We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't come hungry!”

Vicco's Charcoalburger Drive-In
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: great burgers cooked to order
wausau
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't come hungry!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you're hungry, go somewhere else. The first time we drove past this drive-in, there was a line of cars at the drive-up and the lot was full of vehicles. Thinking that it meant this was a hot spot to eat, we stopped in later in the evening.
We were the 3rd car in line at the drive-up. We waited a full half hour (30+ minutes), from the time we ordered until we got our food. It took 15 minutes each for the cars ahead of us to get served.
The service was HORRIBLE!!! Even with 4 people behind the counter- it was taking a full 15+ minutes between each order. There were 3 walk-up orders that also waited way too long for their food.
As we drove up to the window (after being in line 30+ minutes), we watched as our order of fries was just being prepared for the fryer. There was no effort to prepare food efficiently or to get the orders out in a timely manner.
The staff was having a fine time, laughing and drinking soda while the customers sat and waited, and waited, and waited.
How efficient is it to only serve 2 - 3 customers in a 30 minute time span?
The food is typical drive-up quality food, but very pricey. It wasn't good enough to warrant a return trip for us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 843lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    49
    26
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rifle, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Half Hour wait to get cold food. Drive on by & Don't waist your time.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 30 minutes waiting of our order and then found that they were serving us cold fries & burgers were covered with way to much mustard. Makes you wonder what they were trying hide with the taste of mustard.
There were 12 families that ordered after we did and when you look inside you can see that the cook is only cooking 2 burgers at a time. Seems to be a one ticket at a time cook.
The cars were lined up out in to the street plus every table was full of families waiting for their food. Plus the prices are way to high $20 for lunch for two with no drinks. You can go to a nice restaurant and be waited on for that kind of money.
I would don't waist your time for this place when in Glenwood, there are far to many other great places where you can get lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bubba2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Past its prime: Plan to miss this one on your next trip…”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Three of us stopped by for lunch on a weekday around noon, having heard several positive recommendations.

The place is quite old, but there is plenty of parking. Seating is all outdoors, with numerous flies as dining companions … of course this would be different, and a lot colder, in winter. Disabled access not really a factor in the design, probably due to the age of the place. The menu is initially a bit confusing, but it’s just a drive in. Offerings include burgers in all varieties--veggie, elk, chicken and beef--as well as fries, soft drinks, and shakes. Prices for add-on items like avocado or bacon are eye popping. The service comes with a sort of a take-it-or-leave-it attitude. Not bad, but the woman taking our order could have been more helpful and warmer.

We found the prices to be uncharacteristically high (I’ve paid less for old fashioned style burgers in both London and Tokyo), especially considering that we were sitting at a picnic table in the parking lot. The high prices led us to expect great things from the kitchen. As other reviewers have commented, the food was, indeed, S-L-O-W in coming, but I do not criticize that as we had anticipated the wait ... and, in fairness, a hand made burger takes time to prepare. Just be ready for the wait.

We had our food in about 25 minutes. It was prepared as ordered and fairly tasty, but not a particularly good value (~$50 for lunch for three adults). The burgers were on the greasy side; the fries were nothing special, as were the shakes. Overall, for the price, the food lets the place down.

We were disappointed, which is sad as it had come rather well recommended. Vicco’s Charcoalburger offers reasonably tasty food, an old and dated location with outdoor seating only (it's a "drive in," so can't fault that, right?), and so-so service for a premium price. For locals who are long terms patrons and/or die hards coming to visit, it’s certainly not bad as far as burgers go, especially given the remote location, and that could make it a favorite if you find yourself in one of these groups. But for the rest of us, for the money you can do a lot better, and if this is you, I suggest you stay on the highway and head into town where you’ll find better prices, better dining facilities and better service.

Hope this helps...!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mm_jpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best burgers in town”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This place is little but it serves up the best burgers, shakes and fries. I liked how you can choose the size or your burger and the small fries are HUGE. It takes about 10-15 minutes for your order to come up, but it is worth the wait. YUM!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirl80004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
191 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great food cooked to order. Old fashioned drive in”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Every burger is cooked to order. This is from the times when stopping for a burger was a treat. Took sometime because it was not microwaved. If you a city person in a hurry used to crap being slapped on your plastic tray from the assembly line this is NOT for you. You will end up whining about the time it took to cook it.

However if you like a damn good burger. Beef bison or elk. In single double or triple third pound patties. This is your place. Greatest burger on the western slope. Impatient speed freaks need not apply.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vicco's Charcoalburger Drive-In also viewed

 
Glenwood Springs, CO
Glenwood Springs, CO
 

Been to Vicco's Charcoalburger Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing