We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old favorite!”

The Italian Underground Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Colorado
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An old favorite!”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

hard to find but a great place to enjoy authentic italian fare!

Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoMickeymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    134
    86
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CARBONDALE, CO
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Very good food and plenty to eat. The service is fast and the waitstaff is very pleasant. A great family place.

Helpful?
1 Thank CoJil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

The food and service was great. The chef used fresh ingredients and the food was amazing.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Service”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

If you are like me and appreciate great Italian food combined with great service and a great location - then get to the Italian Underground, Glenwood Springs. This is one of these restaurants worth making a detour for.

We spent the weekend at Glenwood Springs with friends and all four of us had a great meal at the restaurant. If u go at peak time (5 - 7pm) expect a wait but worry not the food and service is definately worth it.

My wife had chicken cacciatore, I had spaghetti and meatballs - both superb dishes with portions to contend with big appetites.

If we go back we will definately go Underground again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“nope”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

NOT a place to return to. We really wasted our 'special' night out with this one. Sauce almost non existant, dry meat, mushy nooodles and their special butter?... just garlic salt added. Too bad - so many good places in Gleanwood. Try Riviera or fins. Really good value during happy hour at those two places.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Italian Underground Restaurant also viewed

Glenwood Springs, CO
Glenwood Springs, CO
 

Been to The Italian Underground Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing