We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dougs 60th birthday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenwood Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenwood Canyon Resort
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had a party for my husband, with 44 guests. From the person on reservations to zip, bar, grill, chef, host and everyone in between. Was so helpful and accommodating to everything I needed or wanted. Our guest had an absolutely Great time. The bar and grill is just beautiful and the canyon is more then breath taking. I would recommend this to any large or small group.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 634 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

Booked online & knew the "no refund policy", and then after reading some nasty reviews, was worried!
My two sons (9 and 15) and I arrived on a Sunday, were able to back the vehicle up to the deck of our resort cabin to unpack. Cabin was clean, adorable, and very cozy. Kids loved the cool loft. I enjoyed the private bedroom and enormous deck. We ate at No Name Bar and Grill a few times during our four night stay. The staff - Patrick at the bar, and Mr. Peterson, were very friendly. Enjoyed cooking dinner every evening on the deck bbq (which I did have to clean, but no big deal). The zip line experience was awesome, and the rafting even better! Had a fantastic guide named "G", whose twin brother is also a guide. They were so entertaining! Loved the hot springs 5 minutes away, the Farmer's market on Thursday, and that Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park was OK - not great, and too expensive. Having stayed at Hotel Colorado many times in the past, I am so pleased to have found our new favorite GW resort. Considering a Thanksgiving trip!

Room Tip: The Resort Cabins are so comfortable, with a family atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colokelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed in the suites over Labor 2011 and had a great time. To have access to a fire pit we also rented a spot on the river. We had 10 people and the suites handled us all quite well. There is even elevator access if you have people in your group that can't handle the stairs. Having the zip line, ropes course and white water rafting all on site made the adventures very convenient. The suites are very nicely appointed with flat sceens, king beds and plenty of room in the bathrooms. Although we only used it once, the restaurant and bar area below the suites looked very nice. We also rode bike on the path that comes through the resort the two miles into town and played mini golf. You could spend hours just sitting and watching all the traffic on the river that winds through the lower portion of the camp. It was a fun weekend.

Room Tip: Book the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

All in one place--whitewater rafting, zipline over the Colorado River and great food at the bar and grille. Our family stayed in the brand new 2 bedroom suite over the bar and grille, and it was luxurious and beautifully furnished. We were lucky to be traveling at the end of the season so it was available, but I'd recommend booking ahead. The staff were friendly, and we enjoyed getting to know our rafting guide Chett and our zipline guides, photographer, and the crew at the restaurant.
The setting is so gorgeous, it is 45 acres right on the river. The new building was a great addition. The food at the restaurant was delicious, and there's a great outdoor deck with a view that is a great place to hang out. Our kids loved the adventures, and it is conveniently close to Glenwood Springs for site-seeing and dinners out, but we loved the natural setting away from it all. We have great memories from our trip, and I'd recommend it to families for a great summer vacation.

Room Tip: Book ahead during the summer season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbtraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This is a great place for a weekend getaway. The management is very accomodating and very friendly. We are headed back up for Labor Day weekend. Kevin Peterson and Patrick always treat us well at the No Name bar and Grill. They make our stay very enjoyable.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank terri a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed at the tent sites on the river. That part was great, the river is beautiful. But the trains "which we have no control over", run ALL NIGHT LONG and they're directly on the other side of the river from you, very noisy! The unhelpful clerks will give you no refund for having to leave early because you can't sleep there because of the trains.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Adventurer750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I almost did not go b/c of the bad reviews. Seems some coordinated group has an axe to grind.

The trains, yes we were aware of them and they did pass at night. But really did not affect any of our group too much. Not as big of a deal as others may say. If you are looking for total silence, why are you going to a campground anyway?

This place was literally 5 minutes from Glenwood, but you would not know it. Restrooms were generally pretty clean, no real complaints. The camp store was lacking. The sites near the river are great, as you have the water ambiance interrupted once in a while by the train. I did not interact with the staff, except once, when this guy was trying to yell at one of our party for going to fast. I applaud him for keeping it safe for kids, but she was trying to get her son to a hospital who just split his head open. He understood. The bike path is close and while not a challenging ride, is worth doing. Did not do the zip lines, etc as they seemed pricey. All three nights we were there there was live music we could hear from the campsite. They guy was pretty good but by the end I could predict each song and match his notes. There is a launch ramp, or pull out, for the rafters where we were able to swim in the river. Actually, is was like a sandy beach. So it was nice to cool off in.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank itsgottobesaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
646 reviews
2.5 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
335 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
364 reviews
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
#9 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
427 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Canyon Resort

Address: 1308 County Road 129, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-9736 (Formerly Rock Gardens Campground)
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Glenwood Springs
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Glenwood Canyon Resort in majestic Glenwood Canyon, Colorado. Offering cozy accommodations, including Canyon Club Suites, Family Cabins, Deluxe Resort Cabins, RV sites, Camper Cabins, and riverfront tent sites, Glenwood Canyon Resort has ALL of your resting and relaxing needs met. Not to mention, while you stay here with us on the mighty Colorado River, enjoy some of our other amenities offered by the Colorado Adventure Center, such as whitewater rafting trips, zipline tours, high ropes challenge course, climbing walls, self-guided and guided biking tours. After a full day of activities, come on down to our very own on-site bar and grill and enjoy some delicious food and luscious libations on the deck of the No Name Bar and Grill. We look forward to your company and serving you and your family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenwood Canyon Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing