We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveler rating
133
16
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
16
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the study murphy bed night air walk downtown hosts accommodations colorado refrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 151 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is definitely the best bed and breakfast experience we've ever had, especially for the price. My husband and I stayed the weekend in Glenwood Springs for my birthday.

One of my favorite things about this Best Kept Secret is that there are only two guest rooms on opposite ends of the house. We really felt like welcome guests and didn't have awkward mornings with loud overnight neighbors, if you get what I mean. We stayed in the Budoir, which is a little bedroom and a bathroom just down the hall with a sliding door that separates the Budoir area from the main dining room and living area. The bed was very cozy but not too hot and the pillows were very comfortable.

The location is pretty much perfect for hanging around town or having a base for hiking in Glenwood or Aspen (40 min drive). The house is right downtown in a residential area but it's only a five minute walk to the footbridge that will take you straight across the Colorado River and to the Hot Springs if you're into that sort of thing. (You definitely have to stop by Sacred Grounds on Grand Ave if you do walk--amazing sandwiches!) Plenty of parking.

David and Liza are very helpful, genuine people. David will school you on the history of Glenwood Springs (and water rights) if you let him--fair warning. Liza's breakfasts were healthy and hearty and you can definitely taste the love. Very welcoming family. Oh! David will also hook you up with Athletic Club passes to the Hot Springs and other local attractions.

We will most definitely be staying again! Apparently, this winter they will be open with discounted rates. Best Kept Secret would probable be the only reason I'd want to drive through the mountains in the winter.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milkshakerrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleRocktraveler, Owner at Best Kept Secret B & B, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Happy Birthday, again and we will look forward to your next visit. Thanks so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Liza and David have created an all-around great place to stay. Their home is beautiful, inside and out. The location is perfect. We brought our bikes and could bike to just about anywhere in town. Liza and David were extremely accommodating- anything we needed or any questions we had, they were there! And the breakfasts were absolutely delicious! Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleRocktraveler, Owner at Best Kept Secret B & B, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for staying and for the lovely review. We are delighted to hear you had such a great time and look forward to your next visit. The trees are beautiful in the fall up here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Small B&B with excellent hosts. Breakfast was awesome and the grounds are beautiful. We enjoyed sitting n the front porch and watching the world go by as much as soaking in the hot springs and hiking around town. Thanks David and Liza!
~Jake & Theresa

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Liza and David do a wonderful job of making you feel at home. The B&B is perfectly located in Glenwood springs, and the gardens are beautiful. Great home, great breakfasts, and great company and information!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for suggestions on things to do. This couple has a wealth of information!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We spent three nights at this lovely bed and breakfast. The location is ideal for doing anything in town - just a short walk to great restaurants, shopping and the hot springs. We frequent B&Bs when traveling and David and Liza have lovingly created an inviting and relaxing home nestled in an absolutely beautiful garden setting complete with a water fountain. We enjoyed reading on the front porch in the late afternoon following a busy day of golf or sightseeing. David is a wealth of knowledge concerning the area, and Liza makes the most delicious breakfasts! We will definately be back!
Gail E.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GailE79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews