We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Japanese”
Review of May Palace

May Palace
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Montrose, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good Japanese”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Best Miso soup I've had in a while. Very reasonable prices, great location, clean, and a very friendly hostess. Definitely recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Diverse and tasty menu”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We were hungry for sushi and the gal at our hotel recommended May Palace. We were not disappointed. Although the sushi was not the best we have had in Colorado, it was solid flavor wise. The dumplings our son got were amazing and the egg drop soup was the best I have had. I usually pour a bunch of soy sauce in egg drop soup but not one drop was added to theirs as it was flavorful enough. The old Asian man who waited on us made a couple mistakes when he got busy, but he was helpful and worked hard to maximize our savings with the discounts they were offering. It was really like being waited on by your grandfather. Definitely stop in if you have a hinkering for delicious Chinese, Japanese, or Thai cuisine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zachariahtimothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love the dumplings”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Food is always good, I have never gone there and not enjoyed my meal. They are known in town for there steam dumplings, we always have them when we go there for lunch or dinner. The prices are very reasonable for a family of four going out can be expensive at times. They have a lunch menu special but you can order anything on the menu and ask for the lunch size serving. Not a fancy place at but great food and comfortable environment. Also if you ask for spicy you will get spicy which I have found is hard to come by here in Glenwood Springs. I love spicy so this is one of the few places that will actually make things spicy for you if you want.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My first time I'm the area...”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I love my food steaming hot & that's the way it arrived. They have Ti, Chinese & Asian. I would go back. Very good. Small place but friendly ppl & nice quiet atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Road-Trip-Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always welcomed”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We eat here at least once a month. The food is awesome and the prices definatly help when your on a budget. Many of my friends have been going here since high school and the owners still call them by name. The remodel brings this place up a couple of notches.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed May Palace also viewed

Glenwood Springs, CO
Glenwood Springs, CO
 
Glenwood Springs, CO
Glenwood Springs, CO
 

Been to May Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing