location is good and the staff is friendly, personable, and will help meet all your needs.

Room Tip: We stayed in a two bedroom suite that had two complete bathrooms. Room was quiet and nice to look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_King_80031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    207
    40
    20
    5
See reviews for
202
439
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our family stayed in a couple of rooms of the holidays. Both rooms were great with lots of character—exposed brick, nicely furnished. By far the best rooms we've stayed in in Glenwood Springs. But the rest of the stay really set them apart. They are linked to the Glenwood Springs Brewery so we could bring our drinks into the lobby, where it was much quieter and also beautifully decorated for Christmas. Also they make it easy to enjoy the hot springs, with discounted tickets and tote bags with a big fluffy towel and a bottle of water for each guest. The staff was top notch. When we left some stuff behind in the room, they found it, set it aside and arranged to have it shipped back to us. Basically I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay at Hotel Denver.The staff went above and beyond to accommodate our request for heating food in their microwave and allowing us to access the refrigerator as neither is found in the rooms. Our room was very spacious and had a pleasant view overlooking the train station and the hot springs hotel (the steam can be best seen at night as the air temperature drops) I'm not sure if it was the late night swim, or the comfortable beds but it was our best sleep in several nights. We enjoyed our morning coffee in the cozy library. The Roaring Forks transit took us to Aspen for the day, seniors are free, adults $7 each way. There is so much to do for couples, families and Hotel Denver delivered at every level. We are planning to return to this charming, historic hotel again.

Room Tip: Can't imagine why you would want a room facing inner court at back of hotel. Get a street facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pd32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Denver during the Christmas holidays, same lovely corner room 346 as on our first visit last summer. Not only is this room charming, but everything works well for comfort: easily adjusted heating/cooling, extra pillows & quilt, Kreug coffee maker, nice lighting to read by, writing table, free Internet. I love all the stained glass in the hallways. The staff is exceptionally accommodating and cheerful. Can't recommend Hotel Denver highly enough. I appreciate the renovation of historic buildings; this one is a gem. Also, it was great to be able to pop downstairs to the Brew Pub; the tofu-veggie paella was a surprise and really good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This was our second stay at Hotel Denver and as usual, we loved it! The rooms are spacious and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated in the center of town near great restaurants and shops. Everything was within walking distance. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poohbear428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed one night at the Hotel Denver as part of a two week trip touring out west last July of 2013. I chose it because they allowed us to stay only one night on the weekend (other hotel closer to the pool required 2 nights minimum on weekend) It was nice being able to park at the Hotel Denver (parking at the pool would have been tricky, it was a pretty full lot) and walk over the public foot bridge to the pool. Our kids are 14 and 11 and the walk was easy. You would definitely need a stroller for young ones.

We borrowed towels from the hotel just like the website said you could. What a convenience that was! It even included bags to carry them in. Felt almost guilty returning wet towels to the front desk but it was great. We also bought our discounted pool tickets at the front desk of the hotel.

We stayed in room #210 which was PERFECT for our family of four. It had its own hallway and was away from the other rooms. It was a 2 bedroom suite, with the 2 bedrooms being separated by double French doors. One bedroom had the only bathroom connected to it. The other bedroom was instantly upon opening the room door. Not a lot of privacy, but for our purposes of a one night stay it was great.

The quaint antique beds and dressers was a nice change from typical chain hotel rooms. Lots of breakable decorative plates were in the room so no rough housing here kids!

We ate dinner right next door at the Brewery restaurant. Once again, it was very convenient to be able to walk to dinner and arrive home quickly ready for bed. Don't remember what we ate, but we LOVED it! The kids got Frisbees to take home since it served as their plate. We tried a beer sampler of raspberry beer, etc. It was yummy and a special treat. Great place. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room #210 was perfect for our family of 4 with its own hallway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachermama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My family has stayed at all the Glenwood Springs hotels over the years. Our recent stay at the Hotel Denver was a pleasant surprise. Gone was the musty feel of years-gone-by, replaced by a sense of crisp revitalization with respect for its history. We stayed in The Cupola and couldn't have been more pleased with the wooden beams, high bed, and lovely "eagle's nest" from which to see the mountains on three sides. The Hotel is located across the river from the pool, yet the walk across the bridge is easy. Even the walk back in 20 degree weather is fine after a few hours in the pool! Free towels and totes for the pool, discounted pool tickets, apples to snack upon and a super friendly staff all added to the pleasure of the stay. The Hotel Denver is walking distance to some terrific food (Riviera Supper Club). Top that off with a AAA discount, and what's not to love!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShikokuGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
596 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
762 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
#9 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
401 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
290 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Denver

Property: Hotel Denver
Address: 402 7th St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#1 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Denver 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Denver offers premier Glenwood Springs lodging and natural Western hospitality. It was recently transformed into an elegant modern hotel while preserving its historic heritage and grand appearance in the center of downtown Glenwood Springs. At the Hotel Denver, we know it's the delight of unexpected touches that sets us apart. Little things make the difference between the ordinary and the extraordinary. The Hotel Denver is pet friendly and offers walking convenience to the Hot Springs Pool as well as dining, nightlife and shopping in Glenwood Springs, which is approximately half way between the Vail Valley and Aspen, Colorado. This makes the hotel a perfect place to base your Western Colorado visit and we encourage you to make plans to visit us soon. Part of the fun at Hotel Denver in Glenwood Springs is choosing from the variety of special hotel rooms and suites we have to offer. Some have special views. Others a private hot tub. Every room at our hotel has a style of its own. We look forward to pleasantly surprising you when you come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing