We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just average with maintenance needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    121
    56
    14
    10
See reviews for
145
86
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
mississippi
Level Contributor
151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We ended up staying here for a couple reasons. One, we were only staying one night on our way through and it had a pool for the kids. The Front desk check in was a breeze. We had a suite and it was very clean. As other posts have stated, it is rather dated. It has laundry facilities, which were needed as we were on a 19 day trip and the facilities worked well. Kids and husband enjoyed the indoor pool and sauna. The only major complaint I had was going to our room we had to pass by a group of people sitting around outside. It appeared after husband speaking with them --they lived there. They were not noisy or anything. It was just weird going in and out and they just sitting there watching.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ynot011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This property is older as indicated by it's place in town... however... it is soooo clean!!! Everything I saw or touched was clean: the carpet, the comforters, the bathroom, the windows, the sliding window tracks... everything! I will definitely stay here again! A great value and great amenities. Walking distance to the park, where the Strawberry Festival was, picnic area for the family including a barbeque. This place is really great... and I tend to be very picky.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biteme55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

After a long, exhausting trip, we arrived early to Cedar Lodge. Mary was more than gracious and helpful in getting us in as soon as possible! The room was great, clean, spacious, comfortable, just what we needed! We have stayed at more expensive places and got a lot less! Cedar Lodge, although not the Ritz, is great value for money! Also, the breakfast was great, well stocked and looked after. We do appreciate the personal touch you do not get in the bigger chains.

Again, thank you!

Room Tip: You get more than you pay for, the personal service is what travelling is all about!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2teach39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

2 full sized beds were comfortable, accomadations in room just ok. Wish they would remove the carpet and put down laminate flooring. Light in bathroom went out on first night just when it was needed but husband was able to get it going again (was not the bulb, had something to do with the "balance" on the flourescent lighting).
Room just seemed dark and gloomy as the lighting was bad and the room seemed kinda dank with moisture. Loved the location, pool was not heated but was indoors and was still doable for a short time as the water was too cold for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I was a little dsappointed with the service. I'm just now leaving the motel. I read all of the reviews and figured it would be a decent alternative to one of the higher priced hotels. After all, the majority of the reviews were very good and since there are ONLY a few negative reviews and I should really just ignore those, right? Well maybe not.
Service: First of all the receptionist was rude. She didn't say anything rude but its just one of those places where you walk in the door and are made to feel like you are a bother. Nobody bothers to look up at you when you walk in, nobody has a welcoming smile for you. Had I not already paid, I would have walked out right then and there.
Rooms: The rooms are very basic, kind of what you'd expect from a motel. They are clean. The showerfloor was creaking with every move I made which felt a little odd but while the water didn't. Get near hot, at least the water was warm. The room has two queen beds, a small coffeetable with two chairs, a refrigerator that was turned off and a microwave. The thing that bothered me most about my stay was the fact that internet was advertised but not really available. The first night I tried for half an hour to get on but couldn't. The next morning I got on for two minutes before I got kicked off again and after trying a few more times unsuccessfully I finally gave up.
Overall it was somewhat of a dissappointing experience. Staying here has made me feel a little cheated.
There are a few nice things I want to point out about the motel though, just to be fair. The kids enjoyed the outdoor and indoor pools that were both open from 9 am to 10 pm. They also have a hot tub inside which was nice too. Breakfast was continental with a very well stocked breakfast bar, not just cereal like you find in some places. Boiled eggs, fruit, oatmeal, yogurt, bagels, waffles (frozen type), danish pastries, bagels, cream cheese, and jelly. The guy who worked the breakfast room was awesome. He kept it well stocked and nothing ran out at any time. Also he was very friendly and helpful in assisting everybody, form little kids to elderly folks. Big kudos for him. I wished I had asked for his name but all I know is that he was wearing an wristbrace. He definitely deserves a pat on the back for his great work. You have to give credit where credit is due.
So, in short, what I'm taking home from this today is that if you take a vacation in Glenwood Springs then spend the extra money to get a nice room. It makes a difference. Also if you are taking your kids you might want a place with bigger rooms, couch and a kitchenette. If you are just passing through and need a place to sleep I supppose the motel is good enough. If you want or need to save a few bucks, for a motel it is a decent place. I have seen much worse. Price is decent too, so I can't really complain too much. Internet was kind of a big deal to me, especially since phone reception is so terrible in this area. It would have been nice to be able to look up maps, restaurants, etc. It just makes things a little easier.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have been visiting the Cedar over the past 14 years. We go to Glenwood at least once or twice a year. This is a great basic needs hotel. Always a consistent, clean, comfortable and friendly stay. They have an indoor pool and hot tub, an outdoor pool and free basic continental breakfast. We always stay in the back rooms, where your hotel room door is facing toward the mountains.(230-240) The 2 queen bed rooms are decent sized, bathroom and floors always clean, windows actually open. Tv, fridge and microwave. The beds not too bad, a little soft for me though. During the week at peak summertime, the rates are 69.99. It is just a short drive down the main drag, Grand Ave, to get to the hot springs. Our kids liked that Wendy's and Arby's were just across the street to grab something quick. Also a Safeway store across the street.. The family that runs the property live right there and are always helpful with anything we needed. They also have a large 2 story house that is available to rent for large families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
2.9 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge

Property: Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Address: 2102 Grand Avenue, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-4118 (Formerly Cedar Lodge Motel)
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small oasis in the middle of Glenwood Springs, Colorado is the perfect hub for your next vacation. Located less than a mile from the Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, Hot Springs Pool, and Vapor Caves - family entertainment in this Western Colorado town couldn't be any easier to plan. Hiking, biking, skiing, healing mineral waters, horseback riding, river fun and more await you in Glenwood Springs. Our choice Glenwood Springs hotel offers a variety of affordable and clean rooms. Whatever your need, Cedar Lodge can fulfill it. We want your stay to be as comfortable as your own home, that's why we make a microwave and refrigerator standard in all of our rooms. You will also find a flat screen cable TV and have access to our free wireless internet for your convenience. Traveling with family? We offer kitchen unit suites that are already stocked with dishware, silverware, and various pots and pans. If you have a larger group, we have a four bedroom cabin with a fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing