We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, friendly, clean, place to stay in Glenwood Springs, CO”
Review of Hanging Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanging Lake Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The American Hanging Lake Inn in Glenwwod Springs is a great place to stay. Th family that owns the hotel are very friendly and make you feel like a special welcome guest. The motel rooms are extremely clean and the beds are very comfortable. All the rooms face the Red Mountains and the location, a lttle out of the center of town, is very quite but close to all the attractions like the amusement park at the top of a nearby mountain and the Glenwood Hot Springs, which are open from 7 AM until 10 PM, where the water is up to 104 degrees. What a great place to relax or enjoy the surrounding area. Also, close to Vail. Plus the Rocky Mountain drive from Denver to get there takes you through some very beautiful scenery.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the Red Mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mireya Bernal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 458 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were traveling through Glenwood Springs on our way to Utah. My 84 year-old mother was also with us. We just happen to pick this motel to stay in and were very, very pleased with our choice. Very clean and comfortable rooms and bed. Mike was so friendly when we checked in and again in the morning when we discovered, after being on the road for l l/2 hours, that mom left her coat in the closet. I called back to the motel and Mike offered to mail it to us at no charge. How gracious is that?!!!
He's as kind as a family member. This motel is privately owned and because of that, they genuinely care about the sevice and the condition of their motel. I would recommend this motel to even the fussiest traveler. It was a wonderful experience and you can bet that we will be staying there the next time we travel through Colorado. Mike....you are the BEST !!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buttonsLakeMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I can't speak for the accommodations. The inn keeper never answered the door even though the vacancy light was on and the billboard stated 24 hours. Don't expect to get a room here after 11 PM. The motel is located and advertised on the interstate, and we arrived at 1:30 AM.

Stayed: October 2012
7  Thank LinsChiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is by far the cleanest motel I have ever stayed in . Been on the road for 36 years and a comfortable bed is the most important thing for me. The beds are exceptional and linens very
clean. If your in Glenwood Springs, remember look into this motel the rooms Rival any 5 star
I have stayed in. Owners very helpful . I will be back this is my third time to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Encapsulate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

A friend and I made reservations for just one night on October 2, 2012. She had recommended the motel for its cleanliness and price. In that one night, we were very satisfied with the motel, sleeping soundly on the high and unusually comfortable beds. However, what stands out the most for me was the memory of the warm welcome and helpfulness of the proprietors. For instance, my friend had some difficulty with the ignition in her vehicle, and they were quick to help us get it started. Moreover, I absentmindedly left two tops I had just purchased in the closet when I left. And when I called, they not only located them, but offered to mail them free. I thought that kind of service was over the top.

Room Tip: Stay on the bottom so you won't have to climb the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We made reservations in August of 2012 for one night, September 21, 2012. Using our AARP card for a dicount. When we arrived we received a room on the second floor, with no elevator.
Lifting a 25 lb. suitcase was NOT an easy chore up a long flite of steps. You would think that a manager would select a room on the first floor with someone who is using a AARP card. My husband and I are in our late sixties, and are NOT as adgil as we were.

The rooms were exceptionally clean, and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

What a great room! Immaculately clean with linens of a quality you'd expect to find in a 5-star resort. For the money, you won't find a better place to stay in Glenwood Springs. Breakfast, however, is bare-bones minimal, and the breakfast room is slightly bigger than a good-sized closet. Still, with the money you're saving on a quality room, you can afford to eat out. I'd definitely go for it.

Room Tip: Room 219 probably offers the most privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronc41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
654 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
914 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
948 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites On The River
Quality Inn & Suites On The Rive...
#12 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
362 reviews
0.9 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanging Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Lake Inn

Address: 51871 Highway 6 and 24, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-2848
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: $67 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanging Lake Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hanging Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing