We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfying, Flavorful and Comfortable”

The Italian Underground Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Centennial, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Satisfying, Flavorful and Comfortable”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Italian Underground is a small establishment in the basement of a building near the walking bridge over the Colorado River. So it is very conveniently located to the hotels near the Hot Springs Pool.

I repeat, it is small. So expect to wait for your dinner because it's good and they do not take reservations. As a group of 7 our wait was a little shorter than for some of the couples and groups of 4. It is VERY intimate.

The hot bread they serve while you wait for your food is excellent. Great elasticity and a good crust. I wouldn't describe it as a crusty bread, though. Lots of very good garlic butter is served with it in tiny ramekins. They featured three specials at dinner. While several in my party ordered one of them, I ordered Linguini with Clam Sauce from the menu. It was so good. There was a perfect amount of fresh parsley chopped into the dish, the clams were so meaty (not at all chewy) and there was PLENTY of garlic in it... Chunks of it... Mmmmmm. The salad included with the entree came with a choice of three in house dressings: Thousand Island, Blue Cheese and Italian. I chose the Blue Cheese and it was delightful. So many times, Blue Cheese dressings have a definite bite. This one was smooth and creamy. Spumoni or Raspberry Sherbet were the included dessert choices to top off the meal. I don't think anyone in my party was disappointed with their meal.

If I were to share ANY negative, it would be that they do not serve fresh grated Parmesan with the entree. One small thing...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoveToLaugh0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    137
    87
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good italian food!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Fresh bread, small salad, and small scoop of sherbert or spumonti is included with the meal. A bit of the wait, but worth it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lcal303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Long wait for a table, not worth the wait.”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Small restaurant very popular with the locals, we waited about 45 minutes for a table in a very small, very cramped, hot restaurant. Food wash okay but we weren't impressed, later the hotel clerk told us there isn't a good Italian restaurant in town and we'd have to agree.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank okcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pretty Average Fare, But Good Prices”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a couple of varieties of spaghetti and a personal pizza. A small salad comes with the major entrees. The spaghetti is very average. Nothing remarkable about it, but nothing wrong with it either. Pizza was fairly good, but it is hard to mess up a plain cheese pizza.
Service was great. Tables are close together, but I wouldn't say it was loud.
There is nothing wrong with this place if you have moderate expectations and would like a reasonably priced place to eat in downtown Glenwood.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steveatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great little "hole in the wall!"”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a small restaurant located in the basement of a building. It has about 20 tables and a small bar, but it has plenty of atmosphere, great service and great food. I had one of the best vodka martinis ever. They used Grey Goose and the price was only $8.00. Amazingly reasonable for the vodka used. Our waitress was very friendly and gave an excellent recommendation on a wine to go with dinner. There were four of us and we had lasagna, spaghetti and the fettuccini with shrimp and they were all delicious. The portions were generous and they were all reasonably priced. If I lived in Glenwood Springs this would be THE italian restaurant that I would always go to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Italian Underground Restaurant also viewed

Glenwood Springs, CO
Glenwood Springs, CO
 

Been to The Italian Underground Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing