We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's all in the point of view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenwood Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenwood Canyon Resort
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's all in the point of view”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you are looking for the various activities offered at the park; rafting, bicycling, zip lining etc, this is a great place to spend some time. If you, on the other hand, would like a place to just relax in a comfortable site and enjoy the beauty of Glenwood Canyon, this might not be the place. The RV sites are a gravel parking lot with a few small tree's. your outside "lawn" is made-up of various size rocks, making it impossible to set up a chair and enjoy the evening. Also be advised to take 30-40 feet of sewer hose or to dump when you leave as your sewer connection is located at the front of the site. I probably won't return, not what I was looking for.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    96
    57
    44
    86
See reviews for
297
104
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the campground and cabin. The wash house was clean (no need to wear flip flops in the shower). Staff was friendly and helpful. Drinks at the outdoor deck overlooking the Colorado river were a terrific way to unwind after a day of fishing. It was close to town & easy to find. We plan to return next year and rent a deluxe cabin!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlieshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at Glenwood Canyon Resort last week and had one of the best vacations ever. The scenery was breathtaking, the cabins were immaculate, rafting was a blast and the on site bar and grill was really good. My son was a little nervous about rafting because it was his first trip, but Stu made it a great experience and my son can't wait to go again. We might even try the zipline next time! Sitting at the bar and listening to music was the perfect way to end the day. Ali kept us supplied with fresh drinks and Kevin was a gracious and hilarious host. When you go plan to stay at least a few days so you can experience all they have to offer, and to explore Glenwood Springs too.

Room Tip: We really liked the resort cabin we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The scenery surrounding the resort is BEAUTIFUL! The bar and grill on the property is excellent. The bath house at the front looks new and is very clean. The hook ups were easy to use and worked well. The Rock Gardens rafting was fantastic!

I will be happy to visit again!

Room Tip: River front spots for RV's are wonderful but the train comes through every night (at least one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a RV spot over the Fourth of July weekend. We were very happy to get the space at the last minute. The spaces were quite close but we had enough space for our awning and then some. The tent spots near the river were very very close. Beautiful scenery bit no privacy.

We loved the fact that resort was right on the bike path through the canyon. We were able to book resort activities (rafting, zip lines) at the last minute. The bar and grill is new and very nice. As I said before, the location is fabulous.

There were a few downsides. The sewer hook ups are not in the right place for RVs. Most people had to buy extra hoses. The park was a bit dusty and the RV sites had a lot of thistles coming up through the rock beds. The trains going through the canyon are very noisy. It didn't bother us but bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. The spots are a bit close but we have been in worse. The public showers are pretty rough. We all chose to shower in our RV. Seems like the owners should spend some money to upgrade them.

We all had a great time at the resort. It wasn't perfect but I would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JLCMCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were there in March for some spring sking. We stayed here for three nights in one of the cabins. I was concerned about the distance to Sunlight Mountain and also going to the Hot springs pool. I thought it might be a little inconvenient but it wasnt a factor at all. And staying in the canyon is beautiful. We got delayed at Vail pass so were very late checking in. Kevin was very helpful that night and really made our stay great. The staff was really helpfull and even showed us the best lodging/pool/ski package to purchase the next morning. It reallly saved me a bunch of money and time. And the cabin was perfect my Daughter loved the loft and I had total privacy in the bedroom. It was clean and comfy. Cant wait for next year. I know exactly where we will be staying!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Yes, this is a fun campground!! We stayed here for two nights in our RV with 5 children during our summer roadtrip west. The staff is friendly and helpful, its clean and quiet, the location is beautiful, its right next to the Colorado River and an easy paved walking path, and there is plenty to do on site (rafting and ziplining) as long as you make reservations ahead of time. The only negatives I can say is that it's a bit dusty and rugged, and for our 40' RV it was a challenge to pull in and out of our site. Overall, I would definitely stay here again and I highly recommend this spot. Plus, it's close to town and the hot springs!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emcollins4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
596 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
762 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
633 reviews
2.6 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
314 reviews
3.8 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Canyon Resort

Property: Glenwood Canyon Resort
Address: 1308 County Road 129, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-9736 (Formerly Rock Gardens Campground)
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Glenwood Springs
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Glenwood Canyon Resort in majestic Glenwood Canyon, Colorado. Offering cozy accommodations, including Canyon Club Suites, Family Cabins, Deluxe Resort Cabins, RV sites, Camper Cabins, and riverfront tent sites, Glenwood Canyon Resort has ALL of your resting and relaxing needs met. Not to mention, while you stay here with us on the mighty Colorado River, enjoy some of our other amenities offered by the Colorado Adventure Center, such as whitewater rafting trips, zipline tours, high ropes challenge course, climbing walls, self-guided and guided biking tours. After a full day of activities, come on down to our very own on-site bar and grill and enjoy some delicious food and luscious libations on the deck of the No Name Bar and Grill. We look forward to your company and serving you and your family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenwood Canyon Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing