We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive with draconian payment/cancellation policies” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenwood Canyon Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenwood Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenwood Canyon Resort
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Too expensive with draconian payment/cancellation policies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

First sign of trouble for this place was trying to make reservations. It took several phone calls to even place a reservation. Most of the time we were answered by people who "weren't authorized" to book the kind of accommodation that we wanted (resort cabin). We were never called back as promised by someone who could help. We had to keep calling until we could find someone to help us. Then when our confirmation email came, the dates were quoted incorrectly, as was the amount due. It took a few more emails and phone calls to straighten all that out. It was noted that we had to pay 1 night's stay ($269 posted on web-site, but total included a “resort” fee and totaled $309) immediately to confirm our reservation. Then 30 days prior to our stay we had to pay the full amount, and there would be no cancellation or refund. Really customer-unfriendly policy, but we were meeting friends there, so we just accepted it. It just didn't give us a warm fuzzy feeling, you know?

Our cabin was fine, but I’m going to be pretty harsh on it, because of the price, including the “resort” fee (which is NOT disclosed on the web-site) the cabin was more than $300 per night. The quality was like a trailer home, but it was cozy. We were in unit 101, right next to the office and the playground. Location was great. We only had neighbors on one side, and the train noises were not a problem in this unit. The unit had its own porch that had a patio table and was a great place for us to store our mountain bikes. The front room had a wood burning stove, couch and easy chair, a small table, and an open kitchen. Down the hall was the bathroom and steps to the loft. The bedroom was at the end of the cabin. The kitchen amenities were fine. The bathroom was suitable all except the shower, which produced a fine mist or stinging pelting drops, and was mounted too low, even for me, and I’m only 5’7”. The back bedroom had one queen bed, and the upstairs loft had two twin mattresses on the floor. There were blinds on all the windows, but they were so cheap that they were messed up and bent, not easy to operate and took a lot of arranging to produce coverage and privacy. We were right next to the office which was the source of the wifi internet, yet we couldn’t get the internet to work often, and when it did, it was slow. 3G was faster. When we asked the office about it, they said their equipment was old. If we had been paying $100 a night, I would have thought the place was great. But for more than $300 a night, I expect a little luxury, great shower, working internet, and someone to clean the place. There was no house keeping service, and even the first day that we arrived, my feet were black with floor grime just from walking around inside the cabin.

Our friends stayed in full RV hook-up. Picnic tables are provided, but no fire pits. If you want sewer hook-up, bring along an extension-hose, because the sewer connection point is at the front of the space.

Other reviews were spot on about the office staff. I felt that many in the office treated the guests with contempt. We walked in to check out, one staff member was on the phone, and other staff members were standing back and not addressing or acknowledging that we were there. If it were my guest services offices, I would instruct every employee to greet the guests in the lobby and let them know that someone would be with them shortly. I would not just look them and then promptly ignore them. Also, our friends asked if they could use the office printers to print out concert tickets. My friends even offered to pay them to print out the tickets. The answer was “no, our printers cannot be used by guests.” Seriously, my friends would have paid more than the cost of the paper and ink it took to print two pieces of paper for the convenience of not having to drive to town. But no, no customer service here. “Go to town, and get it done.” In contrast another hotel I stayed at during this trip gave me the stamps for free when I asked them if they could put a couple of post-cards in the mail for me. This other hotel put the stamps on and said “no charge,” but I paid them anyway. That is above and beyond, but that goes to show what generous customer service can be.

Choose for yourself whether to go there or not. We did. We knew the price, and it was our choice to go there. I just don’t think it was worth it, and if we hadn’t been meeting friends, we wouldn’t have made the choice to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bamboo_Orchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    95
    57
    44
    86
See reviews for
295
103
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had a party for my husband, with 44 guests. From the person on reservations to zip, bar, grill, chef, host and everyone in between. Was so helpful and accommodating to everything I needed or wanted. Our guest had an absolutely Great time. The bar and grill is just beautiful and the canyon is more then breath taking. I would recommend this to any large or small group.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Booked online & knew the "no refund policy", and then after reading some nasty reviews, was worried!
My two sons (9 and 15) and I arrived on a Sunday, were able to back the vehicle up to the deck of our resort cabin to unpack. Cabin was clean, adorable, and very cozy. Kids loved the cool loft. I enjoyed the private bedroom and enormous deck. We ate at No Name Bar and Grill a few times during our four night stay. The staff - Patrick at the bar, and Mr. Peterson, were very friendly. Enjoyed cooking dinner every evening on the deck bbq (which I did have to clean, but no big deal). The zip line experience was awesome, and the rafting even better! Had a fantastic guide named "G", whose twin brother is also a guide. They were so entertaining! Loved the hot springs 5 minutes away, the Farmer's market on Thursday, and that Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park was OK - not great, and too expensive. Having stayed at Hotel Colorado many times in the past, I am so pleased to have found our new favorite GW resort. Considering a Thanksgiving trip!

Room Tip: The Resort Cabins are so comfortable, with a family atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colokelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed in the suites over Labor 2011 and had a great time. To have access to a fire pit we also rented a spot on the river. We had 10 people and the suites handled us all quite well. There is even elevator access if you have people in your group that can't handle the stairs. Having the zip line, ropes course and white water rafting all on site made the adventures very convenient. The suites are very nicely appointed with flat sceens, king beds and plenty of room in the bathrooms. Although we only used it once, the restaurant and bar area below the suites looked very nice. We also rode bike on the path that comes through the resort the two miles into town and played mini golf. You could spend hours just sitting and watching all the traffic on the river that winds through the lower portion of the camp. It was a fun weekend.

Room Tip: Book the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chanhassen,mn
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

All in one place--whitewater rafting, zipline over the Colorado River and great food at the bar and grille. Our family stayed in the brand new 2 bedroom suite over the bar and grille, and it was luxurious and beautifully furnished. We were lucky to be traveling at the end of the season so it was available, but I'd recommend booking ahead. The staff were friendly, and we enjoyed getting to know our rafting guide Chett and our zipline guides, photographer, and the crew at the restaurant.
The setting is so gorgeous, it is 45 acres right on the river. The new building was a great addition. The food at the restaurant was delicious, and there's a great outdoor deck with a view that is a great place to hang out. Our kids loved the adventures, and it is conveniently close to Glenwood Springs for site-seeing and dinners out, but we loved the natural setting away from it all. We have great memories from our trip, and I'd recommend it to families for a great summer vacation.

Room Tip: Book ahead during the summer season
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbtraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

This is a great place for a weekend getaway. The management is very accomodating and very friendly. We are headed back up for Labor Day weekend. Kevin Peterson and Patrick always treat us well at the No Name bar and Grill. They make our stay very enjoyable.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank terri a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed at the tent sites on the river. That part was great, the river is beautiful. But the trains "which we have no control over", run ALL NIGHT LONG and they're directly on the other side of the river from you, very noisy! The unhelpful clerks will give you no refund for having to leave early because you can't sleep there because of the trains.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
2.6 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
#11 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Canyon Resort

Property: Glenwood Canyon Resort
Address: 1308 County Road 129, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-9736 (Formerly Rock Gardens Campground)
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Glenwood Springs
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Glenwood Canyon Resort in majestic Glenwood Canyon, Colorado. Offering cozy accommodations, including Canyon Club Suites, Family Cabins, Deluxe Resort Cabins, RV sites, Camper Cabins, and riverfront tent sites, Glenwood Canyon Resort has ALL of your resting and relaxing needs met. Not to mention, while you stay here with us on the mighty Colorado River, enjoy some of our other amenities offered by the Colorado Adventure Center, such as whitewater rafting trips, zipline tours, high ropes challenge course, climbing walls, self-guided and guided biking tours. After a full day of activities, come on down to our very own on-site bar and grill and enjoy some delicious food and luscious libations on the deck of the No Name Bar and Grill. We look forward to your company and serving you and your family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenwood Canyon Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing