We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Glenwood Springs”
Review of Hotel Denver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Denver
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay in Glenwood Springs”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We had a great stay at the Hotel Denver. It was within walking distance of the hot springs and great restaurants. The room, although small, was clean and nicely appointed with antiques, a comfortable bed, and great views. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelle492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    212
    40
    20
    5
See reviews for
206
452
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Denver. The room was clean and comfortable. Loved the wood floors and quilted blankets. ( We even purchased one for our home.) The staff was very friendly and helpful. The price was right. Definitely will stay here again the next time we go hiking in the Glenn Wood Springs area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFool33330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2011

This place promised to be nice, with charming website photos and a quaint lobby. However, our room was intolerable. Ghere was a fresh blood stain on the "clean" that we were able to wipe off. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have slept in, ever. The bathroom is circa 1980, with black grout throughout. The furniture looks like garage sale fodder and was stained and dirty. My husband wiped the whole place down with Clorox wipes. You can even enjoy steel doors and and a room KEY. When was the last time you got a room key? Maybe this is because they let us bring our dog? Frankly, i wanted to sleep in my dog's kennel with him instead.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olpins, General Manager at Hotel Denver, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Dear Merrysmom,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Denver. We take your comments very seriously and strive to correct any problems our guests find as quickly as possible.


Granted, Hotel Denver is not your typical hotel, because we are unique, historic hotel. I apologize for not meeting your expectations and that you had an unpleasant experience. We have discussed the situation with our housekeeping supervisor.


All of our guest room doors are accessed with an actual room key. Not just our pet friendly rooms. The vast majority of our guests enjoy the distinctiveness of actually having an actual key to their room rather than a key card.

Very Sincerely,
Scott D. Olpin – General Manager – Hotel Denver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Rustic charm but not the usual grungy that goes with it. The rooms are modern & very clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete8230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Co
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

First of all I have to apologize if this review is incoherent. It is difficult to write clearly with no sleep. And sleep is impossible in rooms 310 & 311 which are near the elevators, the ice machine and from the constant compressor sounds either next to the building's main air conditioner or possibly a major airport. My Harley at full throttle might be a fair comparison. It is now 3am and desperately in need of a few hours sleep I ask for another room. As my family is already asleep the night manager, Steph, tells me I will either have to wake them up and move them or pay for another room. If I wanted this kind of "gun to the head / hand in your pocket" service I'd have be wandering Queens with $100 bills in my hand at this time of night. Recommend the train station across the street; it's much quieter.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank derkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olpins, General Manager at Hotel Denver, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Dear Derkidd,
Please accept our sincere apology for the uncomfortable night you spent with us at Hotel Denver. I will bring the noise issues to the attention of our maintenance supervisor immediately to see if there is a way to quell the noise you described.

I would also like to apologize on behalf of our night manager. She could have handled the situation more diplomatically and sensitively.

Obviously we did not fulfill your expectation and for that I am deeply sorry. We take your comments very seriously and will strive to correct the issues you have brought up.

Kindest Regards,
Scott D. Olpin – General Manager – Hotel Denver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This hotel has become our new favorite! It is beautiful and accomodating. We have enjoyed the staff and the setting. We absolutely adore the decor and the view. We love the quilts for purchase and are taking four home with us for gifts. We will be back and will encourage anyone listening to come enjoy the HOTEL DENVER that is within walking distance of the hot springs plus an excellent coffee shop named Sacred Grounds and a heavenly ice cream shop called Kalidescope (check that spelling lol). Enjoy your visit at the Hotel Denver.

Room Tip: we stay in a cozy suite #330 that had one old brick wall which added additional charm; then because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AppleOfHisEye8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I recently got married and had my reception at the Hotel Denver, the staff was very accommodating and nice as well. The rooms were very clean, cute. I can not express how easy everything and everyone was to deal with. If some one was to ask me if I would ever recommend Hotel Denver, I would say Heck yes with out any hestitation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lugracielu9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
612 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
806 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
318 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
#10 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Denver

Property: Hotel Denver
Address: 402 7th St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Denver 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Denver offers premier Glenwood Springs lodging and natural Western hospitality. It was recently transformed into an elegant modern hotel while preserving its historic heritage and grand appearance in the center of downtown Glenwood Springs. At the Hotel Denver, we know it's the delight of unexpected touches that sets us apart. Little things make the difference between the ordinary and the extraordinary. The Hotel Denver is pet friendly and offers walking convenience to the Hot Springs Pool as well as dining, nightlife and shopping in Glenwood Springs, which is approximately half way between the Vail Valley and Aspen, Colorado. This makes the hotel a perfect place to base your Western Colorado visit and we encourage you to make plans to visit us soon. Part of the fun at Hotel Denver in Glenwood Springs is choosing from the variety of special hotel rooms and suites we have to offer. Some have special views. Others a private hot tub. Every room at our hotel has a style of its own. We look forward to pleasantly surprising you when you come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing