We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Grand old historic hotel - but no A/C” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Colorado
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Grand old historic hotel - but no A/C”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Outstanding hotel in the heart of Glenwood Springs. The best hotel that reflects the old West. Great value, outside dining, close to attractions. However, the hotel does not have air conditioning at thiis time, so if it is hot outside (as it can get in Glenwood Springs), you may want to seek and alternative.

Room Tip: Avoid the south-facing rooms and upper floors when it is hot outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D0wnhillSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    302
    147
    106
    70
See reviews for
307
351
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
131 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We are long time locals and we keep trying the restaurant there each year to hopefully be able to say that it's worth eating at... unfortunately, yesterday's evening visit to the lovely and well-appointed/maintained outdoor patio proved us right. The service always stinks there. The food this time, however, was really good and we just hope that the GM can get this figured out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colorado70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glenwood Springs hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Nice historic hotel, but no air conditioning, wifi signal not strong enough, and movies too hard to get having to wait for comcast's customer sercice. Needs to updated terribly. King bed uncomfortable, curtain in bathroom was stained and dirty. Needs an owner who cares about leaving a positive experience for all. One can still maintain historical significance but provide practicality and functionality. Little parking for big hotel. No coffee, blow dryer, or air conditioning in the room. After a hot day of sight seeing, coming back to the hotel and relaxing in a cool room watching movies, never happened. Lots of hotels have managed to have historical character bit have updated amenities. It seems like management uses the 'historical' aspect of the hotel to not do updates to save money. They either need to sell it to someone who cares, or not charge as much and be upfront. I would NOT recommend this hotel especially during the summer months.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marklb2568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hotel Colorado was, indeed, a wonderful stop on our Motorcycle Fellowship's tour of Colorado. Being surrounded by history and all the wonderful pictures, furniture.....what's not to like? The food was excellent and the service (particularly the front) was stellar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Tom D,

We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your kind words are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
170 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a family vacation at this beautiful hotel built in 1893. We had 3 rooms for our family on the 3rd floor overlooking the court yard. What a truly unique experience. Art was most helpful at checking us in. The rooms were roomy with 2 queen beds. The rooms are kept in the period but are modern. Yes, there was no A/C. The ceiling fan & open the window & turn on the box fan was just fine. Day time temp was 90+ but evenings cool down. There was live music in the court yard that was enjoyable. They gave our 5 little grand daughters each a small teddy bear at bedtime. The girls loved them & slept with them. The lobby is a must see. Large period furniture pieces & many photos. You reserve & stay in the Roosevelt Suite. Teddy stayed in that room in 1905. If you want the true west experience this is the place. Rates were very reasonable. If you want A/C & modern rooms stay at the chain hotels. We plan to return for another stay very soon. It's also just across the street from the hot springs pool & there is a bike rental shop on the property with lots of rentals @ reasonable rates.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Fl
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

From the time I read about this hotel, I knew we had to stay there. I love history and the chance to stay in such a historic place doesn't come around too much. The staff was great and accommodating and made you feel like you we're staying at an old friends house. What's not to like about this place, the grand lobby the large rooms and the wide spacious hallways. I read complaints about the fact that's there's no AC but that was not an issue for us. We turned on the ceiling fan and put the box fan that is supplied in the room and put them to good use. The first night we just used the ceiling fan and opened the vent window into the hallways and it was a bit noisy and warm, but the next few nights we closed the vent window pulled down the top sash of the double hung window, and slept great. It was so refreshing to sleep with the windows open and like another reviewer wrote, listen to the birds in the morning. We traveled here by Amtrak from Denver and the whole trip was fantastic. It's just a short walk to the hotel from the train station. Will definitely stay here again

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kharmannghia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hotel Colorado is just cool. It is a historic property which has been kept up without being modernized. There is no air conditioning but even in the summer the climate makes this a non-issue. On a warm day (we were there in late June and night temps were in the high 50°s low 60°s) opening the window and using the ceiling fan suffices. The outdoor bar and lounge area is very nice. This is a place to stay as an experience for people who appreciate that. Different people do like different things so this may or may not be your cup of tea which is fine either way. We thoroughly enjoyed a night here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for all of the warm compliments. We are sincerely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#6 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
Courtyard Glenwood Springs
#9 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.2 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Property: Hotel Colorado
Address: 526 Pine St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3092
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing