We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can cross it off my list”

Glenwood Hot Springs Pool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located between Aspen and Vail, you'll find the World's Largest Hot Springs Pool. The Ute Indians called it Yampah, meaning "big medicine." Soothe your muscles after outdoor activities year round. The large pool is kept at a comfortable 90°- 93° F and the smaller therapy pool averages about 104° F. Additional amenities include a lodge, spa, athletic club, grill and shopping. Relieve muscle and joint pain, or just relax and feel the wonder of a soak in our hot springs. Soaking in hot, highly concentrated mineral water has many health benefits. Increasing body temperature helps the body naturally kill harmful germs and viruses, eliminate toxins, and increase blood flow. The absorbtion of essential minerals gives the body a natural boost. You will feel the difference within minutes of stepping in. Jump in the large pool, at over 400 feet long, and "cool down." Swim laps or practice your form on the diving board. Water slides, mini golf, and kiddie pool are available in the warmer months. Bring your own cooler and snacks, or stop by the poolside Grill to grab a bite.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I can cross it off my list”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I enjoyed being here. The water was soothing but quite crowded. It wasn't bad, just didn't live up to the hype.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,166
    651
    235
    51
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Baths”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Unique place, clean and great temperature. Not as crowded as we were expecting. Not all the bubble chairs worked. Quite expensive for day visitors.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bri_Ang_T2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Warm up”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We loved the springs pool. First it was HUGE so much room! Second. We loved the pools of varying temps. We could move from one to the other. Just to let you know the HOT pool gets hotter the further you go into it. Felt great after a day of hiking Hanging Lake. The slide costs extra so we didn't do that. Take your towels as they charge $2.50 to rent towels. They have locker rental too It is only .50 for one time entry or more for unlimited. Highly recommend this. They also have spa bubble seats in the hot pool. Take quarters as they cost .25 per use. Worth a try.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank denise f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Glenwood Hot Springs - worth a visit”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hot springs, though crowded, were absolutely worth visiting. I was a bit concerned the springs might have an overwhelming sulfur odor, and though one does notice a bit of a smell, it in no way detracts from the springs themselves. Be warned that during the summer months, the springs are very crowded and if you want to score a chair or lounger by the pool, it is best to be there when the pool opens and stake your claim. This attraction caters to families and those looking for a therapeutic experience. There are slides at one of the pool, though no one in our party tried them out.We had the best time swimming at night after the temps dropped a bit.
If you stay at the Lodge Hotel situated just above the pool, you can use the pool for free, including the day you check out. Also, the Lodge offers a decent free breakfast at The Grill restaurant, which is part of the Hot Springs.
Some reviewers wrote that the springs are not the typical hot spring experience that can be found in Colorado - I agree with this criticism. Having visited Strawberry Hot Springs in Steamboat, the Glenwood Hot Springs experience is much tamer.Though there are no spectacular views, however there are also no naked bathers like I encountered at Strawberry Springs (at night) and there are tons of life guards, making it family-friendly. A fun experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sailgirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hots springs are Hot!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Two pools, one 104 degrees for soaking ,the other one 88 degrees with 12ft diving area at one end. We bought tickets that included water slides since our 3 grandkids were with us. Slides are entirely separate from pools, not crowded. Yes it was crowded in large pools but it was a Sunday afternoon. But still had plenty of room for kids to play in the large pool. Very family oriented. Beautiful buildings look restored that reflect the old days. Parking lots were crowded but be patient you'll find a space. I noticed people brought their coolers with their own drinks & snacks. Very nice changing areas, restrooms & lockers. A resort style gift shop.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenwood Hot Springs Pool also viewed

 

Been to Glenwood Hot Springs Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing