We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't think I would go again...”

Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.00*
and up
Tram Only Admission to Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in historic Glenwood Springs, Colorado, Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park offers a unique mountain-top adventure that's fun for the whole family. Ride the Giant Canyon Swing-featured on "Good Morning America" and the Travel Channel show, "Bert the Conqueror"-as well as the longest Alpine Coaster in Colorado, the Glenwood Canyon Flyer, the Soaring Eagle Zip Ride, the Cliffhanger Roller Coaster, the GiddyUp, the Mine Wheel Ferris-wheel-style-ride and the Wild West Express Coaster. You can race through the Fort Where-Am-I Maze, play laser tag, conquer the climbing wall and enjoy films in our 4D Motion Theater. Some rides are seasonal; a list of which attractions are open can be found on our website. Great for groups, family reunions and birthday parties. Your visit to the Glenwood Caverns promises a unique, mountain-top adventure and memories to last a lifetime. The wholesome fun of nature-based educational activities combined with attractions to please die-hard thrill seekers makes this the perfect place to spend a day with family and friends.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Don't think I would go again...”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I went to Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park because it was really the only thing to do. It was so hot and going up there made it even worse. I didn't go on any of the rides because it was to hot or they were to scary for me. There is one ride that literally swings you out over the mountain. No thank you. I did do the kid-find-cool-rocks-in-the-pond thing. So you can go or not, if you like rides, you'll probably want to go.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to the park. In the summer, mornings and evenings are the best times to avoid the heat. The caves are also nice and cool, 52 degrees all year. Your feedback is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    818
    469
    130
    36
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tour Guide made the trip worth it”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

You have to take a trolly ride up the mountain to access the caverns. In the past I've had issues of being "trapped" on top the mountain due to "technical difficulties" and this trip was no exception. In my opinion it's a tactic during slow season to keep you up there to dine or buy more souvenirs. That being said the caves were interesting with the tour guide providing a good history. The views inside and outside the caves are amazing. The tour guide wasn't busy and had some free time before the actual tour started so she took us (4 total) on the second half of the tour first. This more private showing of the caves made the entire trip totally worth it. It felt like a private tour and the guide was so knowledgeable. The first half of the tour was with the larger group and not as much fun because of the size of the group. The second half was more strenuous "lots of stairs" but doable for most able people. I'm glad we were able to do that part first then rest up a few minutes for the first half which was cake.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Linda,
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit and cave tour.

Our unique location on top of the mountain comes with many advantages, like the beautiful views, and also some challenges. These challenges, which are common to all areas accessed via gondola, include susceptibility to weather and occasional technical difficulties. We do our very best to minimize disruptions to service because our goal is to make people smile and encourage them to come back again and again. We apologize if you were inconvenienced during your visit.

Thank you for your patronage and for taking the time to share your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A fine cave tour for everyone”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We really enjoyed our tour of the Glenwood Caverns last week. We took our two grandsons (11 and 13) and they were fascinated. First we rode up on the tram for about 15 minutes, then toured the nice gift shop at the top. It was just a short, easy walk with the guide down to the cave entrance and we were in. For over an hour she provided so much history and information about the cave. This one is well worth it, as she combined the two summertime tours into one longer winter tour. My wife and I had toured it (Fairy Cave then) about 15 years ago when you had to ride a bus up the mountain. We saw so much more this time that has been opened up. Our AAA card saved us about $9. Anyone can walk through this cave, except for perhaps a climb up and down 90 solid wooden stairs if your legs won't tolerate that. But, you could wait for the others on top of the landing to climb back up. The elevator is in the tram building, but not in the cave. Cost about $85 for the four of us. Buy tickets the day before for a certain time if your schedule is limited.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired-math-teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Retired-math-teacher,

We are so happy that you and your grandchildren enjoyed the cave tour so much! The caves are full of fascinating history, and we are glad you were able to share that with your family. It's always fun to hear from guests who have visited us over the years as we've grown, so we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Thank you for all the helpful information and the wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go in the summer”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Everything was OK, but go in the summer. Many attractions were closed because of the temperature. A little bit expensive, but they do have a 'manual' coaster that it's wonderful.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rodrigobarros33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Rodrigo,
Thank you for visiting us this winter. It's good to hear that you enjoyed the Alpine Coaster. During the winter, our tram, Alpine Coaster, 4D theater, laser tag arena, restaurant and cave tours are open. The rest of our rides and attractions are seasonal, so there's definitely more going on in the summer months. We appreciate your feedback and hope you'll come back and see us this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cave Tour!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Most of this attraction was closed, due to it being wintertime, but the cave tour was open. Our group visited here and really enjoyed the warmth of the cave after being out in the snow. Along the tour, there's an opportunity to walk out onto the side of the mountain for some spectacular views. The tour runs about 45 minutes to an hour, depending on how many questions folks have, and can be tiring for some people, going up and down the paths.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Spiritwolf922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Spiritwolf922,

We're glad you enjoyed your cave tour! Considering the caves remain at 52 degrees year-round, they always feel quite toasty during the chilly winter months, and the snowy views are always amazing. We hope you can visit us again sometime when the rest of the adventure park is open! Thanks so much for the great review; we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park also viewed

 

Been to Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing