We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Non Smoking Nightmare” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
224 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Non Smoking Nightmare”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here and thought we booked a non-smoking room, however next to our non-smoking room was a smoking room. How does the management think that the smoke doesn't travel? It was a comfortable room, but the smoke smell was as issue. The cookie smell on the first floor was pleasent and the cookies were great, but then we went up!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear "Troy M": We are so sorry about the smoke smell in your room. You are right, the smell does unfortunately travel. Thankfully for non-smokers, more and more hotels are leaning toward "smoke-free" facilities. We are glad you enjoyed the cookies, they are definitely a plus! Thank you so much for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    87
    49
    16
    9
See reviews for
95
79
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights recently and really enjoyed ourselves. When we first checked in we were given an interconnecting room which is always a problem for me as I am a very light sleeper so explained this to Brad at reception and he changed the room for us. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. Breakfast is the standard Holiday Inn Express offering and was all we needed to keep us going through the day. Location was great, we didn't use our car for the 3 days as we were able to walk everywhere, 5 minutes to the Hot Springs Hotel and the centre of town was just a couple of minutes further on. Pool and hot tub were great at the end of a busy day. Staff were brilliant and so friendly, especially Brad and we will definitely be returning one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melanies752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear "melanie s": We appreciate the great comments about Brad and the rest of our Staff! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel here in Glenwood Springs. It's nice to know you were moved to a different room; we definitely want all of our guests to be comfortable. We hope you stay with us again when you return to Glenwood Springs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Kansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in hotels for 11 days while on vacation and this one was the best of them all. The front desk service was by far the best of any place we stayed. The hotel was clean and our room was excellent. The staff was excellent and the price was well worth the stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear "Rich 587": Thank you so much for the great review on TripAdvisor! We are so glad you decided to stay with us on your vacation. It's good to know our Front Desk staff as well as the rest of our staff took good care of you. We hope the next time you are in Glenwood Springs you'll stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night, as we were hiking to Hanging Lake the next morning. Everything I expected for a Holiday Inn Express. The outside perimeter was not to nice looking, but we just needed a room to sleep and shower in and the rooms were nice, so we were satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear "Angela O": Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you had a "great one night stay" with us at the Holiday Inn Express. Thank you for you input on the perimeter of the outside of the Hotel also. We hope you stay with us again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This property that apparently is sold out through out the summer season does not seem to have gotten it together by the end of this season. We checked in using our priority club points and was pleased when they were able to upgrade us to a room with a sleeper couch, only to have gotten it wrong twice. It was already 6pm so I would not excpet to have been given a dirty room and then changed to an occupied room. Well I guess 3 times is a charm the room was good. It is your typical Holiday Inn style which has gotten much nicer over the years. My one major issue was the dry urine on the toilet. After switching rooms 3 times I really did not feel like talking to the desk about the issue. You can tell that this is a very busy hotel during the season and maybe they just had an off day with Housekeeping. I would stay again but would not waste my Priority club points as my husband pointed out. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EDboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear "EDboys": First, we would like to thank you for staying with us and also for being a Priority Club Member. You are right, the Holiday Inn Express is sold out much throughout the Summer season. It sounds like much chaos on your arrival date, and we do apologize for that. It is very unfortunate that this happened to you, and is unexcusable. We would not want you to bypass staying with us again due to this incident. It is appreciated that these incidents have been brought to our attention, and will be addressed to the appropriate department managers. If we can help amend this situation in any way, we would like to hear from you directly. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a quick stay here but we were very comfortable the whole time. We had fun swimming and relaxing in the hot tub in the mountain shadows. The breakfast was your typical HIE continental but it satisfies your morning hunger. The room was clean and comfortable. Location was also nice, easy to park, close to downtown but quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denglerfamilyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Denglerfamilyfour": Even though it was a quick stay, it's still always enjoyable in Glenwood Springs! We're glad you you chose to stay with us, and that you enjoyed the Hotel and the Hot Springs. Being located not far from downtown and the Hot Springs is always nice for all of our Guests. Thank you for your review and visiting us at the Holiday Inn Express!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel was nice and the rooms were clean, however I can't say that about the hallways and the elevator, There was a pizza box in the hallway from the night we arrived (thurs) until Saturday night and the eleveators looked like they haven't been vaccumed in about a month. The hot tub was out our whole visit which not a big deal things happen and they allowed us to use the hot tub and pool at the hotel next door. The continental breakfast was good and the service was good just a little cleaning issues is the problem. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOLPHIN0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear "DOLPHIN0308: Thank you so much for your review and input on TripAdvisor. We always appreciate guests letting us know their concerns and what we may need to improve on. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and especially happy to hear that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#6 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs
Address: 501 W 1st St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-2962
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Glenwood Springs (Aspen Area). Whether traveling on business or on pleasure, this Glenwood Springs Hotel is the perfect choice offering free Smart Hot Buffet Breakfast, free Complimentary Wireless High-Speed Internet and the best hotel value in the Glenwood Springs / Aspen area! Convenient location just four blocks from the famous Hot Springs Pool. Adjacent to the Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, Glenwood Springs newest area attraction open year around . Conveniently located near Ski Sunlight Resort or enjoy Aspen / Snowmass Ski Resort just 40 minutes from the hotel. Many restaurants and entertainment venues within a few blocks of the hotel. Ask about our packages! Group room rates also available by calling the hotel direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs Hotel Glenwood Springs
Holiday Inn Glenwood Springs
Glenwood Springs Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing