We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!!!”
Review of Hanging Lake Trail

Hanging Lake Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Alamo, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This place is so beautiful. It really isn't that bad of a hike either. My husband and I were so hungover when we hiked this trail. We had a really good time in Glenwood Springs the night before, obviously! I would definitely suggest anybody to take this trail. It is really beautiful and well worth the time!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chester L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,408
    215
    31
    22
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Iced out at hanging lake”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

What we had hoped would be an awesome hike on Thanksgiving day ended in being iced out from reaching the top. Decked out in our hiking boots, dressed for the assent, with hiking poles in hand the ice by bridge 4 was too massive for us to reach our destination. Will return to hoke again in the warm summer or next early fall. The assent we were able to complete was incredibly beautiful. It is technical in places and hiking boots and poles needed even when not iced.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tough but worth it”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This trail is a tough one to hike, you need to wear good shoes or hiking boots to protect your ankles. I would recommend going early in the morning so that when your hiking up there and realize that you are in for a challenge you can just take many rest and observe all the cascading falls, trees and beauty around you. Back pack with water and a snack to help keep you fueled for the hike. Once you make it up there you can kick back and enjoy, but dont miss spouting rock. When you are headed back down you go right instead of left and back down the trail that has some railing. No matter how tired you are it is only a few feet up and well worth it. I was sore the next day and thankful for wearing hiking boots. It is also tough on the knees but it is a true treasure worth seeing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pristine Lake on Top of Mountain”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We are in our early 40's and in good shape and did the hike in 1 hour up and 45 minutes down. There is a lot of steps; and icy at the top this time of year but worth the risk. The lake was georgous and the hike up was fun and energizing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank elle9992864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
201 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“No wonder it's so popular”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Be there early because the parking lot gets full.
The trail itself is nice and is 90% in the wood so you don't need to worry about sunscreen and hats. It's ALL uphill but if your family is used to hiking it won't be a problem for the entire family. My 5 year old didn't complain (well, not more than usual...).
The lake is beautiful and worth the hike. You are not allowed to go in the water though. Continue up from the lake and there's a nice little waterfall where you can get yourself wet if you like.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mango1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanging Lake Trail also viewed

 

Been to Hanging Lake Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing