We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great One Night Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Southern California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great One Night Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night, as we were hiking to Hanging Lake the next morning. Everything I expected for a Holiday Inn Express. The outside perimeter was not to nice looking, but we just needed a room to sleep and shower in and the rooms were nice, so we were satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear "Angela O": Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you had a "great one night stay" with us at the Holiday Inn Express. Thank you for you input on the perimeter of the outside of the Hotel also. We hope you stay with us again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    84
    47
    16
    9
See reviews for
93
76
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This property that apparently is sold out through out the summer season does not seem to have gotten it together by the end of this season. We checked in using our priority club points and was pleased when they were able to upgrade us to a room with a sleeper couch, only to have gotten it wrong twice. It was already 6pm so I would not excpet to have been given a dirty room and then changed to an occupied room. Well I guess 3 times is a charm the room was good. It is your typical Holiday Inn style which has gotten much nicer over the years. My one major issue was the dry urine on the toilet. After switching rooms 3 times I really did not feel like talking to the desk about the issue. You can tell that this is a very busy hotel during the season and maybe they just had an off day with Housekeeping. I would stay again but would not waste my Priority club points as my husband pointed out. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EDboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear "EDboys": First, we would like to thank you for staying with us and also for being a Priority Club Member. You are right, the Holiday Inn Express is sold out much throughout the Summer season. It sounds like much chaos on your arrival date, and we do apologize for that. It is very unfortunate that this happened to you, and is unexcusable. We would not want you to bypass staying with us again due to this incident. It is appreciated that these incidents have been brought to our attention, and will be addressed to the appropriate department managers. If we can help amend this situation in any way, we would like to hear from you directly. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a quick stay here but we were very comfortable the whole time. We had fun swimming and relaxing in the hot tub in the mountain shadows. The breakfast was your typical HIE continental but it satisfies your morning hunger. The room was clean and comfortable. Location was also nice, easy to park, close to downtown but quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denglerfamilyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Denglerfamilyfour": Even though it was a quick stay, it's still always enjoyable in Glenwood Springs! We're glad you you chose to stay with us, and that you enjoyed the Hotel and the Hot Springs. Being located not far from downtown and the Hot Springs is always nice for all of our Guests. Thank you for your review and visiting us at the Holiday Inn Express!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel was nice and the rooms were clean, however I can't say that about the hallways and the elevator, There was a pizza box in the hallway from the night we arrived (thurs) until Saturday night and the eleveators looked like they haven't been vaccumed in about a month. The hot tub was out our whole visit which not a big deal things happen and they allowed us to use the hot tub and pool at the hotel next door. The continental breakfast was good and the service was good just a little cleaning issues is the problem. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOLPHIN0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear "DOLPHIN0308: Thank you so much for your review and input on TripAdvisor. We always appreciate guests letting us know their concerns and what we may need to improve on. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and especially happy to hear that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Despite being a Priority Club member we got stuck with a room next to the elevator which is both noisy and smaller than the other rooms in the hotel since the elevator juts out into the room. The hgiway noise is also pretty bad. We won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room at either end of the corrider bt not on the side facing the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westcoastguy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear "westcoastguy": We would like to thank you for being a Priority Club member as well as staying with us at our Hotel. We are sorry you were disappointed with your room and your stay with us. We hope that you would choose to stay with us on your next visit to Glenwood Springs. Room requests are always considered and relocating you to a different room would always also be an option. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I've stayed here many times, and the service is generally one of the best parts of my stay. I've always had a good experience here. Two tips, stay either on the top floor, or the suite on the first floor next to the elevator. If you get stuck below a room, you'll be hearing footstep and bangs all night. Also, some rooms are better than others in this hotel, as far as appearance and comfort, which is strange. We upgraded to the "vaulted ceiling" room and were very happy with the selection. Good size for small family. They do a good job with room service and of course the hotel offers a decent little free breakfast. They have a small pool outside, with a patio, so another win for the family. The hot tub was lukewarm at best. They also have a deal witht he hotel next door so ou can use their indoor pool. I think it costs extra, not sure. The location isn't he best here. Close tot he highway, and really not walkable to downtown. Technically you could do it, but it's a stretch. There is a good sandwich shop next door, (Chomps) and an awesome Mexican restaurant (Tequillas) right down the street. Also, if you're with your family, the tram for Adventure Park is a 5min walk. The hot springs pool is walkable, but an easy 2min drive away. Overall, I've enjoyed my stays here. Are there better options? Yes, but with the price this is a fine option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theinsurancetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear "theinsurancetraveler": Thank you for staying with us once again! We always appreciate our return Guests as well as your comments on TripAdvisor. It's always nice to upgrade to the Suite as you did - great Suite, very roomy indeed. We are glad you enjoyed the great restaurants and activities while you were in Glenwood Springs also. We are all definitely looking forward to your next family visit with us here at the Holiday Inn Express!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We recently booked 5 rooms for a family event in the area. Unfortunately, we were put on the third floor, which included 'smoking' rooms mixed right alongside the non-smoking rooms. When you reached the 3rd floor, the smell was enough to make us all wince. Imagine the nastiest smelling bar where people smoke from 7am-2pm and it's never cleaned ... and that's what it smelled like! It was honestly hard to comprehend how it could smell so bad. Other then that, the hotel was great. It seemed as if the other floors didn't have the same problem, so be sure to skip the 3rd floor. Many of the rooms were also understocked on towels, etc., so we had to ask the desk.

Room Tip: Don't book the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyEHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear "RubyEHeart": Thank you so much for your comments on TripAdvisor. We always appreciate good comments as well as critiques and suggestions. We apologize for the smoking smell as well as the shortage on the towels. We are also happy that you did mention that the Holiday Inn Express in Glenwood Springs is "great". Thank you again, and we hope you will stay with us on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#6 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
#9 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs
Address: 501 W 1st St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-2962
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Glenwood Springs (Aspen Area). Whether traveling on business or on pleasure, this Glenwood Springs Hotel is the perfect choice offering free Smart Hot Buffet Breakfast, free Complimentary Wireless High-Speed Internet and the best hotel value in the Glenwood Springs / Aspen area! Convenient location just four blocks from the famous Hot Springs Pool. Adjacent to the Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, Glenwood Springs newest area attraction open year around . Conveniently located near Ski Sunlight Resort or enjoy Aspen / Snowmass Ski Resort just 40 minutes from the hotel. Many restaurants and entertainment venues within a few blocks of the hotel. Ask about our packages! Group room rates also available by calling the hotel direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs Hotel Glenwood Springs
Holiday Inn Glenwood Springs
Glenwood Springs Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing