We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but nothing extraordinary, very far out of town”
Review of Glenwood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Glenwood Suites
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I guess my review of this hotel could be "meh". When we checked in, we asked very nicely if we could be moved to a higher room and were told that there was nothing avaliable and that the rooms were all filled up. There were two cars in the parking lot, and about ten overnight. The walls are very thin - we could hear a drunken argument at 3am that raged next door and in the hallway. Our closet door is detached and leaning up against the wall to look like a big mirror, but it's a closet door. Why hasn't that been fixed? The location isn't ideal - it's a bus ride away from downtown and the hot springs, and the bus company is pretty much incompetent. I would say that this is a nice, average Comfort Inn type hotel that is very far way from anything to do in the Springs. However, for an overnight stay on your way through town, it's a good deal. And the free breakfast is nice!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor - the first floor is so low it's creepy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColleenBlooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina L, Manager at Glenwood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Please give us another chance to impress you. It sounds as though you were there on a bit of an off night and I apologize that you had to experience an unpleasant argument. We have several suites to offer, some with full kitchens, balconies, hot tub and more. Call the hotel directly and they can explain each to you and determine your preference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 367 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

I found the family / 2 bedroom suites to be a wonderful option for a brief trip to the mountains. Our room had a kitchenette, a full bathroom with a shower, and a separate soaking tub in one of the bedrooms. 3 TVs, 2 king beds and a pull out couch. The room was clean. The bed was comfy.

The front desk was helpful. As previously noted, this property is not in town, but is a short drive away. I was visiting friends in west Glenwood, so it worked out perfectly. The hotel is directly across the street from a Kum and Go convenience store (in case you forget any sundries).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClumsyIsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina L, Manager at Glenwood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your compliments, they will be shared with the staff. Please stay with us again. Summer's are awesome in Glenwood!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for a girls weekend. The room I stayed in was a standard queen (2 queen beds), with a sofa sleeper. It's nothing overly remarkable, nothing bad. The front desk staff was friendly, the rooms were well-kept, and the breakfast was free. :)

Rooms: I was able to view a 2-bedroom family suite (though didn't stay there), and it looked pretty good-sized. The kitchen was about the size as what you'd find in most affordable apartments, and there was a round table that would seat about 6 in the dining/living room. Would be great for groups or families.
Our standard room was decent-sized (though not palatial), and had a sofa sleeper (double-sized), a coffee table and a work desk. There were plenty of easily accessible plugs, which is great, especially when you're trying to actually work.The mini fridge and microwave were very helpful. I also appreciated the clock radio that had a short auxiliary cord to plug into the headphone jack of your phone or MP3 player, and a one-touch button to switch to that input.

Bathrooms: Apparently some of the family suites have a jacuzzi tub attached to the King room, but not all.
In the queen room, it was a bathroom. Again, nothing to rave about, nothing to complain about. If you looked closely, there were some signs that the property is a little older and has been updated, but it wasn't anything that jumped out at me. Coffee maker on the bathroom counter was right under the hand towels, which was mildly offputting, but didn't really bother me. Though now that I think of it, it was right next to the toilet, so perhaps it could be placed differently.

The location is away from the center of town, so it's more than a short walk to the springs, for example, but it was a quick (3 to 5 minute) drive. For a pleasant stroll, you can cross past the neighboring hotel, to a sidewalk that goes along the river.

It was right next to a DQ Chill & Grill, and a convenience store, so that's handy.

We'd be happy to stay again, though next time, we'd aim for the 2 room suites (more room for socializing).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina L, Regional Manager at Glenwood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to be so descript. I hope the other travelers read your response for additional information.

Unfortunately, some of the items you mentioned as undesirable are structural and we do not have the option to adjust. However, your overall comments seem to be that of a pleasant stay. If there is anything I can do in the future to better your stay, please don't hesitate to call the property and ask for Tina.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Very helpful staff, room was very clean and comfortable liked the garage parking and the breakfast bar is good we usually stay by the hot springs pool but this hotel saved me about $50 per night I plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina L, Regional Manager at Glenwood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on the property. We are always competitive in pricing and offering promotions year round. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have now stayed at Glenwood Suites at least 10 times.
The hotel is excellent overall.
We have stayed at other hotels in Glenwood and the only ones that compare are the Marriott properties, which are higher priced.
We usually stay at Marriott properties when in other cities.
At Glenwood Suites the bed and bath are great and there are lots of HD channels on the flat screen TV. Everything is very clean and the front desk people are always very nice and helplful.
At Glenwood Suites the parking under the building is a big plus in winter and in summer.
The car does not get too hot or too cold, and you can unload luggage out of the weather.
The parking garage elevator takes you right up to your floor in the hotel.
The free breakfast compares to the free breakfast at other hotels, that is, it is edible but not fantastic.
For a fantastic breakfast go to Rosie's Little Bavarian restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbagby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina L, Regional Manager at Glenwood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for sharing your compliments. I'm glad you enjoy staying with us and I will be sure to share your compliments with the team. It is always a pleasure sharing such nice words.

Thank you also for mentioning the Bavarian restaurant, excellent suggestion for those who want an additional experience in Glenwood Springs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great location, rooms were clean. Had to ask for towels as none were stocked in room. Breaksfast was fine, waffles, eggs, hash, cereal, typical continental choices. Staff was very nice and and extrememly helpful. Flat screen TV in both rooms. Refrigerator and microwave, underground parking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mntnstlhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina L, Regional Manager at Glenwood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Please come again soon, we run specials year round. You can always contact the desk at 970.384.4700 to inquire about the current promotions. Glenwood was voted one of the funnest towns in America. Come back during the summer months and enjoy more of what we have to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Pros: 1. Free breakfast. 2. Free underground parking. 3. Amazing staff. 4. Refrigerator. 5. Snack time in the afternoon. 6. Amazing views. 7. A short drive to Glennwood hot springs.

Cons: 1. Think of this hotel as a 2.5 star hotel, rather than a 3.0. They try to make it look more appealing by having cotton swabs and other little things in the bathroom. 2. The beds were very old. They put a pillow topper on the beds to make them more comfortable, but with further inspection, it is obvious that they need new beds at this location. 3. I was visiting on Christmas. I understand everyone needs a day off, and Christmas is especially important to people, but there was NO housekeeping staff available that day. This meant that the poor guy who was running the desk, was also running the breakfast room and running around trying to fix things that were broken. I don't blame the staff member who was forced to wear more than one hat. 4. We got our room, and the TV did not work. We had unpacked and got all of our stuff out of the car, only to realize that we were going to have to change rooms, because there was no maintenance person on staff for the day. It was a bit of a hassle, but we got an upgrade on our roomed which consisted of a room with two queen sized beds and bunk beds, instead of a couch.

I wouldn't pay full price for this hotel, and I am glad I didn't. I got it through a discount site. I think the price I paid was more than fair for what I got in return.

Room Tip: This hotel does not have kids activities or a swimming pool, this is why I rated them as "terri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina L, Regional Manager at Glenwood Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

On behalf of the entire staff we apologize for your experience. However, this description is not the usual for this property. We have been rated three star by AAA, HTI, and other agencies that evaluate properties through strict standards and procedures. Unfortunately, we were facing a smaller than usual staff and did not provide you the quality of service that we are known for. Again, we apologize.

Just for readers information, the comment regarding paying a discount price, please always call the hotel. We are allowed to match and generally beat those prices. I also invite you to read the other responses, as you will see these comments are rare.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, we are always working to improve and will use this for our meetings and training.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
660 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
952 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
914 reviews
0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites On The River
Quality Inn & Suites On The Rive...
#12 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
364 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glenwood Hot Springs Resort
Glenwood Hot Springs Resort
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Suites

Address: 2625 Gilstrap Ct, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-8739
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#10 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range: $100 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenwood Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Glenwood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenwood Hotel Glenwood Springs
Glenwood Hotel Springs
Clarion Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing