We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Experience - Bait and Switch to the Max”
Review of Caravan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caravan Inn
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst Experience - Bait and Switch to the Max”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Went directly through Caravan Inn's website to book 3 rooms for my family and two other couples for 2 nights. Received the confirmations and took the nearly 4 hour trip, only to arrive and be told the rates for our reservations/confirmations would not be honored. The Manager admitted that the problem was theirs and that their system had had some kind of glitch but that we would have to pay double what we had confirmed for the 3 rooms. Had the printouts of our confirmations with the rate for the entire 2 night stay and yet the Manager maintained that even though our paperwork stated one thing (from their site) that we would be charged double.
Can't imagine how a hotel can remain in business with such terrible customer service. I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you want to pay double when you arrive. Hundreds of hotel stays and this is a clear winner of worst experience ever. Shame on you Caravan Inn!!

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Randy_and_Teresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHille, General Manager at Caravan Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience. I am sincerely sorry that you felt tricked. It is not our intention to ever deceive our customer. Our records indicate that your reservation was made on the internet by a 3rd party website but clearly you are certain that it was made on our website. My front desk agent failed to retrieve your resevation documents so I have not been able to properly resolve this discrepancy. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you to get a better understanding in hopes to prevent future discrecpancies but most of all I would like to express my sincerest apologies personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    62
    30
    9
    10
See reviews for
80
51
17
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Really not a bad place. Its an older motel, that could use up dating, my room was nice, huge bathroom and vanity. Like mentioned above probably best suited for people working in the area. Pets welcome, but you have to walk down the block for a potty spot.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandnas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I had a nice stay at The Caravan Inn.They had a good breakfast.The motel is a little old.Rooms could use a makeover.The front desk was very helpful, and efficient.
Its a little far from town, and the hot springs.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The pricing is very decent! My boyfriend and I went up for a weekend to the hot pools and we are on a very tight budget, the hotel was a typical hotel room (bed, tv, phone, bathroom, etc.) We were able to get a good night sleep with no distractions, the room was perfect for the two of us, plenty of space. I was not expecting a night at the Hilton becuase that is not what we looked into, Caravan Inn was a pleasant hotel that I would recommend staying in while in Glenwood Springs - it was not too old so the rooms were not falling apart. We brought our own food so we weren't spending as much money however we did eat their breakfast and yes it was a bit on the cheap side but it provides enough food for you to eat and then get on with your travels and again we were not at a hilton so a 5 course meal was not on the menu. The hotel staff was amazingly nice!! We had never had such great customer service, this woman who was the hotel assistant the whole weekend was so great and helpful and nice, she definitely made our trip worthwhile! The staff was very informative and knew what they were talking about and were able to accomodate our needs without a sweat!! It was a great beautiful weekend and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: For heat you just want to use the thermostat, the venting system is just for A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

This is a decent cheap option but not the best place I've stayed. We got off to an iffy start when there were some sketchy characters wandering around the parking lot, and we found someone's leftover KFC in the mini-fridge. The room was also old-looking. But it was clean, good-sized and relatively comfortable, the staff was friendly, and the free breakfast was decent (they even kept it open for us when we arrived a little late). I don't think I'd want to make an extended stay there, but it was fine as an overnight stop. Not really walkable to downtown but it's a short drive and there are supermarkets and a park nearby.

Room Tip: I wouldn't want to stay on the first floor with all the sketchy people around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klipzlskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHille, General Manager at Caravan Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear Guest,
I am happy to hear that your stay was clean & comfortable with the exception of someone's leftovers in the mini fridge which is not acceptable and has been discussed with my staff. I do believe that you may have been referring to the construction workers who are working on Valley View Hospital's new Cancer Center. In any case, we do monitor our property to ensure the safety and comfort of all our guests. Thank you for your comments and I hope to see you on your next trip to Glenwood.

Sincerely,
Barbara Hille
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Non-smoking room smelled like mold and stale cigarettes. Dead decomposing insect in smelly towels. A/C filter filthy. Black greasy fingerprints everywhere. Cheap breakfast. Beautiful town. Stay in a nicer place.

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHille, General Manager at Caravan Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I'm sorry your stay with us was not to standard. We take pride in our property as you can see from the majority of our tripadvisor reviews but in your case we failed. I'm very sorry and grateful for your feedback. It allows us to correct and prevent the housekeeping issue. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I stayed at the Caravan Inn while my son was hospitalized in Glenwood Springs. I needed to have our dog with me, and the Caravan was more than accommodating. I had a room with a parking spot right next to the door, which is fantastic when traveling with a pet. I understand their pet rooms are limited, so it is probably wise to book in advance if you have a pet with you. The room was comfortable and very clean. It is a motel, and thus has a "motel feel," but not in a bad way. With the high prices in the mountains, this is an excellent value. The property is clearly well-maintained, and the staff friendly. I got the sense it is a family-run property. They go above and beyond what you find at a chain motel. Even the breakfast in the morning had a little "extra." I can see myself becoming a 'frequent flyer' here while my son recuperates.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms in the back with their own parking spots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
322 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
828 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
886 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
343 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravan Inn

Property: Caravan Inn
Address: 1826 Grand Ave, Hwy 82, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-4112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caravan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caravan Inn is nestled in the beautiful Colorado Rockies providing you with an amazing scenery the moment you step outside of your room. Conveniently located in Glenwood Springs just 1 mile from the world's largest hot springs pool, the natural vapor caves at the Yampah Spa, and the Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park. All accommodations come with a deluxe continental breakfast, in room refrigerators, and complimentary wireless internet access. Cool off in our outdoor pool(seasonal) or relax in the outdoor hot tub after you've experienced some of the many activities offered in Glenwood Springs. When making reservations inquire about our various activity packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Caravan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing