We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely and welcoming.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Denver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Denver
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Homely and welcoming.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

What a lovely hotel. It's a perfect example of how an old, historic building can be given a makeover without losing its charm. We stayed in room 204 which (we were told) is one of the nicest rooms in the hotel. The simple but elegant decoration and furniture gave it a very homely feel and because of the large windows on two sides of the room, it felt light and airy as well as providing a panoramic view of the outside world. The bed was very comfortable but I suspect some people might find it a bit small. The free wifi was easy to connect to and very fast. Coffee making facilities were also provided in the room.

The front desk were absolutely awesome and extremely helpful. It's possible to buy discounted tickets for the hot water springs pool over the other side of the river (within walking distance) and the hotel provides courtesy towels as well - a really nice touch.

The only niggle was that no breakfast was provided (disappointing considering the price we paid for the room). They do offer complimentary coffee and fresh fruit but it would be nice if they could get the brewery bar to open for light breakfast (cereals, bagels etc).

We really loved our room and the hotel and will definitely stay here again when visiting Glenwood Springs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    204
    40
    20
    5
See reviews for
200
432
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Booked a double queen room that faced out to the city. All the lady's at the front desk booking and during are stay where very helpful. Always a smile for us on matter the time of day or night.
We book with the hot springs pool package. The hotal provided us with nice big towels to use. It's was $2.50 a towel to rent one at the hot springs.
They also had discounted all day passes to the Caves.
We stayed at the end of October. The fall colors were out. The town was putting lights in the trees for the winter. That well look awesome.
We also had dinner at the Pub in the hotel. The food, drink and service were great.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celeste1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Located in what I'd call the entertainment district of town (lots of restaurants and bars within a block or so), this is great place to stay. Right across from the hot springs via a short walk across the pedestrian bridge, the location is superb.

We stayed in the cupola, which is on the top floor but has an upstairs kitchen/loft area. This was perfect for our family. I *think* there are only 1 of these in the hotel and I would highly recommend it if you want some extra room and a kitchen. It also has a private hot tub on the roof.

The brewery downstairs got business from us every night, if not food, then the beer. The beer was great.

Service everywhere was outstanding with a super friendly front desk staff with lots of ideas for local fun things to do.

Overall, a wonderful family place.

Room Tip: The cupola is well worth the extra money for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScipioAfricanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night to experience the hot springs and Glenwood Springs. The location was perfect for us as we were right next to some wonderful restaurants and just across the river to the hot springs. When we checked out in the morning they had a very secure place for our bags and then they gave us a hot springs bag with soap and shampoo with a great soft towel to use at the hot springs. The front desk was awesome.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Front desk greets you by name - and this is after four nights there. Nice memory. Keurig coffee machine in the room. Nice touch. Warm quilts and antiques galore. Brewpub downstairs is convenient and good service and food. Go with the no maid option and get $5 a day for credit in the brewpub.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with comfortable chairs if you're going to spend any time in the room. I travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hotel Denver will please you in every way. The staff is unfailingly helpful and cheerful. The rooms are quaint, modern, and clean. You will not be disappointed. Bike storage is available and easy to access. There is plenty of sitting room in the lobby that feels private and cozy. Discounts at the bar and the hot springs make this affordable. Feels luxurious at the right price. The only thing that could be added is a muffin or something other than granola bars in the morning. We loved that you can get coffee starting at 5:30 a.m.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol_gerard60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Denver last week on a road trip around the Rockies, it was by far our favorite stop, we even added an extra day. We stayed in one of their "Colorado" rooms, the views were spectacular, furnishings a mix of old and new, very comfortable bed and bath. The Pullman restaurant next door was fantastic, as well as the Brewpub on site was great for a casual evening. Hot Spring pools a 5 minute walk away, we will stay there again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
#9 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
#11 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Denver

Property: Hotel Denver
Address: 402 7th St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Denver 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Denver offers premier Glenwood Springs lodging and natural Western hospitality. It was recently transformed into an elegant modern hotel while preserving its historic heritage and grand appearance in the center of downtown Glenwood Springs. At the Hotel Denver, we know it's the delight of unexpected touches that sets us apart. Little things make the difference between the ordinary and the extraordinary. The Hotel Denver is pet friendly and offers walking convenience to the Hot Springs Pool as well as dining, nightlife and shopping in Glenwood Springs, which is approximately half way between the Vail Valley and Aspen, Colorado. This makes the hotel a perfect place to base your Western Colorado visit and we encourage you to make plans to visit us soon. Part of the fun at Hotel Denver in Glenwood Springs is choosing from the variety of special hotel rooms and suites we have to offer. Some have special views. Others a private hot tub. Every room at our hotel has a style of its own. We look forward to pleasantly surprising you when you come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing