We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff-Old Hotel”
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colorado
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff-Old Hotel”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

THE GOOD....
The friendly and helpful staff
The charming little courtyard with fire pits
The historical significance

THE BAD
All the annoying things that come with staying in an old building such as....
Pinging and clanging radiators in the middle of the night
Creaks and loud noises in general
Outdated bathrooms (like having the sink IN the bedroom)
The room decor
The sneaking suspicion that this place is haunted

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Allison S,

We are pleased that you enjoyed our staff, courtyard and rich history. Do to the historical nature of our hotel; the Hotel Colorado is truly one of a kind. However, every day the hotel becomes slightly more with the times. This will continue to occur without ever losing any of our rich history. Thank you very much for sharing, and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    346
    170
    119
    80
See reviews for
368
421
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Hotel Colorado is a must for the Christmas season, with decorations galore! Combined with Glenwood Hot Springs which is a short walk away, this is a vacation spot to remember! Hotel Colorado is a favorite of mine now. This hotel was built in the 1890's and has a rich history of presidential visits, namely Teddy Roosevelt and William Taft. Take time to view the photos and historical mementos on all floors. This is a rich experience and though rumors have this historic treasure to be haunted, I've never encountered ghosts in my visits.

Room Tip: I prefer a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coloradoklm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
coloradoklm,

The Hotel Colorado genuninely thanks you for your kind comments. Thank you for sharing, and we look forward to seeing you the upcoming holiday season, if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I just returned from a 3-day girlfriends getaway in Glenwood and we stayed at the Hotel Colorado. W hat a wonderful hotel!! The staff was friendly and very helpful. The General Mgr recommended we try the hotel restaurant for dinner and we did. Wow! The lasagna was excellent! The roasted chicken was tender,moist, and the flavor was incredible. We ended up having all of our meals there. It's a beautiful hotel full of history. The rooms were beautifully decorated. They have outdoor fireplaces with chairs all around to enjoy the cheer. We all enjoyed every minute of our time there!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
ScarlettOxx,

We could not be happier to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay the Hotel Colorado. We sincerely appreciate all of the wonderful comments and thank you for sharing. We truly look foreword to accommodating you on your next “girls getaway.” It seems that fire pits are truly one of the Hotel’s most optimal new additions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Whenever we go to Glenwood Springs we stay at the Hotel Colorado. It is a short walk down to the hot springs pool and downtown. Very historic and comfortable. The furnishings in the room are very worn in some rooms but that would be our only complaint. The staff has always been friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
KenandPatty,

The Hotel Colorado sincerely appreciates your loyalty to our venerable hotel. It is patrons like you that keep the true spirit of the Hotel Colorado alive. Thank you for warm comments regarding our staff and customer service as providing excellent customer service one of our top priorities. Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel was described as historic, which was very true, but it was more like a museum than a comfortable place to stay. The lobby was very interesting and attractive and the staff pleasant. However, there were several large steps to drag your bags up to get in the hotel. There corridors were very wide but the interior looked worn out. The doors to the room looked original, nice, but that means that they are not sound proof and the door between connecting rooms is about an inch above the floor which means if the next door occupants open a coke can, you can hear them popping the lid! If they snore, god help you. The beds were absolutely the worst. They were old mattresses with a foam latex pad on top. Woke up with the worst backache. The room was stuffy, so I called the front desk to ask where the controls for the air was (there was a ceiling fan, and I was told to open the window--no AC. This would have been fine except that a freight train, blowing its whistle, went by at 10:30pm, again after midnight and one more time around 3am. At 4:30 am, the radiator startling clanging for about 20 minutes. The point being, the Hotel Colorado is an interesting place to visit but if you want to get some sleep maybe not such a good idea. It was cheap, however.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Linda V,

We are sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your recent stay with us. Due to our historic nature, the hotel has a steam heating system that is controlled by the individual radiators in the rooms as well as no air conditioning. However, we do have ceiling fans, windows that open and box fans in the closets of all the rooms. The box fan may have been a better solution for you, as you mentioned that the noise from the train was an issue. We are sorry that you did not have a good nights rest, however our mattresses are not old and were purchased new within the past 2 years along with all of our linens. Thank you for your comments as we take every guest complaint, suggestion or comment to continually improve our venerable hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the history, lobby and customer service. Please contact the directly if you desire to discuss your stay with us. We will make sure the next time you get a good night sleep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glenwood Springs hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

From the minute we walked in, we relaxed. This lovely old school hotel, has good service, quiet areas to relax and read, an excellent gift shop, staff who listen and care, plus a lovely (resonantly priced) menu (breakfast and dinner) in the light and airy dining room.

They have kept the age of the hotel well, without totally modernising the rooms. However, don't expect slick paintwork, hidden wires etc - it is an old property and certainly has its period quirks. The bathroom was very clean, great towels, toiletries, and the bed was a king size and very comfortable. Our room had a walk in dressing closet which helped to hide our cases and hang clothes up properly.

The two waitresses who served us for dinner and breakfast were so outstanding. Effective but not intrusive and special mention to the food and beverage manager, who brought our tea and cake outside into the sunny courtyard (at the front) so we could enjoy the sunshine. We also enjoyed a glass of wine outside later that evening around the flame heater/burner they had operating after dark.

We loved the foyer/lobby and enjoyed sitting there and enjoying the ambience.

Thank you to all the staff. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
David B,

We are overjoyed that you had such a fantastic stay at the Hotel Colorado! It seems as though you took advantage of all that our beautiful hotel has to offer such as our delicious restaurant and lounge, the beautiful courtyard with the newly added fire pit, our elegant coffee/gift shop Legends and our breathtaking grand lobby. We sincerely appreciate all of your kind words regarding our staff and customer service. Thank you for spending your time in Glenwood Springs at the Hotel Colorado, and we truly look forward to accommodating you in the future. Many thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Re-visited this past weekend after several years absence, and was happy to see the place renewing itself. On my first visit, my impression was that the 100-year-old needed a lot of TLC and was gratified to see it happening this time. The staff was invariably professional and hospitable. The rooms and hallways were refurbished and comfortable.
I was visiting in the off-season, so outside activity was limited, but the lobby and restaurant were elegant and inviting.
Excellent access to the hot springs and the town of Glenwood Springs is worth a stroll.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the courtyard, which might be noisy in the summer. There were no hair dryers, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edjamro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Edjamro,

We are thrilled you enjoyed your time at the historic Hotel Colorado. We genuinely appreciate that you gave the hotel another go around. We are absolutely delighted that you recognize and appreciate the many positive changes and improvements we have made over the years. Thank you for sharing and thank you for your compliments regarding our customer service. Impeccable hospitality is one of two things that the Hotel Colorado strives to continually maintain and improve. The other is of course providing our guests with a superior product. Thank you very much for giving us a second chance, and your comments might entice others to do the same. The next time you stay, we will be sure to have a hairdryer in the room upon your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
894 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
701 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
323 reviews
2.2 mi away
Glenwood Suites
Glenwood Suites
#7 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Property: Hotel Colorado
Address: 526 Pine St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-3092
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing