We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic hotel with rich history”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Colorado
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Historic hotel with rich history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for just one night and had a nice time. We loved the old feel and that they had kept the Victorian style. We found out after we checked in that the hotel is haunted which added a bit of excitement for us! There was a stain on our floor, but other than that the room felt clean and nice. We visited in October so air conditioning wasn't necessary but they did have a window cooler in the room. We had breakfast at the restaurant and I wasn't very impressed. The food was pretty bland but not overly pricey. Our favorite thing about the hotel was the history you could almost feel there.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danishort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    316
    152
    110
    73
See reviews for
323
386
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We called to see if we could check in a day early... No problem! I had trouble with the key card on the door to our room, Maria was more than patient (it was my operator error). Left the charge cord for my iPad a a previous hotel... Here, see if you can find one in our lost and found. We need certain accommodations for mobility issues, and the room, although very nice, did not work for us, so decided to check out the next day. This time, it was Carol at the front desk, she was more than pleasant about our change in plans. Staff in the restaurant, including Marina, were also helpful and efficient. Beautiful historic property!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Meeting room was clean, organized. Water, coffee, juice always ready. Julianne was attentive to everyone, especially anyone with special needs. Roosevelt room and Colorado room were used. Dinner was best we've had at a banquet setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, WI.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Let me start out saying I love old antique homes, furniture, etc. But, what I do not like is worn dirty carpet and furniture! The room was small and the furniture was bad. The chair in the room had large worn areas and the bench at the foot of the bed was dirty and stained. The carpet also had stains and spots. The bed was good, though.
The outside garden of the hotel was nice and the lobby was exceptional. I did notice in the AM that dirty glasses were left out in the garden area overnight from guests having drinks the previous night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hudson_WI_Taffysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glenwood Springs hotels

East Hartland, ct
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I tend to be a hotel snob and while there were a few things that normally turn me off, I really liked this place.
The bad - the hotel is a little worn.
The good - the hotel is old, charming, bursting with history - huge lobby with many sitting areas - some by big fireplaces. The front courtyard is beautiful too, again, with many different sitting areas. I can imagine just how grand it was back in the day.
The bed was comfortable enough, more comfortable than the resort we stayed at in Breckenridge. The bathroom was sufficient - not impressive.
The hotel is located across from the mineral hot springs.
We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant and I wished I had eaten dinner there. The leather dining chairs were worn which added to the charm. I loved the Victorian furnishings.
Overall, glad I had the experience of staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, NY
Level Contributor
169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 days here. We had a King suite. We loved it. The only possible complaint was the bed was too soft. The price was right, and the service we received was terrific, especially from Kimberly at the front desk. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngusMacTavish0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, CO
Level Contributor
485 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Hotel Colorado has many good points:
Location is great - across from the Hot springs pool and an easy walk into town.
Price was good as well, for Colorado residents!
Room and bedding, great! I even had a nice view!
Hotel lobby is really nice, and although it was raining...I think the front courtyard must be great in the sunshine.

Where it lacked....... had drinks in the bar....service was slow, and really not that friendly. The house wine was not great.....but then, we had other choices.

The Baron restaurant might be better than what we experienced, but there was a banquet that night, so we didn't get served our meals for OVER an hour and were only told about the reason for the delay when we prompted the server. No apologies, nothing. Food was ok, a bit dry. When I advised the desk upon departure, we did get an apology, but??? For a 'grand' hotel, we expected more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTvlerParker_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#5 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Property: Hotel Colorado
Address: 526 Pine St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3092
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing