We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family-Run Hotel!”
Review of Caravan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caravan Inn
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have stayed at Caravan Inn twice and they are great. It's all the basics and really affordable. The owners are really friendly (even remembered us when we returned the following summer). I always prefer to spend money at an independent (especially family-run) company than a big chain. Caravan is next to a park, has a pizza parlor nearby, and is walking distance to a few restaurants and an ice cream shop. We plan to continue staying there.

Spend your money at a small business!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHille, General Manager at Caravan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you so much for supporting our family run business. We can't wait for you to come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 219 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

It is rare to find an independently run hotel these days that is worth much. Caravan Inn was great. We were traveling with our kids thru Colorado and stayed at this hotel and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is older, but everything was clean and the rooms are good sized and comfortable. The continental breakfast was great, and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. There is a large city park with a nice playground just 1 block north of the hotel, which was perfect for us and our little ones. All rooms appear to have a view of the mountains, so relaxing!

Room Tip: As near as we could tell, all rooms seem to have a view of the mountains. The hotel has provided be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walshme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Not the Ritz but clean and comfortable, with excellent service by friendly staff. Also right next to a very good Thai restaurant and pizza bar, and just down the road from the 19th Street Diner, which is also very friendly and relaxing. We liked it so much we decided to stay another night and explore the town by foot. A long walk into the CBD but easy to get to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveM2880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHille, General Manager at Caravan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for you comments and thank you for staying another night. We always enjoy seeing familar faces. I am also excited that you enjoyed both the Chang Thai restaurant and Uncle Pizza located next to the property as they provide very fresh and delicious food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The rooms are a little dated, but the beds are comfy and rooms are clean. Mircowave and fridge in the room which was nice. The outdoor pool and hot tub are nice and are a nice temperature. Breakfast in the morning was pretty good. They have a descent variety; eggs, sausage, bagels, cereal, muffins, breakfast bars, oatmeal, rolls, coffee, tea & juice. Staff is very pleasant. We were there for 3 days and would definitely stay there again. The only complaint I would have is that the air conditioner didn't cool real well so the room was a little hot during the night.

Room Tip: No elevator; all room access is outdoor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MN_Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHille, General Manager at Caravan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

I am so happy that you were able to enjoy your stay and relax at our property for 3 nights. Your comments are very appreciated. I am sorry to have heard about the air conditioner not cooling efficiently. Please don't hesitate to call the front desk whenever you have any issues during your next visit as we want to make sure your entire stay is always enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We loved our stay at Caravan Inn, the staff was amazing, helpful; the room was neat, clean and very comfortable. It was also a great surprise that a continental breakfast was included in the price.
The accomodation is not the closest to the city center by walk, but still a small distance (3 minutes by car).
All in all the value we got was much greater than the price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W0rld_Traveler1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHille, General Manager at Caravan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very happy to hear that our staff provided you with excellent service and that your accommodations were great. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We bought a Facebook package, so got 2 nights and a free visit to the hot springs about 1 mile away. Caravan's structure is dated, is dated, but very clean, with extra-friendly and helpful staff who were very knowledgeable about local places and able to give directions every time we asked. The breakfast was simple, but well-presented. No complaints. Would definitely stay here again, and would recommend the place to family and friends who want inexpensive, yet decent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelerfriend007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHille, General Manager at Caravan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that my staff was helpful and knowledgeable. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Clean and sufficient for our 4 day get-a-ways. Location is futher away from the Hot Springs, but we have family in Glnwd, so driving around town is part of our stay. The price is better on the wallet compared to other chain hotels we have stayed at, the pool and hot tub are always operational. The complimentary breakfast has a nice variety and is filling ! Remember to say "thanks" to Barbara-front office Manager, she works hard to make your stay a welcome place! We have stayed there three times this year!

Room Tip: We enjoy the 2nd story, as we like to sit on the park benches provided on the balcony outside our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
333 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
642 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
893 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
357 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravan Inn

Address: 1826 Grand Ave, Hwy 82, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-4112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: $85 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caravan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caravan Inn is nestled in the beautiful Colorado Rockies providing you with an amazing scenery the moment you step outside of your room. Conveniently located in Glenwood Springs just 1 mile from the world's largest hot springs pool, the natural vapor caves at the Yampah Spa, and the Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park. All accommodations come with a deluxe continental breakfast, in room refrigerators, and complimentary wireless internet access. Cool off in our outdoor pool(seasonal) or relax in the outdoor hot tub after you've experienced some of the many activities offered in Glenwood Springs. When making reservations inquire about our various activity packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Caravan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing