We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doggie Friendly”
Review of Hotel Denver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Denver
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Doggie Friendly”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We love Glenwood Springs and we love the Hot Springs Hotel, but we took our dog on the last trip. We stayed at the Hotel Denver and had a fabulous time! The rooms are beautifully decorated with older antiques, but the real beauty is in the rooms layouts and views out the windows. Ask for a room to look over the river and we like the top floors. The staff is very friendly and your dog is welcomed in the lobby where you can order a drink or snack. You can leave your dog in the room (no barking) and walk to a close rest. for a bite or to the pool.

Room Tip: LIked the higher floors and looking out to the West to be able to see the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    218
    41
    20
    5
See reviews for
212
466
34
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Very conveniently located by the train station if you are arriving by Amtrak. My husband, the train geek, requested a room overlooking the station and they reserved one for us on third floor. It was a small single queen, nicely appointed if you did not look up to the white acoustic tile that had been installed to lower the historically high ceiling; it was beat up in places, the usual metal bracing, and totally out of character with the historic sense of place widely advertised as a reason to stay - and pay the extra $$. The lobby has a very nice pressed tin ceiling, offering an enticing first impression that you are in the right place if you are looking for genuine historic.

I will say that it was clean, quiet, comfortable. The location was ideal - a stone's throw from the hot springs and the Colorado River, at the north edge of downtown with some pretty good restaurants and near good hiking trailheads taking off up the mountains bordering the east and west sides of town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howlingbluewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spent several days at the hotel for work. It's a beautiful property and love the rooms facing the river. Unfortunately, there were some loud guests next door and the walls are a little thinner than the typical chain. Otherwise, the hotel is clean, comfortable, and within walking distance to the pool. Staff is always friendly and the brewery next door is convenient for meals.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanainDenver W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for several days in June and it was a great location near the river, downtown and several great restaurants. The room was a great value and very spacious. This is an old hotel so expect the eccentricities of not quite level floors and perhaps odd room layouts. For the location and value, it's tough to beat plus you're here in Glenwood Springs to explore and be outside. The staff at the front desk were extremely nice whenever we had questions or needed help. Front desk also offered passes to the hot springs and as we'll as towels I'd needed. Downstairs pub had great food and beer and it can get pretty busy in the evenings. Plenty of good restaurants within a few blocks too.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Zandago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Everything about our experience at the Hotel Denver was great. The queen room (#346) was quite and very pretty. Temperature control was excellent, easy to adjust, and effective (always a high priority for me). The bedding was also lovely, easy to have just the right amount of covers. I liked the traditional quilt. The staff at the front desk was consistently friendly and accommodating, giving us directions to the historic cemetery and printing out a map for us. All around a very nice stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My friend and I spent two nights at this hotel and can't say enough good things about the experience from easy booking online, a confirmation by email a week before of our reservation, pleasant front desk personnel upon arrival after a long day of travelling, close parking lot, the excellent brew pub next door, coffee, apples and granola bars in the lobby each morning, and an amazing room. It sits across from a unique Amtrack station. Our room had a beautiful view of the mountains. We recommend renting a bike at Canyon Bike Rentals where they drive you up to the trailhead and you then ride back down the canyon to town. It's a very pleasant easy16 mile ride for any age. Also visited Woody Creek Tavern. Cool!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my family for two nights. I rarely book hotels over the phone but we had to in this case.

Everything was as nice as the front desk clerk described. They also have free special towels for the hot springs and discounted tickets which is very thoughtful. Brew Pub in the hotel is also nicely kept and operated.

We would recommend this to friends because that's how we discovered it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RealReviews45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
630 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
323 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
354 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
#8 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Denver

Property: Hotel Denver
Address: 402 7th St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#1 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Denver 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Denver offers premier Glenwood Springs lodging and natural Western hospitality. It was recently transformed into an elegant modern hotel while preserving its historic heritage and grand appearance in the center of downtown Glenwood Springs. At the Hotel Denver, we know it's the delight of unexpected touches that sets us apart. Little things make the difference between the ordinary and the extraordinary. The Hotel Denver is pet friendly and offers walking convenience to the Hot Springs Pool as well as dining, nightlife and shopping in Glenwood Springs, which is approximately half way between the Vail Valley and Aspen, Colorado. This makes the hotel a perfect place to base your Western Colorado visit and we encourage you to make plans to visit us soon. Part of the fun at Hotel Denver in Glenwood Springs is choosing from the variety of special hotel rooms and suites we have to offer. Some have special views. Others a private hot tub. Every room at our hotel has a style of its own. We look forward to pleasantly surprising you when you come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing