We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay, can't wait to return!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caravan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caravan Inn
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I and two sons (12 & 15) stayed at Caravan Inn for 4 nights at the end of July 2012. We had such a wonderful time that we booked in for 2 more nights on the way home in August. The motel is older, however, it is extremely clean, the rooms are large with a sink outside the bathroom as well as a fridge, microwave, older TV (but who is there to watch TV anyway), gorgeous views of the moutains and close to town. We also had a little dog who loved the walks in the nearby park. We wish we had brought a basketball for our older son as the park had a great basketball court. The motel has an 8 foot pool, which the boys loved to dive into, a hot tub, and breakfast is served each morning in a separate room off the lobby. Thank you to Barbara, the manager, and Steve and Maryanne who were always welcoming on the desk, and extremely accommodating to our requests. We drove all the way from Toronto, Canada to this wonderful little spot on our way to the Grand Canyon, had a great stay and can't wait to return. Don't hesitate to book this spot. Make sure you go to the Hot Springs pool, the diving board and waterslides are a blast! Don't miss Hanging Lake and Maroon Bells near Aspen. Thanks again! The Cox family

Room Tip: Bottom floor near the pool is convenient for children who love to go swimming, also away from the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scenerynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    59
    29
    8
    10
See reviews for
73
48
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is the 2nd time we've stayed here. This is a really wonderful place with the BEST customer service in Glenwood Springs! The people here are fantastic and make your stay so enjoyable! This is the only place I'll stay when we visit!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rose6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Decided to stay the night on our way back from Nevada. The hotel we normally stay at was full as was most places in Glenwood. The room was pricy but decided to stay. The guy at the desk was very friendly. What made me uneasy and not wanting to stay were the drunk men in the parking lot, I definitely would not stay here if I were a single woman. Also it was obvious there are a lot of extended stay people who live here...like the person next to us that stood outside our door and smoked and talked on his phone most of the night. I do think they should not have travelers stay so close to their monthly residents, just bad business.

On a positive note, the room was clean, and provided us a decent nights rest.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgalleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanzey, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This place is a train wreck !
After 13 hours in the car we were anxious to get to the Inn and settle down for a quiet night.
First the desk clerk argued about needing my credit card even though we had pre-paid through Expedia. I made the mistake of giving in and now I have to fight the room being charged AGAIN to my account.
The room is large, the bed was comfortable and the TV worked. From there it goes downhill fast. The room was dated, the table broken so you couldn't use it, the AC loud and blew behind the curtains.
The bathroom, ugg, a blind man could repair walls better, the shower curtain was too short so it flooded the bathroom. The door warped and the veneer peeling (due to the shower water hitting it....short curtain !) Curtain rod was placed on top of the door molding which the blind man installed. The soap was a bar of wax and the shampoo was a sample envelope I've seen at CVS, not enough for 2 people IF you could get it open with wet hands.
WIFI.....what a joke ! If you could sign on it would last for a couple of minutes and then disconnect. The evening clerk said she knew there was a problem and hung up ! Sorry to bother you ! If you advertise WIFI make sure it works. We gave up on it.
Why did you put travelers on the 2nd floor with the weekly/monthly people ! We didn't go outside to mingle with the drunk patrons that left their empties and bottle tops all over the balcony.
Breakfast, another horrid idea. We didn't eat any of it, rubber eggs, old pancakes. I suppose we could have had the Fruit Loops. Coffee was ok but not with plastic creamer. The diner down the street was great !
Save yourself, DON'T stay here. I'm sure it used to be a good place before the 1980s hit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimY03446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Colorado
Level Contributor
198 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

The rooms were very big and spacious, the bathroom area was spacious as well, plenty of room to put our luggage somewhere where we weren't having to trip over it. The beds were comfortable and clean and although the rooms were a little dated, the overall property was very nice. The continental breakfast was ok, nothing spectacular, but good. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovesilverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

One of those hotels that people rent for the week and sit out front getting drunk an who knows what else. Seems to be the community dive. The room wasn't that bad but I paid $127 for a really crappy room. It was clean enough I guess but the tub spout was about 3 inches from the wall and that gap freaked me out. Again the room just wasn't worth that price. Of u get a better deal it's not that bad. Just know what your paying for. If yiu end up taying in glenwood, chrck out the Grand downtown! Awesome lunch

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodiYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

The wifi didn't work. Their breakfast doesn't open until 7. Their office didn't even open until 7. If you are a traveler getting up early to travel don't stay here. It is also off the freeway. Not worth the drive

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Btkj45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravan Inn

Property: Caravan Inn
Address: 1826 Grand Avenue, Hwy 82, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caravan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caravan Inn is nestled in the beautiful Colorado Rockies providing you with an amazing scenery the moment you step outside of your room. Conveniently located in Glenwood Springs just 1 mile from the world's largest hot springs pool, the natural vapor caves at the Yampah Spa, and the Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park. All accommodations come with a deluxe continental breakfast, in room refrigerators, and complimentary wireless internet access. Cool off in our outdoor pool(seasonal) or relax in the outdoor hot tub after you've experienced some of the many activities offered in Glenwood Springs. When making reservations inquire about our various activity packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Caravan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing