We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back and usually wonder why.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Colorado
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Franktown, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We keep coming back and usually wonder why.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

It must be the location and overall historical coolness of the courtyard and the lobby. We've been coming here for 20 years. This years room was shabby, the towels shredded, no coffee pot or hair dryer. So glad I brought my own. Will I return? Maybe.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lora E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest input. We have all new linens in the Hotel and you definitely should not have had a towel that was shredded. I will speak with the Housekeeping department and make sure that damaged towels are discarded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    309
    147
    106
    70
See reviews for
312
365
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is amazing. As a historic hotel, they provided a nice stay. The hotel was clean, staff was kind and food was great. We've been there before and will go back again. We stayed in the King Parlor and it was beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COfamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were expecting a nice stay at the Hotel Colorado. Unfortunately, this is not the place to stay in the summer. The main level was hot and musty smelling upon check in. We were given a room on the fourth floor (the top floor, excluding the "pent house"). While I didn't have a thermometer, I can say that the fourth floor must have been hovering around 90 degrees and had no air movement.

We entered our room and the window was open and had a fan. The screen was falling out of the window and had been tinkered with several times in the past without being able to properly secure it. The beds were quite old and had developed big bowls in the center from the years of guests sleeping on them. The bathroom was a good size. The toilet seat was in bad shape (didn't realize that could be possible) and the shower was less than desirable. The fourth floor and our room along with the heat made me feel very much like we were in prison, only we were paying good money to be there. I immediately started calling other hotels in the area but everything in the area was booked solid that night.

This experience was laughable. I can't speak for the whole building but from what we experienced, it was quite run down and incredibly hot. It was interesting to hear the other guests arriving on the same floor and hearing them also complain out loud at the condition of the rooms and the intense heat. The common consensus heard among the guests on our floor was "it's just one night. We'll make it through."

We stayed just one night and we did make it through but keep in mind, this was part of our vacation and it certainly took away from the fun we were having up until our arrival. I felt the need to share this so that other potential guests could at least be informed of the conditions and will then have the appropriate expectations prior to arrival. The other part of our vacation included several nights in Crested Butte at the Elevation Hotel & Spa. CB is an awesome town and the hotel was excellent all around.

Room Tip: To find a good room, look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kwiggit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. As a historic hotel without A/C we understand that there are some summer nights that can be very hot. Normally the evenings cool off in the mountain climate but we have had some very hot weeks on the Western slopes of Colorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glenwood Springs hotels

Diamond Bar CA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay. Great service and a terrific dinner on the patio. A wonderful, historic place. But please stay away if you demand the sameness of chain hotels. The lack of air conditioning here was a non issue for us...an open window and stout overhead fan kept us quite comfortable.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alco251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind remarks. We are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Historic hotel Colorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

I want to thank Paul, the Beverage Service Manager for our wonderful bottle of champagne in recognition of our wedding. We had an afternoon wedding then drove to Glenwood Springs. We didn't arrive until late. We sat outside and had a wonderful meal and then received a gift of champagne! Thank you for recognizing our wonderful day.

Room Tip: Because there is no air conditioning I would recommend a room facing north in the summertime. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,

I am glad that you took up the drive to Glenwood Springs after your wedding. Our culinary staff takes great pride in what they do and I am happy you enjoyed the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

My boyfriend and I went on a 2 day getaway to Glenwood Springs. On the morning of our trip to the Hot Springs pool we decided to stop by the Legends coffee shop, located in the Hotel Colorado, based on the recommendation of the hotel clerk we were staying at (not the Hotel Colorado). When we entered the shop there was one customer being helped. The barista and he were engaged in a conversation that went on for some time. We waited for about 10 minutes. In this time the barista never acknowledged or greeted us, she just continued her conversation, in her british sounding accent, with the current customer. A few more people came in at this point, giving us hope that this might prompt her to be more efficient in providing us service and some much needed coffee. Then the wife of the current customer comes in and walks to the front desk and gives her order of an "iced americana" to which the barista promptly begins preparing for her. Needless to say, we left in disgust and with no coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishaCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you were not recognized immediately. I will address this issue with her so that it may not happen again. She is normally known for great customer service but fell obviously short of that on that day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

I realize this hotel is located in Colorado and it is a very old and historic hotel; however, when the outside temperatures are in the upper 90's and you have no A/C, it makes for a miserable night trying to sleep with only a box fan moving the hot air around! In addition, the hotel has a musty unclean smell and he housekeeping is subpar at best. During our stay, a water pipe broke resulting in no water for showering, etc. - it was fixed fairly quickly but not in time for us! There was no compensation offered! I would not stay here in the future unless major renovations occurred!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank cannon057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
#9 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
2.2 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Property: Hotel Colorado
Address: 526 Pine Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing