We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glenwood Caverns Amusement Park”

Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in historic Glenwood Springs, Colorado, Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park offers a unique mountain-top adventure that's fun for the whole family. Ride the Giant Canyon Swing-featured on "Good Morning America" and the Travel Channel show, "Bert the Conqueror"-as well as the longest Alpine Coaster in Colorado, the Glenwood Canyon Flyer, the Soaring Eagle Zip Ride, the Cliffhanger Roller Coaster, the GiddyUp, the Mine Wheel Ferris-wheel-style-ride and the Wild West Express Coaster. You can race through the Fort Where-Am-I Maze, play laser tag, conquer the climbing wall and enjoy films in our 4D Motion Theater. Some rides are seasonal; a list of which attractions are open can be found on our website. Great for groups, family reunions and birthday parties. Your visit to the Glenwood Caverns promises a unique, mountain-top adventure and memories to last a lifetime. The wholesome fun of nature-based educational activities combined with attractions to please die-hard thrill seekers makes this the perfect place to spend a day with family and friends.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

While the rides themselves fell extremely short at Glenwood Caverns where young children are concerned causing great disappointment, the park staff were friendly and informative. The kitchen and restaurant staff were very attentive to our needs as parents and the noteworthy Kings Row tour guide (Mark) ended our day on a very good note which allowed us to thankfully return home with two smiling children.

The park does have laser tag, a sandbox, a maze, a couple of children's rides and gem mining. However, we would like to say that a common sandbox is not an exceptional attraction. The gem mining is an additional cost above the admission price. Overall we rated Glenwood Springs Amusement Park as "Very Good" due to the lack of rides and interactive activities for younger children as well as the cost. (Almost $200 to get in for a family of four). The tour guide, Mark truly saved the day and we rate him at Excellent.

We were truly expecting the girls (5 & 3) to get bored on a 45 minute cave tour even if a few "Fairies" were going to be spotted. However, Mark, the exceptionally animated and well spoken guide which led us through the cavern managed to keep their attention and make them giggle throughout the 127 step tour. Much to the kids delight, he stomped around like a giant and imitated a fire breathing dragon among his many antics. Additionally, he compared formations to common objects the girls could relate to and paid the extra bit of attention when he noticed a child was struggling to see something particular.

It is rare to discover a diamond such as Mark on family outings. It would be to Glenwood Caverns great benefit to recognize the extraordinary personality they have employed and utilize him to his fullest potential. Thank you Mark if you see this! You saved the day!!

3  Thank Happy_Family_Outings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for spending the day at the park. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the cave tour and that our employees were friendly and informative.

One of our goals is to provide rides and attractions that are safe and that appeal to as many age groups as possible. With safety as our priority, we follow the ride manufacturers guidelines for age, height and weight requirements closely. To make sure families are informed about what's available at the park for their children, the restrictions are posted at the ticket office at the base.

We have several rides geared toward our younger guests, including the GiddyUp, Wild West Express roller coaster, climbing wall, Wild West Adventure Wagon, Alpine Coaster, the 4D Motion Theater, Mine Wheel and Fort WhereAmI Maze. Depending on height, many 5-year-old children can also ride the Soaring Eagle Zip Ride. All of these attractions are included in the Funday Pass.

Customer feedback is very important to us and we value your comments. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"alpine coaster"
in 352 reviews
"cave tour"
in 301 reviews
"tram ride"
in 124 reviews
"laser tag"
in 123 reviews
"canyon swing"
in 66 reviews
"giant swing"
in 54 reviews
"day pass"
in 137 reviews
"kings row"
in 47 reviews
"thrill rides"
in 48 reviews
"fairy cave"
in 43 reviews
"zip line"
in 155 reviews
"canyon flyer"
in 23 reviews
"mountain top"
in 23 reviews
"unlimited rides"
in 18 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 65 reviews
"all ages"
in 72 reviews
"whole family"
in 55 reviews
Filter

1,275 - 1,279 of 1,732 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

I would recommend going on the Adventure Park's own website and watching the giant canyon swing video before you decide whether to go on it - or maybe not and just suck it up and go for it! There can be queues at peak times and the gondola can be rather unreliable (threatened thunder and lightning when we were there so we were bused down the mountain but no great hardship). The drinks etc. were not a massive rip-off like some amusement parks we've visited. The alpine coaster is great unless you get stuck behind some slowcoach who holds you up. The little roller coaster was great fun and we went on this a few times. We didn't bother with the cave tours as there were long queues and we'd done something similar recently. The giant canyon swing is probably the reason we wanted to go to the park but having watched it first we really had to steel ourselves to go on - twice as you have to try it facing both directions!! I can honestly say its the scariest ride I've been on but if I had chickened out I'd never had forgiven myself - give it a go !

1  Thank SherlockEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear SherlockEdinburgh,

We're so happy you decided to brave the Giant Canyon Swing! It is certainly a bit intimidating at times, but it's worth it for the views alone, let alone the thrill. We are sorry the weather didn't cooperate during your visit, but we're glad you enjoyed the Adventure Park nonetheless.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful review. We hope you can visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

It's more of a mini theme park now, but we still learned things and had loads of fun. Give yourself a half day. Bite the bullet and pay for the all inclusive rate!

Thank RockyMtnsMnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear RockyMtnsMnM,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us! It's so fun to hear from guests who have visited us at different times over the years as we've grown. We're glad to hear you found your visit both fun and educational, and we hope you can come back soon. Thanks so much for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Caverns were incredible... worth seeing. Thousands of years of mineral formations. Take your camera, and jacket.

1  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Jeff,

We're happy to hear how much you enjoyed the caves at Glenwood Caverns! They definitely provide some good photo opportunities. You're right about the jacket, too -- at 52 degrees year-round, the caves can be a little chilly without one at times.

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this great review. We hope you can visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

It is beautiful don't get me wrong but wow, I don't know how people can afford to take their families. My daughter (17) and baby brother (19) wanted to check out the new Roller coaster. We live in the area so it was just a short drive. For 3 of us to ride the gondola up was 40 bucks. Once we got to the top we all wanted to ride the zip line ($12 per person), Alpine coaster ($12 pp), and the New Cliff Hanger Roller Coaster ($12 pp). We get up to the ticket counter and the Roller Coaster we came to ride was closed. I just paid 40 bucks to ride up this mountain to find out its closed!!! They could of posted that info at the gondola. We would of never of gone if they would of informed us that. So since we are there I bought us each tickets to ride the zip line and the Alpine coaster. Which came out to be $72.00 for 3 of us to ride TWO rides. That is CRAZY! We can go to Eliches and ride over 50 rides for 46.00. We road the Alpine Slide which is fun but not worth 12 dollars. Then we went to ride the zip line and of course is was closed. What a waste of money. I spent a total of 112.00 bucks to ride the alpine slide twice. Save you $$$ and go somewhere else. Heck Disneyland is a way better deal.

1  Thank Desiree L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Desiree,
Thank you for visiting the park. We offer a Funday Pass that includes the gondola ride, both cave walking tours and unlimited turns on all of the rides for $48. We apologize if there was confusion about our pricing structure and would be happy to speak to you in person about your experience. Please give Eric Brotherson a call at 800-530-1635, ext. 124. Your feedback is important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park also viewed

 
Glenwood Springs, CO
 

Been to Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing