We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off season is not the time to go”

Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in historic Glenwood Springs, Colorado, Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park offers a unique mountain-top adventure that's fun for the whole family. Ride the Giant Canyon Swing-featured on "Good Morning America" and the Travel Channel show, "Bert the Conqueror"-as well as the longest Alpine Coaster in Colorado, the Glenwood Canyon Flyer, the Soaring Eagle Zip Ride, the Cliffhanger Roller Coaster, the GiddyUp, the Mine Wheel Ferris-wheel-style-ride and the Wild West Express Coaster. You can race through the Fort Where-Am-I Maze, play laser tag, conquer the climbing wall and enjoy films in our 4D Motion Theater. Some rides are seasonal; a list of which attractions are open can be found on our website. Great for groups, family reunions and birthday parties. Your visit to the Glenwood Caverns promises a unique, mountain-top adventure and memories to last a lifetime. The wholesome fun of nature-based educational activities combined with attractions to please die-hard thrill seekers makes this the perfect place to spend a day with family and friends.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We visited Glenwood Caverns in April and much of the attractions at the top in their Adventure Park were closed and not operating. The ride to the top in their gondolas had great views of Glenwood Springs and the surrounding country side. And the $5.00, off season charge for the hour long tour through their caverns was certainly worth the price, but be warned, there are over 250 steps that you go down on the tour that you have to climb back up at the end. And look out for the gift shop at the top of the tram, the prices are very expensive.

1  Thank NorthglennBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear NorthglennBill,
Thank you for visiting the park. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the tram ride and cave tour. There are 127 steps (each way) on the King's Row Cave Tour; we provide stops along the way, but with the altitude it can still be a challenge for some folks. Our new tour, the Historic Fairy Caves Tour, opened May 11 and has just a dozen steps, so it provides an easier option for viewing the cave formations. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"alpine coaster"
in 352 reviews
"cave tour"
in 301 reviews
"tram ride"
in 124 reviews
"laser tag"
in 123 reviews
"canyon swing"
in 66 reviews
"giant swing"
in 54 reviews
"day pass"
in 137 reviews
"kings row"
in 47 reviews
"thrill rides"
in 48 reviews
"fairy cave"
in 43 reviews
"zip line"
in 155 reviews
"canyon flyer"
in 23 reviews
"mountain top"
in 23 reviews
"unlimited rides"
in 18 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 65 reviews
"all ages"
in 72 reviews
"whole family"
in 55 reviews
Filter

1,396 - 1,400 of 1,724 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spotted the trams going up the hillside - so we walked over. We only did the tram to the top, no rides, but it was an awesome place to go. The view was amazing. We had lunch outside on the patio - and the food was very good. A fun, relaxing time. Not everything was open and running since it was off season, but still a very nice time. If you have kids, they will love it.

2  Thank Car0lB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Car0lB,

We are so glad you decided to try out the Iron Mountain Tramway and that you enjoyed your mountain-top lunch! Thank you for taking the time to write this great review, and we hope you can visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

A treat to explore. During the summer a relief from the heat and during the winter a warm cave. The natural formations are lovely and the rides during the summer are fun for adults as well as preteens and teens

Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Richard P,

Thank you for this fantastic review! The fact that the caves remain at 52 degrees year-round sure is nice, and we're glad you've experienced it during the summer and the winter! We hope you can visit the Adventure Park again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The gondola ride (only way to get there) is now $17, plus $5 for the fairy cave tour. Most of the "historic" section is no longer open to the public, as they are blasting tunnels to some of the less accessible rooms. They said the full tour (at a higher price) should be available in the summer of 2013. Also, they've got a lot of amusement park rides up there now, for an additional fee: canyon swing, bungee jump, zip line, roller coaster. But on Spring Break 2013, only the alpine slide was working. The caves are awesome, but there's some pretty intense exploitation going on around them.

1  Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Patrick,
Thank you for visiting the park and taking the time to share your feedback. During the winter, our tram, cave, alpine coaster, 4D theater and laser tag are open. This winter, the upper section of the cave was closed for construction as we extended the tour. The new Historic Fairy Caves Tour opened May 11, as did our seasonal attractions. The tram ride costs $13 for adults and $8 for kids 3-12. The Tram/Cave tickets, which include the tram ride and both 50-minute walking cave tours, now cost $25 for adults, $20 for kids. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your cave tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My child enjoyed the tram ride, the alpine coaster, cave tour, 4D theater & lunch in about 5 hours. Highly recommend buying the fun pass in order to do multiple rides while in the park. Would go back again! Since we were there in spring seems about half the rides were not open yet.

2  Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Jay M,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review! We are so happy to hear your child enjoyed so many of the attractions. We hope you can visit again soon to try even more fun activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park also viewed

 

Been to Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing