We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great, friendly, clean, place to stay in Glenwood Springs, CO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanging Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanging Lake Inn
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Cabanas Potosi
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great, friendly, clean, place to stay in Glenwood Springs, CO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The American Hanging Lake Inn in Glenwwod Springs is a great place to stay. Th family that owns the hotel are very friendly and make you feel like a special welcome guest. The motel rooms are extremely clean and the beds are very comfortable. All the rooms face the Red Mountains and the location, a lttle out of the center of town, is very quite but close to all the attractions like the amusement park at the top of a nearby mountain and the Glenwood Hot Springs, which are open from 7 AM until 10 PM, where the water is up to 104 degrees. What a great place to relax or enjoy the surrounding area. Also, close to Vail. Plus the Rocky Mountain drive from Denver to get there takes you through some very beautiful scenery.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the Red Mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wenny754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    90
    23
    7
    11
See reviews for
106
196
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mills
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were traveling through Glenwood Springs on our way to Utah. My 84 year-old mother was also with us. We just happen to pick this motel to stay in and were very, very pleased with our choice. Very clean and comfortable rooms and bed. Mike was so friendly when we checked in and again in the morning when we discovered, after being on the road for l l/2 hours, that mom left her coat in the closet. I called back to the motel and Mike offered to mail it to us at no charge. How gracious is that?!!!
He's as kind as a family member. This motel is privately owned and because of that, they genuinely care about the sevice and the condition of their motel. I would recommend this motel to even the fussiest traveler. It was a wonderful experience and you can bet that we will be staying there the next time we travel through Colorado. Mike....you are the BEST !!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buttonsLakeMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Lake, CO
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Mike and Monica run a great place to stay! They are so hospitable and make you feel at home. We stayed in a room with a king bed. The room was immaculate and decorated nicely. It had everything you needed---a micro wave, refrigerator, coffee maker, large TV and a good location. It isn't in walking distance of the hot springs pool or the downtown area but is nice to be away from all the traffic and noise. We also liked how the bathroom had a tub shower, toilet and vanity with a sink. Then there was another vanity with another sink out in the room. We live in the mountains and love to go to Glenwood Springs. It's the only place to stay there, and we've tried most of them! Give it a try. You will be pleased!

Room Tip: No room is a bad one here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenGrandLake_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I can't speak for the accommodations. The inn keeper never answered the door even though the vacancy light was on and the billboard stated 24 hours. Don't expect to get a room here after 11 PM. The motel is located and advertised on the interstate, and we arrived at 1:30 AM.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank LinsChiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is by far the cleanest motel I have ever stayed in . Been on the road for 36 years and a comfortable bed is the most important thing for me. The beds are exceptional and linens very
clean. If your in Glenwood Springs, remember look into this motel the rooms Rival any 5 star
I have stayed in. Owners very helpful . I will be back this is my third time to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Encapsulate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheat Ridge, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

A friend and I made reservations for just one night on October 2, 2012. She had recommended the motel for its cleanliness and price. In that one night, we were very satisfied with the motel, sleeping soundly on the high and unusually comfortable beds. However, what stands out the most for me was the memory of the warm welcome and helpfulness of the proprietors. For instance, my friend had some difficulty with the ignition in her vehicle, and they were quick to help us get it started. Moreover, I absentmindedly left two tops I had just purchased in the closet when I left. And when I called, they not only located them, but offered to mail them free. I thought that kind of service was over the top.

Room Tip: Stay on the bottom so you won't have to climb the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We made reservations in August of 2012 for one night, September 21, 2012. Using our AARP card for a dicount. When we arrived we received a room on the second floor, with no elevator.
Lifting a 25 lb. suitcase was NOT an easy chore up a long flite of steps. You would think that a manager would select a room on the first floor with someone who is using a AARP card. My husband and I are in our late sixties, and are NOT as adgil as we were.

The rooms were exceptionally clean, and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#6 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanging Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Lake Inn

Property: Hanging Lake Inn
Address: 51871 Highway 6, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-2848
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanging Lake Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hanging Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing