We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good value...”
Review of Glenwood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Glenwood Suites
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel, good value...”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel is an outstanding hotel to stay in while in Glenwood Springs. The staff is outstanding and the suite room we stayed in was great for our kids. The only drawback is no pool at the hotel. You had to go across the street to swim. It does offer a great view of the Colorado and is spectacular in the fall.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doc10261881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    109
    39
    10
    10
See reviews for
144
130
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yukon, OK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I'm writing this having just left a four night stay at Glenwood Suites. We normally stay at another chain's all-suite hotel in Glenwood, but for this stay Glenwood Suites was about $250 cheaper, and looking at the reviews and amenities I expected them to be virtually identical.

When we arrived, I was thrilled. OMG-they have underground parking! OMG-they have a coffee shop! The lobby is small but nicely appointed and check-in was quick and easy. Our room (business king) looked nice if a little too generic (ie cheap). The balcony was a welcome addition, and we spent some time on it, although it only looked out on the hotel across the street. It only took a day to realize things weren't as nice as they seemed.

The coffee shop is only open a couple of hours a day. The underground parking only accommodates about 1/4 of hotel guests. The parking lot holds maybe 1/2 - leaving 1/4 of guests to drive around the neighboring parking lots wondering who won't tow their car before morning. We were lucky enough to get the last parking spot at the hotel across the street on the two nights we didn't get back early enough to get a parking spot. Housekeeping was spotty at best. A pile of spilled scrambled eggs (no doubt dropped by someone having to return to their room with breakfast due to inadequate seating) lay on the stairs for over a day. We ran out of Kleenex the first day and it was never restocked. Twice our bath mat was taken and not replaced. One night I had to sleep slathered in sunburn lotion so the following morning I put the plaque on the bed requesting the sheets be changed. We returned to the room that night around midnight and the sheets had not been changed. The room was clean to the eye, however there was some discoloration around the entire shower that was disconcerting to look at. Breakfast was disappointing. At other, similar, hotels the breakfast hot items change from day to day. At Glenwood Suites they didn't. We had the same plain watery scrambled eggs and fairly good sausage every day. The coffee was good one morning and undrinkable the next. We only took advantage of the manager's reception one day, it was unmemorable but the free beer was welcome.

All in all it was a decent place to stay (only with a discount/not worth regular rates) with a few annoyances, particularly the parking, that will make me think twice about returning. 

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelly73099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My family and I have just stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. It's a great place to stay if all you need is a place to crash after a long day of hiking or soaking at the hot springs. Our room (double queen) was very spacious. Staff was friendly and helpful. Apart from some cleanliness issues (heap of trash in the underground parking lot) and terrible coffee for breakfast this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daboha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We recently stayed at the Glenwood Suites hotel for a family reunion. While other family members stayed elsewhere, we chose this hotel based on the reviews we read online. This was our first trip to Glenwood Springs and if we return, we will not choose to stay at this hotel. We stayed for 3 nights. Each day we went for breakfast, the dining area was a mess. On the Saturday morning of our stay, as soon as we entered the dining area you could see how undesirable it was to eat in there. There were 3 employees standing around talking in the kitchen, while the trash cans were so overflowing that other guests were stacking their dishes and uneaten food on tables, on the area where the food was served, wherever they could find a spot. The dining tables remained uncleaned and not wiped down after other guests finished, and food dropped everywhere. The housekeeping employees do not wear uniforms so literally anyone could come into your room and you woudn't know if they were supposed to be there or not. Actually we didn't see any hotel employees wearing any type of uniform, including the front desk clerks. While it was appreciated that the hotel chooses to recycle, it's unappealing to have the recycle bin located at the front entrance of the hotel right where you walk in. The TV was difficult to work but the free wi-fi was nice. The king bed we slept in had a mattress that was slumped in the middle so it was uncomfortable to sleep. And while most "kids" might like the separate sleeping area with the bunk beds, the beds are not sufficient for teenagers if they are over 5'7" tall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azcaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Have made a trip to Glenwood Springs for vacation every summer for the last 10 years. Our experience 5 of those years has been enhanced by the quality of the lodging with Glenwood Suites. More specifically, Paul Knapp consistently goes above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable.
Clean rooms, great beds, covered parking, complimentary breakfast in the morning and happy hour in the evening are just a few of the benefits of staying in this location.
Located across the street are Dairy Queen, Gas Station and one terrific Rafting Company www.raftingglenwoodsprings.com . We’ve gone on trips down the Colorado River with our kids and had a fantastic experience. You can also walk from the hotel and see people surfing a man made wave on the river. Cool stuff!
There is always a possibility for challenges with traveling. We had some trouble with our room’s card key system during the last stay. The staff responded to this issue immediately and resolved it quickly. They even offered to let us use another room while repairs were being made.
I highly recommend this hotel. Say hello to Paul if you get a chance. He’ll take good care of you time and time again.

Room Tip: In addition to rooms there are two condo units with a kitchen living area and separate bedrooms. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skidaddyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Family of four traveling for 15 days, this hotel was a great find. Affordable, clean and two separate rooms was a great treat! Kids loved the bunkbeds and having their own tv that night. Breakfast was good in the morning. We had been traveling all day so when we liked that it was easy access and found it easily. Underground parking was nice too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinfun2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Back again for our summer family roadtrip to Glenwood Springs. This time my sis is along, and she thought we were overdoing our bragging of Glenwood Suites. She was wrong (of course ;)
SHE LOVES IT HERE TOO!!!
Soooo much for a fantastic price! We have a suite with bunkbeds for the kids, and a separated bedroom with two comfy queens for us sisters. Fridge, microwave, flat screens for each room.....we will NEVER stay anywhere else.
Tonight we enjoyed the social hour, relaxed and had a snack while we waited for our favorite food here in Glen Springs......UNCLE PIZZA!! How they are not on the restaurant list is beyond us, as they seriously have The. Best. Pizza. EVER. But I digress.....
Cannot say enough about fantastic rooms, staff, cleanliness and value for your money here at Glenwood Suites. This hotel ROCKS!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernMNfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
618 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
826 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
882 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
343 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Suites

Property: Glenwood Suites
Address: 2625 Gilstrap Ct, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-8739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenwood Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenwood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenwood Hotel Glenwood Springs
Glenwood Hotel Springs
Clarion Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing