We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must if you are in the area”

Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in historic Glenwood Springs, Colorado, Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park offers a unique mountain-top adventure that's fun for the whole family. Ride the Giant Canyon Swing-featured on "Good Morning America" and the Travel Channel show, "Bert the Conqueror"-as well as the longest Alpine Coaster in Colorado, the Glenwood Canyon Flyer, the Soaring Eagle Zip Ride, the Cliffhanger Roller Coaster, the GiddyUp, the Mine Wheel Ferris-wheel-style-ride and the Wild West Express Coaster. You can race through the Fort Where-Am-I Maze, play laser tag, conquer the climbing wall and enjoy films in our 4D Motion Theater. Some rides are seasonal; a list of which attractions are open can be found on our website. Great for groups, family reunions and birthday parties. Your visit to the Glenwood Caverns promises a unique, mountain-top adventure and memories to last a lifetime. The wholesome fun of nature-based educational activities combined with attractions to please die-hard thrill seekers makes this the perfect place to spend a day with family and friends.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Caverns are beautiful and well maintained. Short but educational tours - just enough! Kids loved it - as we did too!

Thank snthayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear snthayer,

We're so glad you enjoyed the Adventure Park and the Historic Fairy Caves! Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us; we hope you can visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,247 - 1,251 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

The website makes this park seem a LOT bigger than it really is. We went on Sunday, Sept. 1st, and had really great weather, so it was nice to just be on top of the mountain and get the great views, fresh air, and relax a bit. The rides are in good working order, the park itself is scenic enough and so my advice is don't expect there to be a lot to actually DO ... just be happy to meander around, stand in line for a while, and take it for what it's worth.

The Pros:

1. It's on the top of a mountain, and the views are beautiful.

2. Nice bathroom (yes, there's only ONE public restroom, but because the park is so small, you really only need one!)

3. The tram ride to the top is fun; especially if you have kids, they really get a kick out of it.

4. The rides are unique, like the Alpine Coaster. This was our first ride at 9 am and we loved it; went on it two more times.

5. The climbing tower is fun and different, for the kids. The Cliffhanger coaster is pretty fun for kids, too, and the large maze was something my daughter (five years old) really enjoyed. She dragged us through it twice!

6. You are allowed to bring your own food and drink, which is really nice, and there are plenty of covered picnic tables throughout the park, so that's a really nice perk to just sit and relax in the shade.

7. The cave guides are very knowledgeable, and they definitely do seem to have an interest in entertaining and informing the guests on the tours. Faced with a kind of boring cave, the tour guide became the most interesting thing to look at.

Cons:

1. Not worth the price. We paid $48 per adult and it was really not worth that much, considering how many attractions there were. I'd say it's around a $30 - $35 value, at the most.

2. The time spent waiting in line is waaaay too long. The rides are just not set up to get passengers on and off quickly. The first two hours the Eagle zip line was open, only one line (out of two) were working, because the park didn't start the second line operator until noon. Seriously? On a holiday weekend they didn't see a larger crowd coming?

3. The ride durations are short. The Alpine Coaster is probably the longest, but mostly due to the fact that once you get to the bottom of the ride, you have to be pulled uphill (very slowly) back to the starting point. The Cliffhanger lasts about one minute, and the zip line is shorter than that.

4. There are almost absolutely NO RIDES for kids under 36 inches. Thankfully our daughter topped out at 48 inches (exactly) so she could go on everything, but I couldn't help but notice all the families that were there with younger kids who basically spent the entire day strapped into their strollers because there was nothing for them to do except play in a huge sandbox.

5. The caves are just okay ... nothing fabulous, and my daughter was bored with it within five minutes. The guides are very knowledgeable, like I mentioned earlier, but honestly it's nothing you can't miss.

6. The staff is bored. Some of them don't seem to have a pulse, even if you crack a joke. NO REACTION. I get it, though ... it's been a long summer and they just don't want to be there anymore.

Overall: My advice is to GET THERE EARLY. As soon as it opens, so you can ride the rides without the long wait. Then take the tram down the mountain for lunch or a nap, and come back later. The 4D theater is cool, actually, but I was disappointed that the resolution and brightness weren't really "there" as you'd expect in a theater that nice, and for the price you pay. So go ahead and see those movies, but don't expect to be wowed. Also, if you have little kids, you may want to pass this year. Just not enough for the munchkins to do and it's really a shame.

1  Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Veronica,
Thank for visiting the park. We're glad you enjoyed the tram ride, the Alpine Coaster and some of our other attractions during your visit. Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate that you took the time to share your review. We strive to keep our prices affordable and competitive with other mountain-top parks while continuing to add new attractions that appeal to our guests.

The safety of our guests is our highest priority, and it is very difficult to provide safe options for children who are less than 36" in height. The height, age and weight safety restrictions for our attractions are listed on our website and at the ticket office at the base of the tram to help families know what to expect at the top. We will continue to search for activities for our young guests.

Your advice to arrive early is sound, especially on a holiday weekend or during our peak summer season. Evenings are also a good time to visit to avoid the longer lines.

Thanks again for your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience and will share your comments with the management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We did arrive early as others had suggested. We, with our grandson, were visiting our son who lives in Avon. He took us to Glenwood as he thought Austin would enjoy it. And did he ever! We needed to get up there on a gondola, which was part of the fun for us. I guess we were lucky as we did not have to wait too long for any of the attractions. We really were fascinated by the caves, The tour guide was very knowledgeable and personable. We stayed a few hours and then headed into Glenwood to an adorable little ice cream parlor, with awesome ice cream. Great for a hot summer day.

Thank heppalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear heppalou,

We are so glad that you and your family members enjoyed your time at the Adventure Park! It's great to hear how much you liked the cave tour and your tour guides, as well as the different attractions.

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us; we hope you can visit us with your grandson again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

So Glenwood Springs is a first rate visit for many reasons, but the ride up the tram to the Adventure park and the tours into the caverns are great! Now I will admit that I planned this on perfect timing right after the schools started back up on purpose. I figured there would be less waiting in lines and that it wouldn't be as crowded as it can be on certain days. WOW we picked a great afternoon, warm enough and no lines, I mean no lines. It was on a Thurs. and we walked up to each ride and just got on. The roller coaster is great and yes it isn't the tallest in the world or the fastest but it is in the most spectacular place you'll ever ride a coaster! Ride the back for the speed feel and we rode it 3 times without a line. Moved to the zip line which is short but gives you a good wind to cool off with, very safe and a sit down model, rode twice with no line at all. Then the on ground Alpine slide is a great rush, try and see if you can keep your hands off the brakes! No line! Went to the key for the day as far as rides for my sons and myself, the Canyon Swing, this is great ride with a great rush going out over the edge of Glenwood Canyon and we rode 4 time with no line, swapped sides and my choice is going out backward and facing straight down at the peak of the swing, try keeping your hands off the bar on this one, it is a very good adrenaline ride. 3g don't eat first!
The highlight is always the tours into the upper and lower caverns, we did both. It is about 56 degrees inside, about the temperature I love! Of course I am a spelunker and have been in many of the Colorado caves in this area, mostly wild caves that you just explore. These tours are top notch with an informative explanation of how these caverns are formed and how much planning went into the set up that allows those that never venture into the underground wonders of this earth. Great detail in care for the environment were put in place as these caves are alive and still growing and they study the changes the impacts from all the tours placed on the caverns. They have taken great care to not disturb as much as possible and yet allow people to see the splendors of the formations that are formed over thousands of years. If you are in Glenwood Springs you shouldn't miss the experience of the caverns as they are one of the nicest in all Colorado and many other states. Kings Row is as nice a room as any cave I have ever seen in person. I have been to the Black Hills and New Mexico and many tours before but that room is special!
I have read the other reviews and feel sorry for those that had a bad or luke warm experience. Sometimes timing is everything. I had been up on Iron Mountain years ago before the rides and other attractions and still today the views are some of the best around. Summer is great, A full moon on a snow covered valley is phenomenal! At the end of the day a beer and nachos on the deck presents an impressive view of the Roaring Fork Valley below!
The pictures I added are from a cheap cell phone Env3 but still came out nice.

1  Thank ColoradoVista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear ColoradoVista,

We're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park! We love hearing about our guests' visits, so we really appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review.

It sounds like you had a busy day between all the different attractions, which is what we like to hear. We're glad you enjoyed the cave tours so much, and we love your photos!

Thanks again for sharing your experience with us; we hope you can visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The caverns are the highlight and what set this park apart from a strictly amusement venue. Both the fairy caves and King's row are great tours and worth the wait (and it can be a long wait). The alpine coaster is by far the best ride, but wait times can also be long (> 30 minutes). The fun pass is a good deal, particularly if you show up early, as activities like the climbing wall, maze, and zip line can be accessed multiple times with no wait.

Thank Ex626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Ex626,

We're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your cave tours! We do our best to keep the waiting lines for tours and attractions short, but, as you said, arriving early in the morning helps to avoid our busiest times.

We're glad you enjoyed your time at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, and we hope you can visit again soon. Thanks so much for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park also viewed

 
Glenwood Springs, CO
 

Been to Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing