We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great property, staff, and experience”
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colorado
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
“Great property, staff, and experience”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for Valentine's Day weekend 2014. The hotel property and surrounding area is beautiful with tons of history. The front desk staff and shuttle driver were friendly and accommodated our every request. The hotel is within walking distance to the hot springs pool and the main area of Glenwood which has great restaurants. We really enjoyed the Brew Pub and The Pullman. We plan on staying here again - Great Experience!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Milton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful guest experience during your recent stay with us. We extend our deepest gratitude for choosing to stay at the Hotel Colorado on such a special occasion. Thank you for all the warm comments and we look forward to accommodating you during your next visit to Glenwood Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    317
    155
    113
    74
See reviews for
328
393
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We got married on the 14th and decided to spend our "honeymoon" weekend in Glenwood Springs. Chose the Hotel Colorado based off of location because we wanted to be close to the hot springs. I booked online and chose the "Penthouse Level" because the online site said "for something extra special". I booked the Valentine's Day package, with a rose and champange in the room and turn down service. When we got to the hotel staff was friendly, but when we went to the room there was no champange waiting (which I wanted due to the fact we had just been married), I had to call front desk to get champange, and a window was open without a screen (which led to a bug problem, that we dealt with all weekend. I even had bugs in my bag when we got home). Room was ok, but for the price not the "extra special" I had expected for our weekend. Also, even though we were on the "Penthouse" floor there was still one room above our with children running around at all hours. I wish I would have known that or I would have booked the top room. We ordered breakfast in room which we scheduled for 915, (because we had an appointment at 1030 for snowmobiling) and they were over 30 minutes late making us late for our appointment. So only order breakfast in room if you have no other plans. Otherwise, proximity to hot springs is fabulous, hotel is very hisotoric, and stay was nice.

Room Tip: If you prefer rooms with no noise, go for top floor, we were on "Penthouse level", and sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
The Hotel Colorado prides itself in customer service, but we fell short his time. Thank you for your honest review, as it allows us to take implement necessary procedural changes. We are honored that you chose The Hotel Colorado for your honeymoon, and hope to see you in the future so that you might experience the 'true' spirit of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We came to the Hotel Colorado for our year anniversary and purchased the splash and crash package. Originally, we were placed in a room that was not quite suited for us. Jesse and Kimberly at the front desk immediately remedied the situation. They placed us in a beautiful room! We were incredibly impressed with the quality of the room. The atmosphere was exactly what we expected from this historic hotel. Thank you so much Hotel Colorado for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
You are more than welcome KellMell. It was our pleasure accommodating you during such a special occasion. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your anniversary while staying at the Hotel Colorado, and we hope to see you next year for anniversary #2!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Very grand and historically significant hotel built in 1893. I was there with co-workers for our annual company meeting, and the hotel staff really helped make our meeting a success, and our dinner party fun! The rooms are clean and comfortable. Located right next to the soothing Hot Springs. Allow time for exploring the hotel and reading all the captions under the old photographs on the walls.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Well, nothing beats annual business meetings with a mix of pleasure! We are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, and we certainly look forward to accommodating you next year. Many thanks for sharing your experience along with your compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed in the large suite on the third floor for a girls weekend... this beautiful HUGE suite has two bedrooms and two bathrooms! Perfect for four girlfriends. There is a lovely balcony that overlooks the center court area and below this balcony is where President Teddy Roosevelt spoke so many years ago. We ate at the restaurant and the food, while pricey, was very good... and the service excellent. Right across the street from the hot springs, it was perfect even in wintertime to walk right across the street!

We will definitely go back to the Hotel Colorado again. If you don't mind an old building with thin walls - be a guest there! Maybe you'll even see a ghost!

Room Tip: We stayed in the large suite - room 326/328. Just perfect for a larger group. The view of the cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
We cannot thank you enough for choosing to spend your girl’s weekend at the Hotel Colorado. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations, as well as our restaurant. We sincerely appreciate your warm praises and look forward to accommodating you on the next girl’s weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
154 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were traveling to visit a relative who lives in Colorado, and based upon her recommendation, we booked an evening at the Hotel Colorado. When we arrived at the hotel we were impressed with grand outward appearance of the hotel, and we continued to be impressed by the hotel and its staff during our stay.

The hotel was built in 1893, and has hosted numerous famous, and some infamous guests. The most notable guests were U.S. Presidents Theodore Roosevelt in 1905, and William Howard Taft in 1909. Roosevelt enjoyed his first stay in the hotel so much that he returned year after year.

The hotel has recently been renovated and restored while retaining most of its original grand appearance. We stayed in the Roosevelt Suite, which is quite large, and we were very pleased with the condition and charm of this suite. The suite and the entire hotel are decorated the style of early 1900's and equipped with in period furnishings. Modern conveniences such as an in-room fridge, microwave, and coffee service are tastefully provided. The entire hotel is like a museum, including paintings, photos and memorabilia from its varied and famous guests, that are easily enjoyed as you tour the hotel.

We enjoyed a wonderful and relaxed dinner in the Hotel's Polo Wine & Martini Lounge. The options in the lounge were similar to pub food, but was kicked up a notch. For example, the angus burger was grilled to order, topped with smoky bacon, and served with French fries seasoned with white truffles. Excellent! The food was well prepared and the service was efficient and courteous.

The hotel goes all out each year to decorate for the Christmas season, and during our visit in January, most of the beautiful decorations were still in place.

We will definitely return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: The Roosevelt Suite is priced a bit higher, but based upon its location, view, and furnishings, I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Colorado, as well as appreciating all that our venerable hotel has to offer. We extend our sincerest thanks for all the wonderful compliments, and we hope to accommodate you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

One of Colorado's great historic hotels, but really needs way more attention to detail. We've stayed many times, and just wish they would get it all together, make it the wow experience it should be. Like other reviewers, we've stayed at many historic hotels, and understand the fine line between charm and shabbiness. For example, scratched-up toilet seat and tubs just look dirty and can easily be touched up or replaced. Stain marks and paint peeling off the ceiling in the bathroom, shower curtain ripped off last grommet, easy fixes that would make a big difference. The management says the furniture is dated to the 1800's but no, in our room the dressers were cheap fabricated plastic-y stuff you'd find at a yard sale (and not buy). As far as cheapness goes, there was one single sheet of notepad paper by the phone. The toiletries included one shampoo, one conditioner, 2 soaps, none of which were replenished the 2nd day. The carpet was not vacuumed after our first night, which was just noticeable b/c of all the snowy weather and was not pleasant to not have cleaned. The in-room book needs to have instructions as to how to work the radiator (many have said it's too hot or too cold and so please give tips on how to regulate for best results) and it's the only heat source for the room, which doesn't reach into the sitting area or bathroom. Stifling near it, chilly as you move away. Also how to work the TV; it took several minutes for us to figure out how to even get a picture. We tried to get a soda from the vending machines and the ones on the 2nd and 3rd floors did not work; I notice a previous review saying same, and they still weren't fixed. So, little things maybe, but it's these attention to detail things that make a huge difference in what is supposed to be the nicest place around. Beds were very comfy, I will say. Go for the atmosphere, and the staff we encountered were all pleasant, but be warned the standards don't seem as high as other historic hotels. I notice the management responds to some reviews, which shows they do take some interest; maybe they'll take some suggestions to heart. We'd love to recommend the Hotel C unreservedly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CatLoverColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
We too want you to recommend our hotel unreservedly as well. Thank you for all of your suggestions and comments, as we do take all of our guests' input to heart. We will use your review as a tool to improve the overall quality of our hotel as we continually strive to do. Thank you for staying with us and we truly hope to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Property: Hotel Colorado
Address: 526 Pine St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3092
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing