We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic!”
Review of Hanging Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hanging Lake Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!”
Reviewed June 21, 2009

This hotel certainly lived up to its 'squeaky clean ' image. The rooms were immaculate. The owners and staff were most helpful. They even had homemade cookies and muffins in reception. This hotel is in a great position for the highway and approx one mile from the town centre. Glenwood Springs is a fantastic place to stay with lots to see and do, pity we only booked for two nights. We did the Hanging Lake hike about 7 miles down the highway and it took our breath away. This place is definitely worth a visit and we hope to return to this hotel next time we're over in Colorado/

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilyPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    96
    26
    8
    12
See reviews for
110
213
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

I booked this room based on good reviews on your site, especially those that mentioned how clean it was. We loved our night there. It reminded me of motels the way they were when I was younger. We could park in front of the room and sit out on the veranda looking at the lovely view. The room was exceptionally clean, the cleanest we have ever stayed in. The owner could not recommend any restaurant along the same street and directed us to one uptown. This was difficult to find and we braved heavy traffic. The only improvement I would want is to have good food nearby.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inkknife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

We booked this hotel in advance for our road trip in October 2007 to experience the beautiful peak fall foliage in Colorado area. We usually don't book a hotel that is family-owned because we always have great experience with the cheaper franchise hotels (like Best Western, Super 8). However, we wanted this trip to be memorable so we decided to book a room at Americas Best Value Inn - although a little more expensive but we also expected better service from the owner. Turned out to be the worst nightmare!! We found out that it would be snowing in Glenwood Springs the day and night we would arrive, which would ruin our whole plan there so we decided to stay one night longer in the Moab, Utah area, where it would not be snowing. So, we called Americas Best Value Inn 24 hours in advance, thinking that the cancellation policy would be the same as franchise hotels. The owner told us we called too late because their policy then was 48 hours. We then explained the situation, hoping that she would understand that the weather would ruin our trip. We even offered to come back and stay some other time because we would really love to stay at the hotel, but she insisted to charge us - and she did charge us the full price - $109.59 - what a waste!! She was so inconsiderate and quite rude. If this had been a franchise hotel, we would have been fine. So, we'd recommend that you stick with franchise hotels if you want your trip to go smoothly.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank SPerreault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveBonaire, co-owner at Hanging Lake Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2008
This reviewer booked their reservation on the Internet where the cancellation policy is written and MUST be checked as read to continue booking the reservation. During our High Season we require 48 hours notice as most guests plan ahead and we are unlikely to re-sell a late cancellation. Our low season requires 24 hours. This reservation was for a Saturday night and we were unable to re-sell the room. Had we done so, we would not have charged for the late cancel, unlike most franchised lodging properties.

When a reservation is made, the room is taken out of inventory so that the lodging property is not over-booked. No one else may book that room. A Guaranteed Reservation means that the lodging property guarantees a room for the guest and the guest guarantees payment.

We are sorry that this reviewer was displeased with the cancellation policy that they agreed to at booking. But this in no way reflects the quality of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2008

We have stayed at this place before and all I can say is that I have never stayed a place that was any cleaner. A brand new motel or my own home could not have been any cleaner. It reinforced a stay we had last year and we will stay there in the future. We walked to the Hotel Colorado and into the town of Glenwood Springs, it was all very good. regards, Steve

  • Liked — Clean Room
  • Disliked — Only one pack of coffee for the coffee machine.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockyandbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2008

The pass was closed and we could not get to Glenwood Springs so called to cancel the reservation the morning of, they refused. The manager would not return our call and they billed us anyway. They have a 24 hr cancellation policy. I won't book with this chain again because weather happens and they still take your money.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank tomandjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveBonaire, owner at Hanging Lake Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2008
To my knowledge, we have never charged a guest (during our 14 years of ownership) when they are unable to get to us because of road closures. We typically check the updated road reports provided by the Colorado Dept. of Transportation and are well informed of road conditions. We do not enforce our 24 hour cancellation policy when the road is closed.
We would be happy to revisit this scenario with this guest should they elect to contact us direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2007

We were concerned when we drove up because it's a little outside of town in a section with lower priced hotels. You can tell from the outside that it's a well loved property. We were over come with how nice the owners were and how nice they kept the hotel. It's not a Ritz but it is really clean (they advertise this on their sign) and very comfortable. If you don't mind being 5 minutes out side of town this is a great place to stay run by wonderful people.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tpetzold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2007

Best Place and Part of Glenwood Springs. Swimming Pool is AUsome and the Breakfast is above most hotel/motel Breakfasts.

Walk 10 yards and your at the Tram for Glenwood Caverns.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AUCRZR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
800 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
610 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
676 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
337 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanging Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Lake Inn

Property: Hanging Lake Inn
Address: 51871 Highway 6 and 24, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanging Lake Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hanging Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing