We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just got back and have recomended Glenwood Canyon Resorts to a number of friends”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenwood Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenwood Canyon Resort
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We took a small pop up camper - set up by the river and had a great time for a couple of days. The staff was very friendly and the setting was great. We did the ropes course, the zip line and the raft trip. The kids they have working there truely love their jobs.
The general manager and the owner were very visable and friendly - always making sure you were getting what you need. The setting of the restaurant and bar is great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 637 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Glenwood Canyon Resort last month with another couple. Each couple rented the "camper cabins" and they were perfect for our needs - bed, roof and a cute porch in case you needed to get out of the rain. The resort was complete with a zip line, rafting launch and other nice-to-haves like a small store with toiletries, smores supplies and a few other items.

But the No Name Bar and Grill was the best part! Who would have thought that having a bar/grill right by your campsite would be so handy... Sure we cooked hotdogs over the campfire fire, but we also grabbed beers and a snack at the bar the first day and drinks and dinner there the following night. Not only was the bartender great both days, but the GM actually came out and sat and chatted with us on both occaisions. He really made our trip - even gave us a few free slices of pizza to show his appreciation. It was just one of those little things that made us feel special...

Anyway, we'd probably have gone back to the resort had the property not had a bar and grill, but after that experience, we will most certainly visit that resort again. Kevin, thanks again for a wonderful stay and great service at the No Name Bar and Grill!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We wanted to take our 2 kids (8 and 11) on the zipline. We researched prior to going and making the online reservation - which by the way IS REQUIRED. The WEBSITE says "kids of all ages welcome, the minimum height requirement is 48 inches". Our kids are easily above that tall and were very excited. The booking policy stated no refunds within 3 days and you still have to pay a bunch of penalties. HOWEVER, what the website doesn't say ANYWHERE on the ENTIRE SITE is that kids MUST ALSO be 65 pounds or more. HOLY COW. Our kids are no where close to that - and as a result, they couldn't go. HOWEVER, we also couldn't get our money back either which was also stated on the website. So basically they don't TELL YOU that MOST KIDS 12 and under CANNOT go on the zipline (despite saying"kids of all ages are welcome if they are 48 inches or more tall). Their website is completely misleading and you end up booking and paying for something that you find out when you get therethat day your kids can't do. Not only are your kids disappointed but you ALSO DON'T GET A REFUND. How worthless is that?!?!? At $35 for what is essentially about 10 minutes of actual time it's already too pricey. But the bait and switch gig they've got going on is a complete ripoff. AVOID AT ALL COSTS! There are better ones out there who don't try to screw over people with website scams. And also note - the last 2 other people who reviewed the zipline here ALSO gave them a single star for being a rip off.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank isthatyourdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

While we didn't stay at the facility, we did come out to try the zipline for the very first time. The staff was terrific. They fitted us with the gear, gave us a quick overview regarding what to expect and we were off.

The only surprise was a suspension bridge with some missing slats one has to cross on the far side of the Colorado River. However no worries since even if you fall, you are attached to the cable and the staff won't let anything happen to you.

The most difficult thing for us was leaping off the tower into space. But we aren't the daredevil types either!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank geminigem72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The campground along the river is basically a gravel parking lot with sites 15 feet apart. Directly across the river is a railroad track, where 4 trains went by during the night.
They advertise as having wi-fi, but the signal doesn't reach the campground, so you have to go up to the loud bar and grill to use it.

When I saw the place and asked for my money back so I could go someplace else, they refused. The manager was very rude.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

This resort is NOT a resort. It is a small campground with a cool high ropes course and zip line. Our suggestion is to stop in and do the high ropes or zip line across the Colorado river and then keep on going down the road to better options in Colorado. Campers at this ?resort? do not even get ANY type of discount on the high ropes or zip lining. The cost for our family of four to do the high ropes/zip line...$240, while staying there!
Also, the Colorado was running exceptionally high and there were several washed out campsite and ours had sand bags all along the back. We were getting a little nervous as night fell in our large (and heavy RV) and called the management staff to find out the water level conditions and if our river side site would be safe throughout the night. The Glenwood management staff's response, "we haven't checked it today but it is coming over the sandbags yet?" Yeah, we left safe...NOT!
The train, which campers are not told about, ran 2 - 3 times in the night...11 pm, 1 am and 3 am...and blowing its horn as well.
The high ropes and zip line staff were wonderful but still feel this is a bit pricey and there should be better discounts available.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the river camp sites! Ask for the sites up top near the office, there are about 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachbums2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We went to GCR to experience the Zipline. We were a party of 5 with 2 adults and 3 minors, ages 17, 13, and 8. One of the adults was planning to conquer her fear of heights, while the other was visiting Colorado and unfamiliar with the area. While checking in, it was obvious the front desk staff had no training in customer service. They spoke to us only as it related to the details of our transaction. They were very matter of fact, no smiles or conversation, no welcome or extension of gratitude for our business. Their instructions were so matter of fact, their affect so flat, they might as well have been robots. This set the tone for our experience and if we didn't have 3 minors with us, we would have cancelled and left immediately. The staff at the zipline itself were again, just matter of fact and didn't do anything to add to the experience. Get some personalities people and learn how to use them to enhance whatever your customers are experiencing at the resort. It's basic customer service 101. Give them a reason to come back because I know I won't be returning. P.S. It is NOT a pet friendly place, so keep that in mind.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank tina81611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
649 reviews
2.5 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
336 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
906 reviews
1.7 mi away
Glenwood Hot Springs Resort
Glenwood Hot Springs Resort
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
1,077 reviews
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
Residence Inn Glenwood Springs
#8 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Canyon Resort

Address: 1308 County Road 129, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-9736 (Formerly Rock Gardens Campground)
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Glenwood Springs
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Glenwood Canyon Resort in majestic Glenwood Canyon, Colorado. Offering cozy accommodations, including Canyon Club Suites, Family Cabins, Deluxe Resort Cabins, RV sites, Camper Cabins, and riverfront tent sites, Glenwood Canyon Resort has ALL of your resting and relaxing needs met. Not to mention, while you stay here with us on the mighty Colorado River, enjoy some of our other amenities offered by the Colorado Adventure Center, such as whitewater rafting trips, zipline tours, high ropes challenge course, climbing walls, self-guided and guided biking tours. After a full day of activities, come on down to our very own on-site bar and grill and enjoy some delicious food and luscious libations on the deck of the No Name Bar and Grill. We look forward to your company and serving you and your family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenwood Canyon Hotel Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing