We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Glenwood Springs
Post
Inbox
Search
Review Highlights
Amazing ! Must see

This is an amazing hike! We went during the " peak" season and took the shuttle from Glenwood... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
RParets
,
Riverdale, New York
Wow just wow

What a great trail. The lake is beautiful. No wonder they tell you in the bus you can’t swim there... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
kiwiroo71
,
Goulburn, Australia
via mobile
Read all 2,164 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Glenwood Springs
from $59.00
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
from $49.00
More Info
from $69.00
More Info
Reviews (2,164)
Filter reviews
2,164 results
Traveler rating
1,820
265
42
22
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,820
265
42
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spouting rock parking lot great hike take your time parking spot tough hike hiking shoes well worth the effort bring water coming down worth every step lots of water decent shape elevation gain wear good shoes parking space walking stick
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 2,164 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a great time hiking. Total about 3 hrs roundtrip to include the breaks we took. Suggestion is to hike to the top of hanging lake first and then visit hanging lake after. It is only a few more minutes. It was so beautiful, we paid $12pp for a permit and shuttle ride.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank crystal4207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2019

We hiked the lake trail in August. We stayed at a nearby hotel and took an early shuttle. If you desire to hike you must get a pass, available online, and take the shuttle. This is well worth it and reduces the amount of foot traffic considerably. The hike is a bit strenuous and definitely windy. Take your time and take a few rest stops along the way up and down. There are seven bridges you cross and each has a seating area. To get the best experience after seeing the lake hike a short distance up and see the falls that fill the lake. While you cannot touch hanging lake you can walk beneath the falls Spouting Rock.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank ColoradoTraveler2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019 via mobile

My husband did the hike with our 5 year old son on his shoulders. It was rocky and steep in places but doable. My mother who is not in the best shape currently but good health completed it with moderate effort. Take your time, it’s not a race. Absolutely worth the effort and the small fee.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank CRNA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

One of my all time fav hikes. I'm 59 and while I find the hike challenging, it's def doable. First half mile is flat but then it climbs for about a mile. there are 6 bridges so once you get to #6 you know you're close. Trail has very few switchbacks (nice) and is well maintained. I used trek poles which help tremendously because there are alot of high stone steps. we took the 8:15 shuttle and the trail was primarily in shade

The lottery system is fantastic as it keeps the trail traffic down. No issues booking a reservation. Only downside is you limited to 3.5 hrs from start to finish. If you miss your scheduled return trip then you have to go on standby. It tooks about an 1:10 to go up and 1:30 to come down. Spent about 30 min at the top

The lake itself is magnificent. there's a nice boardwalk that goes around half the lake. Be sure to hike the extra 100 yards to Spouting Rock. Def worth the addit uphill.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank SteveC275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019 via mobile

The hike is really not that bad and you have amazing views the whole way. The topnis picture perfect and nice for a good snack. Definitely would recommend!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Kaya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews