We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great choice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Kept Secret B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Best Kept Secret B & B
GreenLeadersSilver level
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great choice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed this weekend in Glenwood Springs and went to the Yampa Spa for a day. I decided to find a bed and breakfast for the trip and this one came recommended. Overall it was a great choice. It is a small and intimate B&B with only two rooms. Breakfast is home cooked with a special plus several alternate choices. I always got the special and it was very good. The owners are super nice and helpful if you need any advice about the area, and we enjoyed talking with them very much. We had the Boudoir and it was a small but nicely furnished room. The bathroom was private and quite large. The location was perfect. It is very quiet, but still within walking distance from all the places of interest. My only complaint was that the bed was not very comfortable. Granted that I am picky about my bed, but I think it is time for a new high end bed for that room. I'm a big guy and I sank a bit in the middle.

Overall an excellent value. I will stay there again if I return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffla376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
84
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We booked both rooms for two nights in August 2011- one for my wife and I, and one for my octogenarian parents. The hosts, the breakfasts, and the location convenience were excellent. Rooms are a bit small but very comfortable. My parents enjoyed the stay very much- especially the conversations with the hosts. We will definitely try to stay there on future trips to Glenwood Springs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We spent 2 nights in Glenwood springs, best kept secret was well located and we were given a lot of local information. The house was beautiful and the rooms were thoughtfully furnished. Breakfasts were good with a different cooked option each morning. I would really recommend the hot springs and canyon cycle hire to cycle the canyon with the hike to the hanging lake well worth the effort. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L1ttlest_h0b0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

David and Lisa are such wonderful hosts, from David's initial warm welcome at the door to Lisa's delicious and beautifully prepared and presented breakast - not to mention the elegant room (one of two) with such a well-stocked and varied library. A great pity that we could not stay longer than one night. Quiet, yet close to the centre of the the town, interesting to visit armed with David's helpful hints about what to do and how to enjoy it (especially the springs themselves - complete with snow when we visited).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel and Verena Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

This was a delightful B&B in every respect. Small and cosy, great for couples. Nothing was too much bother. Breakfast was wonderful different every day, with likes and dislikes catered for, and served on the one table which was great as it encouraged you to talk to fellow guests. The owner was very helpful about things to do in the area and had a beautiful friendly dog that was allowed to be part of the experience. We were even able to use the washing machine, borrow bikes and there was a fridge for each room in the lounge. Without a doubt this is one of the best B&B's that we have ever stayed at; it felt like staying in someone's home, perfect for a relaxing get away and there's even a hot tub in the garden!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonty1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Wow! Talk about a great energy, fabulous breakfast every morning, comfortable bed ... we were in heaven. Every morning, the table was set with different china and lit candles. Just one block off of the main street, we were within walking distance to most everything! I'm sure we asked a thousand questions about the city and it's history with each one met with a patient and informative response. During our visit, we were able to pseudo adopt the family dog!! What a sweetheart and a real treat for us! :)

I'm wondering where I can get my hands on the German pancake recipe! It's out of this world good!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TamnahD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

We had a wonderful and relaxing stay at this B&B! Breakfast was delicious and artistically prepared. There were edible flowers on our fruit plates and love the all organic breakfast served. Will definitely come back next time we visit Colorado.

Room Tip: I love the Boudour! Light and bright!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roxanne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Kept Secret B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Kept Secret B & B

Property: Best Kept Secret B & B
Address: 915 Colorado Avenue, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic B & B was built in 1914 and is located in the heart of downtown Glenwood Springs. You can walk to almost everything. We offer two beautiful first floor rooms, each with a private bath. The Boudoir has a queen bed and large full bathroom (shower/tub). The Study sleeps three adults: queen bed plus a single Murphy wall bed; the bath has a beautiful tile shower. Enjoy our sunny front porch and uncommonly pretty gardens. Relax in the intimate outdoor hot tub or watch television in the common area. Free Internet and bicycles are provided. Scrumptious, mostly organic breakfast includes ample portions of healthy choices. Our guests enjoy discounts at the Yampah Vapor Caves and the Hot Springs Athletic Club & Pool. Come join us for a stay in paradise! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing